Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 8, 2014, 11:59 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 33
Default Monitor will only display for a few seconds

So my 24 inch ASUS monitor has been going strong for about four years now, and a few days ago I wake up and go to turn it on. It turns on and displays an imagine fine, but after a second or two it will go straight to black and won't display anything else. It will display for a few seconds if I turn it off and on again, or if I give it a new signal to display (selecting it as "extend" in CCC). I can't get it to last more than a few seconds at a time, and I have never had problems with a monitor before so I have no idea what to do.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 8, 2014, 12:33 PM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 4,979

My System Specs

Default

can you connect the computer to another monitor/TV? Connect a different computer to the ASUS monitor?
__________________
Desktop: Arc Midi R2, Z77-D3H, 3770@4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, 4x4gb ram, EVGA GTX 1070 Ti SC, Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, MX500 500gb
Away from home: Lenovo Legion Y530, 16gb, i7 8750H, GTX1050Ti
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 8, 2014, 01:04 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 33
Default

I have tried the HDMI port which is connected to my ps3, and it does the same thing. It is also a pain to switch imputs because it shuts off as I'm trying to select which one I want. It ended up taking a few minutes to get to a different input.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 8, 2014, 11:39 PM
ShinraCorp's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: St-Augustin-de-Desmaures
Posts: 683

My System Specs

Default

Well it's clearly a monitor problem then if it does the same thing with your PS3. What exactly causes it I'm not sure since monitors isn't something I know a lot. But it does sound like a power problem. Have you tried testing your monitor in a different wall outlet? If it still doesn't work then maybe it's the power supply that just won't work anymore. Like I said though I'm not a monitor expert perhaps someone else here knows it better.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 9, 2014, 03:11 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 4,018
Default

it's a failed component on one of circuit boards

be it a cap or a resistor

if handy with a multi-meter that has capacitance checker

or cathode tube open CAUTION: 10-5Kilo Volts are present round light tube
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 9, 2014, 04:36 AM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 4,979

My System Specs

Default

Agree. If its happening on the monitor from multiple sources its a failing component (hardware) in the monitor. A friend recently had similar issues, but it was after 5-15 minutes of on time and had to RMA the monitor.

Given the age of your monitor you need to find/fix (or get someone to do it) the failing component, or get a new monitor.
__________________
Desktop: Arc Midi R2, Z77-D3H, 3770@4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, 4x4gb ram, EVGA GTX 1070 Ti SC, Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, MX500 500gb
Away from home: Lenovo Legion Y530, 16gb, i7 8750H, GTX1050Ti
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
XFX Triple Display Monitor Stand Perineum Price Check 2 September 25, 2013 09:31 PM
3 Monitor Display RM - Ottawa Display Units 0 May 25, 2011 01:59 PM
gtx 280 LEDs are red and there's no display on monitor! :( RA3KW0N Troubleshooting 19 December 1, 2010 02:59 PM
LCD Monitor Turns On For A Few Seconds Then Goes Black 300 Troubleshooting 0 January 9, 2009 07:58 PM
No display on monitor upon startup. HELP! bojangles Troubleshooting 20 October 31, 2008 08:53 PM