Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 5, 2014, 11:51 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Fort St. John, BC
Posts: 1,373

My System Specs

Default RAM or CPU causing problems?

I had to remove my 2133Mhz quad channel kit and replaced it with a 1600Mhz dual channel kit I had lying around. I was getting a lot of crashing with no BSOD and having to hard reset. Once I put the CPU back to stock settings (was at 4.2 or 4.3 previously), I started getting BSOD instead of a lock up but a lot more frequent crashing problems.

Do you think this is a problem of the memory controller in the CPU not being able to handle the memory or a problem with my memory? What's your best suggestion to test? Would you say just trying to run the memory at lower speeds?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 5, 2014, 01:00 PM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 4,979

My System Specs

Default

Did you try running 1 or 2 sticks of the 2133mhz at a time? Could be a single stick holding you back.
__________________
Desktop: Arc Midi R2, Z77-D3H, 3770@4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, 4x4gb ram, EVGA GTX 1070 Ti SC, Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, MX500 500gb
Away from home: Lenovo Legion Y530, 16gb, i7 8750H, GTX1050Ti
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New case causing major problems (Fixed) Lyxtwing Troubleshooting 18 January 18, 2012 11:12 PM
Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 causing problems evancoley CPU's and Motherboards 4 December 18, 2011 11:38 AM
WB causing GPU to bend tragd Water Cooling 9 October 11, 2010 01:39 PM
Help please: What's Causing this? mjpd1983 Video Cards 11 June 18, 2010 04:34 PM
Dual Booting causing problems for the 1st time element291 Troubleshooting 5 May 15, 2009 04:47 PM