Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2008, 09:22 AM
Dashock's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,955
Default V-Core Problems

Hey all this is my setup

mobo:Asus A8n-Sli Deluxe
cpu:Amd X2 939 4200 @ 2.6ghz
ram:2GB(2x1GB) Ocz Performance 3200 DDR@1T
gpu:XFX 8800GT 512MB Alpha Dog Edition
hdd:Seagate 500GB SATA2 7200.11
psu:Ocz Gamestream 600Watts
disp:Samsung 32inch Lcd Hdtv
case:Thermaltake Matrix


I set in Bios V-Core at 1.4337 but when i boot into windows every program from Cpu-z, Speedfan and even in the bios hardware monitor it shows 1.472-1.5

Before i bumped it up from 1.4 it was all normal readings i dont know if its just adding wrong v-core or what?>


Any info will help thanx
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2008, 10:24 AM
Dashock's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,955
Default

Anyone????...............
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2008, 11:03 AM
donimo's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 832
Default

Well, I have the oppsite problem with my Gigabyte DS3L, I set it at 1.375, bios shows it at 1.34, and load its 1.32...

I know on the higher eng GB boards they apparently fixed this with a bios rev, but not mine yet...
__________________
Mobo GA-Z77X-UD3 CPU i5-3570K stock RAM:2x4GB Patriot Viper 1866 1.5v GPU:XFX HD6850 BE + Gigabyte HD6850 @820/4400MHz Case:Bitfenix Raider w/2x 200mm + 135mm PSU: Corsair HX620
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2008, 02:43 PM
Dashock's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,955
Default

Well i have read thru form after form if it posts lower in windows or programs that means that yer power supply is not givin enough juice in the 12V rail i believe or the 5V rail. i been using google to find out what the problem is but i have come to no avail.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2008, 02:56 PM
donimo's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 832
Default

Well, that could be true, but a LOT of people have thes "voltage droop" issue under load with this board, regardless of the power supply.

But my issue of it not even itting the right Vcore when I am still in the bios could be PS related, but I dont have a very power hungry system, so that is dissapointing...
__________________
Mobo GA-Z77X-UD3 CPU i5-3570K stock RAM:2x4GB Patriot Viper 1866 1.5v GPU:XFX HD6850 BE + Gigabyte HD6850 @820/4400MHz Case:Bitfenix Raider w/2x 200mm + 135mm PSU: Corsair HX620
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2008, 03:40 PM
reaverclan's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: USA,CA
Posts: 463

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by donimo View Post
Well, I have the oppsite problem with my Gigabyte DS3L, I set it at 1.375, bios shows it at 1.34, and load its 1.32...

I know on the higher eng GB boards they apparently fixed this with a bios rev, but not mine yet...
thats weired my ds3l rev. 2 keeps my v core at what ever i put it too what bios u running?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2008, 03:50 PM
donimo's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 832
Default

same as you (f7), when you set it, reboot and then go to "pc health", is it bang on what you set it for?

if it is I guess it IS my power supply, and that is lame-o that it cant even supply a measly 1.325v properly with 36A on the 12v rails...
__________________
Mobo GA-Z77X-UD3 CPU i5-3570K stock RAM:2x4GB Patriot Viper 1866 1.5v GPU:XFX HD6850 BE + Gigabyte HD6850 @820/4400MHz Case:Bitfenix Raider w/2x 200mm + 135mm PSU: Corsair HX620
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2008, 03:57 PM
reaverclan's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: USA,CA
Posts: 463

My System Specs

Default

i havent changed default v core since getting f7 (today) so ill try it our later for ya try to look at your v core in cpu-z also and watch it realtime in everest
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2008, 04:07 PM
donimo's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 832
Default

cpu-z is notoriously wrong with the Vcore reading, everest should be ok though.

I use eztune, which reads from the same place as the bios, so should be ok...



sorry we hijacked you Dashock...

From what I know Vcore regulation is done by the motherboard, and should be somewhat power supply independant (if its any good). I would think that, especially for the low current that a cpu would pull, any PS that is supplying the right range of voltages should get regulated to exactly what the cpu wants.

Any failure to do so SHOULD be the failure of the mobo's voltage regulation circuitry.

I have stuff here at work that can take anything from 5-250volts a/c OR d/c jammed into it and provide 13.5vDC bang on all day long, so there is no reason a mobo cant handle a measly 12v into 1.5ish...

of course I may be wrong...
__________________
Mobo GA-Z77X-UD3 CPU i5-3570K stock RAM:2x4GB Patriot Viper 1866 1.5v GPU:XFX HD6850 BE + Gigabyte HD6850 @820/4400MHz Case:Bitfenix Raider w/2x 200mm + 135mm PSU: Corsair HX620
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2008, 04:46 PM
reaverclan's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: USA,CA
Posts: 463

My System Specs

Default

oh thought thread was domino's sorry dashock:) but it should good info for u too.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Big Problems Feff Troubleshooting 9 January 23, 2008 04:24 PM
FS - Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 Dual Core Processor LGA775 Conroe 2.40GHZ 1066FSB 4MB L2 pat767 Buy/Sell & Trade 0 January 22, 2008 10:00 AM
Problems Overclocking. Dethredic Video Cards 6 November 3, 2007 07:06 AM
Why temperature on core #1 and 3 different than core #0 and 2??? francois methot CPU's and Motherboards 8 August 22, 2007 10:42 AM
More new problems! belgolas Troubleshooting 8 July 20, 2007 08:21 PM