Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 28, 2010, 10:29 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 30

My System Specs

Default Video card running at PCI-e 1.1

Just curious I have a Gigabyte GA 890fx-ud5 board that supports PCI-2.0 and so do my videocards. Running GPU-z utility reports my cards running in 1.1 mode. Does the cards throttle back when not running full tilt? Or am I missing something?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 29, 2010, 09:32 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: ON, Canada
Posts: 1,353

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Does the cards throttle back when not running full tilt?
Yes. Run a GPU-heavy application (F@H / OCCT GPU / FurMark) and see what happens then, although there are other things at play here, including the following:
  • GPU not seated properly
  • Dirty contacts
  • Oddity with northbridge / GPU driver
  • Bad motherboard
  • Bad GPU

What's the width of the link? (x8/x16 or lower?)

I'm currently in the painful process of attempting to squeeze an RMA number out of ASUS for a Radeon 4870 that is running at PCIE 2.0 x1 instead of x16
__________________
"The computer programmer says they should drive the car around the block and see if the tire fixes itself." [src]
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 29, 2010, 11:07 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 30

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by frontier204 View Post
Yes. Run a GPU-heavy application (F@H / OCCT GPU / FurMark) and see what happens then, although there are other things at play here, including the following:
  • GPU not seated properly
  • Dirty contacts
  • Oddity with northbridge / GPU driver
  • Bad motherboard
  • Bad GPU

What's the width of the link? (x8/x16 or lower?)

I'm currently in the painful process of attempting to squeeze an RMA number out of ASUS for a Radeon 4870 that is running at PCIE 2.0 x1 instead of x16
One card is in the x16/x4. Had to go this route because I changed out the noisy stock coolers with Artic Cooling Twin Turbo Pro's and they take up the space. Did what you said about running a GPU heavy app(Heaven benchmark) and it did change to running in 2.0. All is well
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] nVIDIA pci-e video card norfolk Buy/Sell & Trade 2 July 9, 2010 01:32 PM
[WTB] PCI Video card. supaflyx3 Buy/Sell & Trade 5 June 13, 2010 09:31 AM
[WTB] PCI Video card mchutch Buy/Sell & Trade 4 January 7, 2010 04:14 PM
[WTB] PCI video card ddude27 Buy/Sell & Trade 0 January 25, 2009 01:10 AM
WTB PCI-E Video card with Video out Taichan Buy/Sell & Trade 0 June 9, 2008 08:17 PM