Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old June 13, 2009, 10:34 PM
3 of 7's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Nanaimo BC
Posts: 919
Default

Acomdata flash their external drives so the computer sees it as a CD. If you put it back into the enclosure and it shows up as a cd that you can't access without their proprietary software you need to flash the firmware of the drive.
I was able to do this with a 2.5 using the program from here
REMOVE CD PART.zip
I'm not sure IF it will work with a 3.5 or IF it will work out of the enclosure.

I got a kick ass deal on mine, but after all the research and work it took I'll never buy another ( not to mention the $40 rebate that never came )
__________________
Nature always sides with the hidden flaw
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old June 13, 2009, 10:40 PM
3 of 7's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Nanaimo BC
Posts: 919
Default

Here's the .pdf that comes with the program
Attached Images
File Type: pdf Readme.pdf (778.5 KB, 1295 views)
__________________
Nature always sides with the hidden flaw
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EIDE Board and IDE Hard drive jspot69 Storage 22 January 22, 2009 07:01 PM
p5q: IDE hdd is not detected CTA Troubleshooting 3 September 4, 2008 10:22 PM
WTB ide hard drive cmhyt Buy/Sell & Trade 0 July 19, 2008 01:04 PM
WTB: IDE Hard Drive cms Buy/Sell & Trade 1 July 10, 2008 03:10 PM
WTB IDE Hard drive 40GB(or higher) belgolas Buy/Sell & Trade 6 February 8, 2008 10:45 PM