Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old June 10, 2009, 08:37 AM
TimTheEnchanter's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 841
Default

Have you changed anything in the computer lately, maybe there is a shortage somewhere on the mobo?
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old June 10, 2009, 08:59 AM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,172

My System Specs

Default

If you tell's us that the M2N die I will not be surprise...Cheap board but never last realy long.
__________________
[COLOR=black][SIZE=4][B]Ask for more
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old June 10, 2009, 10:47 AM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Tillsonburg, Ontario
Posts: 923

My System Specs

Default

Has he tried unplugging the power cord to the PSU, remove the cmos battery and let it sit 10 minutes!
__________________


Comp1 (Mine) : ASUS P9X79 LE, 3960X, 16GB Corsair Vengence 1333, PNY 770 4GB, OCZ Vertex3 240GB, OCZ Vertex3 480GB, 600GB VelociRaptor, Corsair 1000HX, Cool Master Cosmos 2
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old June 10, 2009, 07:03 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 9,238
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zelzubub View Post
I had feeling this is what Perineum was trying to tell me, thanks for clarifying Arinoth.
No problem, we're all here to help
__________________
Here I am: here I remain
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old June 10, 2009, 07:36 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sechelt, British Columbia
Posts: 48
Default

I just got home from work, thanks for all the replies everyone.

The comp is still running, hasnt froze up again all day. Gonna try and run a memtest on each stick of ram and see if they all check out since it worked again after I took them out and put them back in.

TimTheEnchanter - About 3ish weeks ago I bought a new power supply for her comp and installed the second 8800GT. It hasnt had any problems since then, other then running a little bogged down but she is loooong overdue for a reformat imo. Havent noticed much of an fps increase in the game she plays (Everquest 2) but I suspect shes bottlenecked at the cpu as EQ2 is fairly processor dependent. Installing the SLI in her comp was more of a fun project then viable upgrade anyway.

trayton - No I havent tried the "long" reset yet, was wondering if that would be a good option here. Im going to try that as well.

So Im going to:

1 - Run the memtests
2 - Try the "long" restart.
3 - Back up her pics/music/favorites and reformat her machine on saturday.

Hopefully those steps reveal the culprit and make it run smoother. Thanks for all the replies and tips... the HWC community rocks
__________________
ASUS P-55 Mobo
INTEL I5 Quadcore@ 2.8
Corsair Self contained waterloop
16GB Mushkin 1333 DDR3
EVGA 2GB GTX 560
OCZ GameXtreme 700w
120 GB Corsair SSD
2 TB WD Caviar Green
WD Raptor 10k 150g
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
So, any last ideas before I just give up? donimo Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 34 February 26, 2009 10:54 AM
any ideas cmac79 O/S's, Drivers & General Software 10 April 13, 2008 10:46 AM
any ideas?? Rapid-X CPU's and Motherboards 0 February 7, 2008 12:29 PM
Need Help! Im out of ideas. dbunten Troubleshooting 7 November 22, 2007 08:33 PM
IDEAS??? Rapid-X Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 1 October 12, 2007 11:39 AM