Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 10, 2007, 08:08 PM
omgwtf's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,916
Default FREEZER64 PRO Help...

I just got some items from directcanada..All is good. When I try to mount the freezer 64 pro on the asus m2n-e motherboard, well, I'm afraid If i will use force I will break something...Can someone tell me what can I do to gently put the cooler on the motherboard without damaging anything?...I tried to put it on the x2 4600+ but those brackets are just too shurt..
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 10, 2007, 08:16 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 13,641
Default

There is no way to GENTLY mount the AC Freezer 64. I thought the darn thing was going to break in half and spack me in the face but I installed it like the instruction manual indicated and all was OK.

The tight fit is to insure good contact with the CPU.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 10, 2007, 08:54 PM
BALISTX's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,063
Default

I read a review where they the suction between the CPU and the Arctic Freezer 64 Pro is so strong they were able to pull the CPU out of the socket with the socket lever in the locked position.

techPowerUp! Review :: Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro :: Page 3 / 5
__________________
Heatware
HWBOT
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 11, 2007, 03:26 AM
omgwtf's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,916
Default

I've wasted the thermal paste that comes with the freezer 64..now I have to wait till my as5 arrives.
What happens if someone from purolator shows up and I'm not home? he leaves a notice or what?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 11, 2007, 05:13 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,734

My System Specs

Default

Not sure about the courier thing, but I've mounted my ACFP7 many times now, and it's not really a picnic. The first three pegs go in fairly easy, but the last one is the toughy. Just make sure that your spreader pegs are pulled all the way back, and that when you're pressing them into the holes, that you're pushing on the lip of the metal legs, and not the pegs themselves until you hear that click. Then push the pegs in and turn.

I have no doubt you know this already, but just in case.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 11, 2007, 06:01 AM
BALISTX's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,063
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by omgwtf View Post
I've wasted the thermal paste that comes with the freezer 64..now I have to wait till my as5 arrives.
What happens if someone from purolator shows up and I'm not home? he leaves a notice or what?
They will leave you a notice saying they were they and will try again tomorrow. Also on the notice they should have a time and date as to when you can pick it up from your local Purolator depot.
__________________
Heatware
HWBOT
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 12, 2007, 07:11 AM
omgwtf's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,916
Default

I've recieved the thermal paste today (arctic silver5)
I'll give it another try...wish me luck
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 12, 2007, 09:06 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: New-Brunswick
Posts: 1,170
Default

Make sure you apply only a thin coat of AS5! Put a small amount (About a grain of rice) in the middle of the CPU and spread it all over using a credit card, razor blade or just like me, a 1 finger latex glove

Good luck!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 12, 2007, 09:14 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 17,817

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
a 1 finger latex glove
Where do you buy those???? I've been looking for ages........

I just wrap a sandwhich bag around my finger to do it. (Some folks say that it helps to warm it up a bit with a hair dryer but I've never tried that).
__________________
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WiFi AC) / i7 8700K / 2X 8G XPG Spectrix D40 (3000) / XFX XTR 750 / ASUS Strix GTX 1070ti
AZZA Titan 240 / Custom WC / Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD / Intel 760p 512GB NVMe / Seagate Barracuda 1TB / ASUS SWIFT PG279Q
Dell Optiplex 3020 / Intel Core i3 i3-4160 / EVGA GT 1030 SC / 6GB DDR3 / Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD/ Samsung 27" 1080p (Curved)
Dell G3 - i5 8300H / HP EX920 512GB NVME / 2X8GB HyperX Impact / 1TB SSHD / GTX 1050ti / N156HHE-GA1 120HZ Monitor
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 12, 2007, 09:25 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: New-Brunswick
Posts: 1,170
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Where do you buy those???? I've been looking for ages........

I just wrap a sandwhich bag around my finger to do it. (Some folks say that it helps to warm it up a bit with a hair dryer but I've never tried that).
Stealed some (Actually a sh!t load of them) at work... lol Basically, it's some kind of "1 finger latex glove" that you use when you cut your finger... You apply a bandaid and then apply this "1 finger latex glove" to make pressure on the wound/cut.

If i manage to get my hands on more, ill send you some LOL!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes