Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old January 30, 2019, 07:03 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 17,949

My System Specs

Default

Did you have a look in the bios to see if there was some kind of boot delay? Usually it allows you to set a specific number of seconds before the bios attempts to boot the drive.

Seems like it would be bit strange on a modern motherboard/chipset, but the idea was to allow the bios to fully complete post before it went to the drive.

Any other weird boot options in there? Boot from Rom, or network? If so, turn those options off.
__________________
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WiFi AC) / i7 8700K / 2X 8G XPG Spectrix D40 (3000) / XFX XTR 750 / ASUS Strix GTX 1070ti
Lian-Li PC-011 Air (RGB) / Custom WC / Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD / Intel 760p 512GB NVMe / ASUS SWIFT PG279Q
Dell Optiplex 3020 / Intel Core i3 i3-4160 / EVGA GT 1030 SC / 6GB DDR3 / Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD/ Samsung 27" 1080p (Curved)
Dell G3 - i5 8300H / HP EX920 512GB NVME / 2X8GB HyperX Impact / 1TB SSHD / GTX 1050ti / N156HHE-GA1 120HZ Screen
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old January 31, 2019, 04:47 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: GTA, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 304
Default

I installed the new PSU I got today. Now it boots at first boot.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old January 31, 2019, 08:09 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 8,844

My System Specs

Default

Interesting, I guess one of the voltages must of been low on startup. Glad that fixed it for you
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old February 6, 2019, 12:01 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,366

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JD View Post
Interesting, I guess one of the voltages must of been low on startup. Glad that fixed it for you
Yeah probably had a low Rise time when cold or something on one of the rails.

No Name PSU's at their finest.

-ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old May 11, 2019, 07:31 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: GTA, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 304
Default

It happened again. Argghhh. No more sfx PSU again. Gonna build a normal sized stuff so if it happens again it will be cheap to replace.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old June 18, 2019, 12:58 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: GTA, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 304
Default

I finally decided to do two thing to avoid boot up problems.
1. I switched the power button to sleep instead of shut down. Now my mom can power up the pc to where she left off.
2. Switched the SSD fro the cheap Kingston A400 120GB to a Crucial BX100 250GB and installed Momentum Cache to speed everything up. Data caching I can see makes a difference.

I normally buy Crucial and Sammy to take advantage of Data caching software tools. My dad has a EVO 840 250GB so he gets that extra boost too. Dad gets Sammy, Mom gets Crucial lol

Now everything works better.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Overclocking Failed. Error message on bootup. jaspap Troubleshooting 20 February 22, 2014 06:24 PM
SSD as a bootup drive on a file Server Jumpshooter43 Storage 10 February 15, 2013 10:09 AM
Error in marking forums read. Mena Suggestions & Feedback 2 October 28, 2012 10:13 AM
[WTB] DDR3 SODIMM, 2.5" Hard Drive, Hard Drive Enclosure TopDogZero Buy/Sell & Trade 2 May 20, 2011 04:24 PM
BIOHD-8 Error (Hard Drive) phantom478 Storage 2 September 28, 2009 09:35 PM