Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2019, 11:51 PM
Shadowarez's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Arctic Canada
Posts: 1,185

My System Specs

Question Storage upgrades

Hi all just need some input from my Fav tech community.

Project in mind is overhaul my Beast Rigs storage system.

Currently in use.

1.500gb 860 Sammy Evo (Boot)
2.512gb 850 Pro ssd (steam 1)
3.800gb Intel 910 Pcie Ssd (Steam 2)

Planned upgrade
1.1TB Sammy 870 Pro nvme (Boot)
2.64gb Hypetane nvme (cache)
3.14 TB Seagate iron wolf (steam) +cache
4. Or ASRock Quad Ultra + 4x 1TB Samsung ssds

I was thinking if I get a generally fast as hell boot drive then load in the 64gb Optane can I use that to say cache the steam games on the Iron wolf to ssd like performance.

Or would I be better off getting the ASRock Quad Ultra and 4x 1tb SSDs for my steam Folder?

Onky reason didn't put in for 900p is price is Astronomical 280gb $400+ just isn't enough capacity and 900gb $1400-1700 is bit nuts.
__________________
Beast
CPU - i9 7980xe 4.6ghz Mobo Rog Asus Apex x299
Ram - 32 GB Corsair 3200mhz 4x8GB
GPU - Vega FE 1650 Core 1080 HBM 2 (1090MV)
Case Corsair 1000D
Storage
1.Samsung 960 256gb Evo M.2 (Os)
2.Samsung 850 Pro 512 GB (steam)
3.intel 910 Pcie Ssd 800gb (Work/Scratch)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2019, 05:02 AM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 4,673

My System Specs

Default

Personally I wouldn’t bother with optane and would just stick with ssds. That being said, I will be honest and say I haven’t put faith in that technology sticking around due to pricing.
__________________
Desktop: Arc Midi R2, Z77-D3H, 3770@4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, 4x4gb ram, EVGA GTX 1070 Ti SC, Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, MX500 500gb
Away from home: Lenovo Legion Y530, 16gb, i7 8750H, GTX1050Ti
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2019, 06:04 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 17,615

My System Specs

Default

I stand to be corrected, but I doubt optane would be much benefit on a "game" drive. Load times are what it's all about when it comes to games, and depending on the number of games you've got those will be much too large to end up being cached.

Optane would only be effective for repetitive daily tasks like browsers, email, office files, calendar, etc....
__________________
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WiFi AC) / i7 8700K / 2X 8G XPG Spectrix D40 (3000) / XFX XTR 750 / ASUS Strix GTX 1070ti
AZZA Titan 240 / Custom WC / Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD / Intel 760p 512GB NVMe / Seagate Barracuda 1TB / ASUS SWIFT PG279Q

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 1X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / Uncased 256GB Sandisk Z400S SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 24" Westinghouse L2410NM
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2019, 07:34 AM
Shadowarez's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Arctic Canada
Posts: 1,185

My System Specs

Default

Ahh ok. Thought it'd cache the game files. I'll grab a ASRock. Quad Ultra and 4x 1tb drives.

Thank you guys this is 2nd last part of build getting all my storage on 1 type. Next is the 3 rads 2 480s a 420 up top.
__________________
Beast
CPU - i9 7980xe 4.6ghz Mobo Rog Asus Apex x299
Ram - 32 GB Corsair 3200mhz 4x8GB
GPU - Vega FE 1650 Core 1080 HBM 2 (1090MV)
Case Corsair 1000D
Storage
1.Samsung 960 256gb Evo M.2 (Os)
2.Samsung 850 Pro 512 GB (steam)
3.intel 910 Pcie Ssd 800gb (Work/Scratch)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2019, 02:45 PM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 5,216
Default

Yeah Optane is all about low latency. OS... some applications. Not games. I have to find a home user scenario that NEEDS optane for caching outside of pairing it with a HDD as an OS+apps hybrid.

Stick the cache on a different drive - ie one that is not the same as whatever needs the caching (D for OS, etc etc). Use the mega hdd for long term storage... and any game you are playing 'now' stick it on a SSD.
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2019, 04:15 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,984

My System Specs

Default

you could try what Linus media group is doing for there gaming lounge it's something along the lines with primocache, To cache games not really sure how it works since I just use SSD for all my game library sorry but its worth checking out

Ya, I think you can just have a huge HDD with one big SSD. For primocache it will cache the most common games you play but,

I also heard of tiered storage with Windows 10 that lets you kinda do the same thing here's a link how to set up that. Again just trying to throw you some options on game caching I don't have any personal experience with any of these setups

https://diywhitebox.com/how-to-confi...on-windows-10/

good luck hope something works out for ya
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris

Last edited by gingerbee; January 4, 2019 at 04:31 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2019, 08:19 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 8,406

My System Specs

Default

I'm pretty sure Optane only accelerates the boot drive and only the partition that holds Windows. Wouldn't do anything for your Steam HDD.

Optane, at least on the consumer side, seems like it came too late. SSD's are so cheap now, there's basically no reason to use a HDD as your OS/boot drive and using Optane to accelerate a SSD doesn't do much. On the data center side though, I can see it being useful as it caches against large arrays and could greatly benefit SQL or other database engines.

I would say just get as many 2TB 970 EVO's that you want/need.

The ASRock Quad setup would only work on a compatible motherboard. I would be inclined to stick to the ASUS Hyper card instead if you want to go that route. Your motherboard has dual ROG DIMM.2 though, so that is 4x NVMe already...
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2019, 08:46 PM
Shadowarez's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Arctic Canada
Posts: 1,185

My System Specs

Default

Yeah from what I read though the dimm.2 is split the one nearest the Io backplate is connected via cpu the one on right is pch connected. Only devices in rig is GPU and the storage maybe a soundcard if CES shows any being released in 2019. If not GPU+Storage
__________________
Beast
CPU - i9 7980xe 4.6ghz Mobo Rog Asus Apex x299
Ram - 32 GB Corsair 3200mhz 4x8GB
GPU - Vega FE 1650 Core 1080 HBM 2 (1090MV)
Case Corsair 1000D
Storage
1.Samsung 960 256gb Evo M.2 (Os)
2.Samsung 850 Pro 512 GB (steam)
3.intel 910 Pcie Ssd 800gb (Work/Scratch)

Last edited by Shadowarez; January 5, 2019 at 05:47 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 9, 2019, 04:04 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Metro-Vancouver
Posts: 713

My System Specs

Default

I still researching options, but am leaning towards a U.2 900P or 905p as my new boot drive*, thereby freeing up my Intel 750 drive for Steam** and buying more HDDs as the need arises. Cough... Plex... cough.

For both Shadowarez and myself, do people still buy used enterprise drives off of ebay?


* The steep price would be offset by the free money that accumulates every month in my Amazon.com account.
** Currently size is less than 200GB as I don't play that many games simultaneously.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2019, 09:14 AM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 5,216
Default

Unless it is a killer deal I would probably not go used for hdds. Def not without seeing a smart reporting showing power on hour count, and smart reallocation count (ie bad sectors that have been remapped), etc etc.
Honestly... go Seagate Cuda Pro. Near enterprise quality at consumer prices with 5yr warranty with first two years also covering free data recovery services (that can be upgraded beyond that for a rather reasonable fee). ;)

The Intel 900 series are beasts. IDK if you will notice the latency improvements over say a sammy pro... but yeah they are very, very good kit. Its what I run as my 'C' drives in MY rigs. YMMV but if the cost is not a factor they are an excellent choice.
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New upgrades. Shadowarez New Builds 0 August 20, 2017 10:11 PM
Upgrades FrostbittinHD Video Cards 12 March 29, 2012 09:40 PM
PC upgrades bassplayerdave New Builds 0 October 15, 2010 11:42 AM