Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2018, 04:33 AM
MARSTG's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 4,100

My System Specs

Default

Samsung SSDs offer Rapid Mode through Samsung Magician software, which is redirecting all reads and writes through it just like a ramdisk. Personally i think that a large ssd or 2 smaller ones in RAID 0 should offer plenty of speed.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2018, 03:14 PM
Mr. Friendly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 1,663

My System Specs

Default

don't have two SSD to RAID...just trying to see if I can use the 120GB SSD to cache for the 500GB HDD they have.



Intel SRT is dead (long live Intel SRT), but does it still work for the older systems? I want to use it on the ThinkCentre M82/83 I have, but don't want to waste my time if it won't work for some reason. :P
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2018, 05:03 PM
MARSTG's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 4,100

My System Specs

Default

A marvell sata raid controller with HyperDuo function can do that as well.
Storage SSD - Hyperduo Technology - Products - Marvell
__________________

Last edited by MARSTG; December 5, 2018 at 05:17 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old December 6, 2018, 07:38 AM
Mr. Friendly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 1,663

My System Specs

Default

so you're saying Intel SRT is truly dead and not something to use/deploy on older HW, eh?
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old December 6, 2018, 09:10 AM
Mr. Friendly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 1,663

My System Specs

Default

I'll just get a bigger SSD then...to heck with it, LoL!
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old December 6, 2018, 09:26 AM
MARSTG's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 4,100

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Friendly View Post
so you're saying Intel SRT is truly dead and not something to use/deploy on older HW, eh?
yep **
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Disable dmz, cant play Uncharted. Enable dmz, cant play Tekken hohohee Gaming 3 December 4, 2011 01:17 PM
Now THIS is how you play BF3...! somecanadianguy Gaming 7 November 10, 2011 12:43 PM
Anybody play this ??? crazyhorsejohnny Off Topic 2 September 24, 2011 10:16 PM
What do u play!! cmac79 Off Topic 5 November 7, 2008 09:36 AM
Need something to play... Evilyeti Gaming 21 January 28, 2008 05:48 PM