Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2014, 05:00 PM
sakage.shinga's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 215

My System Specs

Default Question about my Crucial M500 480GB

Hi guys,

I'm installing a Crucial M500 480GB SSD on my new rig, and I'm wondering if I should partition it. I figure that OS + Apps will take up about 80GB, max 100GB, that leaves me 380-400GB for game installations. I also have a Caviar Black 2TB HDD that will load games that don't benefit from SSD speeds. My question is whether I should partition my SSD (e.g. 80GB for OS, 400GB for games on a separate partition) and use the larger partition as cache for my HDD, or simply leave the SSD untouched.

Scenario 1) SSD holds OS + Apps + Games, unpartitioned. HDD holds rest of games.
Scenario 2) SSD holds OS + Apps on 1 partition, Games on separate partition. HDD holds rest of games
Scenario 3) SSD holds OS + Apps on 1 partition, 2nd partition used as smart cache for HDD. HDD holds all games, but is now a "hybrid" drive?

Thanks for any input!!!
__________________
Photography/Gaming build: i7-4770K, NH-D14, Z87 Sabertooth, 16GB Ripjaws X, GTX 780 OC DirectCU II 3GB, M500 480GB, Caviar Black 2TB, Dual Red 4TBx2 (RAID 1), XFX Pro 850W 80+ Gold, Graphite Series 600T SE White
HTPC build: i5-750, Hyper 212+, P7P55D Pro, 8GB Ripjaws X, R6970 DirectCU II 2GB, Caviar Black 640GB/2TB, Caviar Green 3TB, Seagate Barracuda 3TB, Strider Plus 750W, CM 690 II Advanced
Mobile Media: Asus Transformer Infinity 32GB w/ keyboard dock
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2014, 06:21 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,751

My System Specs

Default

200 gigs min for an OS imo... doesn't take long to fill it up with software. Rest for games.
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2014, 06:48 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,923

My System Specs

Default

Scenario 1 is simplest. I'm not sure you can use only part of a SSD as a cache drive.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2014, 06:52 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,751

My System Specs

Default

really? I didn't know you couldn't partition an ssd?
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2014, 09:19 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 11,392
Default

Honestly whats the point to partioning a SSD even if you could? It literally makes no difference in the end.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2014, 09:33 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,923

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clshades View Post
really? I didn't know you couldn't partition an ssd?

You can partition it to your heart's desire. I'm not sure it's possible to use a secondary partition as a cache drive for your HDD while using the primary partition as an OS.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 7, 2014, 10:41 AM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 3,308

My System Specs

Default

I wouldn't bother TBH.
__________________
Random quotes:

AKG: "So please don't piss on people and claim its raining. "
Soullessone21: "Their the only fat bitches I ever want in my wife :)"
DeeraxTheCoolNemo: "I never preSs CaPLoCK I just HiT my keyS so Hard ThEY Crit"
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 7, 2014, 11:43 PM
sakage.shinga's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 215

My System Specs

Default

Here's another question. I'm having second thoughts about the Crucial M500. Would the Samsung 840 Evo 500GB be a better choice in terms of reliability? I know it is noticeably faster than the M500, but honestly I don't really care about that so long as the Crucial isn't dead slow. I care much more about longevity and reliability - which SSD wins? If both are the same, then i might just change over to the Samsung since it can be had for a few dollars less yet is faster.
__________________
Photography/Gaming build: i7-4770K, NH-D14, Z87 Sabertooth, 16GB Ripjaws X, GTX 780 OC DirectCU II 3GB, M500 480GB, Caviar Black 2TB, Dual Red 4TBx2 (RAID 1), XFX Pro 850W 80+ Gold, Graphite Series 600T SE White
HTPC build: i5-750, Hyper 212+, P7P55D Pro, 8GB Ripjaws X, R6970 DirectCU II 2GB, Caviar Black 640GB/2TB, Caviar Green 3TB, Seagate Barracuda 3TB, Strider Plus 750W, CM 690 II Advanced
Mobile Media: Asus Transformer Infinity 32GB w/ keyboard dock
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2014, 06:41 AM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 5,284
Default

Short answer....nope.
Longer answer....hell NO.

The EVO uses TLC NAND. Sure Sammy are claiming its second gen TLC but, IMNSHO tri-level (ie SIX states) is not ready for prime-time and Sammy once again are using peeps as guinea pigs. Give it 2-3 more years before even looking at TLC. Stick with the Crucial.
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2014, 08:32 AM
sakage.shinga's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 215

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AkG View Post
Short answer....nope.
Longer answer....hell NO.

The EVO uses TLC NAND. Sure Sammy are claiming its second gen TLC but, IMNSHO tri-level (ie SIX states) is not ready for prime-time and Sammy once again are using peeps as guinea pigs. Give it 2-3 more years before even looking at TLC. Stick with the Crucial.
Haha OK, sticking with the Crucial. Thanks!!!
__________________
Photography/Gaming build: i7-4770K, NH-D14, Z87 Sabertooth, 16GB Ripjaws X, GTX 780 OC DirectCU II 3GB, M500 480GB, Caviar Black 2TB, Dual Red 4TBx2 (RAID 1), XFX Pro 850W 80+ Gold, Graphite Series 600T SE White
HTPC build: i5-750, Hyper 212+, P7P55D Pro, 8GB Ripjaws X, R6970 DirectCU II 2GB, Caviar Black 640GB/2TB, Caviar Green 3TB, Seagate Barracuda 3TB, Strider Plus 750W, CM 690 II Advanced
Mobile Media: Asus Transformer Infinity 32GB w/ keyboard dock
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
960GB Crucial M500 available now on newegg Spblue Storage 2 June 10, 2013 06:44 AM
Crucial M500 480GB SSD Review Comment Thread SKYMTL Storage 8 June 6, 2013 12:50 PM
Plextor M5 Pro Extreme or Crucial M500 brewer265@ Storage 7 May 24, 2013 07:26 AM
Micron / Crucial Launch New M500 SSDs, 960GB for under $600 SKYMTL Storage 1 January 10, 2013 07:32 PM