Go Back   Hardware Canucks > NEWS & REVIEWS > Rumor Mill

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 13, 2019, 07:32 AM
Mr. Friendly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 2,267

My System Specs

Default Ryzen 3000 Likely Will Support DDR4 5000mhz

https://www.guru3d.com/news-story/ry...r4-memory.html


I hope that means they can handle higher capacities at lower speeds, as Ryzen has had difficulty with that.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 13, 2019, 12:36 PM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 4,908

My System Specs

Default

I read about this a few days ago. Supposedly it will have a 50% divider so that as memory speeds get really high the interconnect will run at half the memory speed (instead of 1:1). It would limit before really fast memory apparently.

I have a feeling this will mean two optimum speeds for memory...one just before you have to run the divider, and one as fast as you can get your ram with the divider.
__________________
Desktop: Arc Midi R2, Z77-D3H, 3770@4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, 4x4gb ram, EVGA GTX 1070 Ti SC, Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, MX500 500gb
Away from home: Lenovo Legion Y530, 16gb, i7 8750H, GTX1050Ti

Last edited by Bond007; May 13, 2019 at 04:11 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 13, 2019, 01:31 PM
Mr. Friendly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 2,267

My System Specs

Default

it'll be interesting to see how much of a real world difference it makes. AMD's fiber interconnect responded to the added bandwidth better than Intel did.


however, 5000mhz RAM isn't going to be cheap, so it will have to be countered with real world performance. not to mention the 100 100 175 200 timings, LOL!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 17, 2019, 05:49 PM
MARSTG's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 4,262

My System Specs

Default

However the APUs will be built with Zen+ cores not Zen2. And still no embedded HBM chip on the APUs.
https://www.techpowerup.com/255600/a...peeds-revealed
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 18, 2019, 05:34 AM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 4,908

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MARSTG View Post
However the APUs will be built with Zen+ cores not Zen2. And still no embedded HBM chip on the APUs.
https://www.techpowerup.com/255600/a...peeds-revealed
The APUs numbering is ahead 1 on numbering. 4xxx should jump to zen2.
__________________
Desktop: Arc Midi R2, Z77-D3H, 3770@4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, 4x4gb ram, EVGA GTX 1070 Ti SC, Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, MX500 500gb
Away from home: Lenovo Legion Y530, 16gb, i7 8750H, GTX1050Ti
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
here's some Ryzen 3000 clickbain for you! :) Mr. Friendly Press Releases & Tech News 0 May 3, 2019 09:37 AM
Ryzen 3000 Said To Launch 7/7 This Year. Mr. Friendly Rumor Mill 0 February 19, 2019 02:21 PM
Is this Bye Bye Intel - Ryzen 3000 TheDude CPU's and Motherboards 28 December 27, 2018 04:43 PM