Go Back   Hardware Canucks > NEWS & REVIEWS > Rumor Mill

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old June 7, 2019, 02:35 PM
Mr. Friendly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 2,374

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MARSTG View Post
they could place some gddr5 on die. it completely escapes me why they haven't done that already .
cost and extra power/heat I would assume. even when Intel did put some GPU cache, the amount was laughable...128MB? c'mon!


also, can you imagine how much bigger the die would get? think Threadripper I bet...and those monsters require massive cooling!
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old June 7, 2019, 02:45 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,088

My System Specs

Default

I wasn't going to bump this post, but since others already did, he's already quit Intel:

https://hardforum.com/threads/leaving-intel.1982266/

Quote:
Originally Posted by CMetaphor View Post
Was always too biased towards Intel, I guess ass kissing pays off.
He's had a poor relationship with Intel, Nvidia, and AMD at various points in time throughout the years either due to reviews or journalistic pieces.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old June 7, 2019, 02:45 PM
Sagath's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 3,920

My System Specs

Default

Because the more complex and bigger you make a die, the more likely it will have architecture failures.

Putting gddr5 on die is a costly proposition with very minimal real world benefit.
__________________
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old June 7, 2019, 05:20 PM
Cannon Fodder's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mission, BC
Posts: 296
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vittra View Post
I wasn't going to bump this post, but since others already did, he's already quit Intel:

https://hardforum.com/threads/leaving-intel.1982266/.
Already mentioned that, on the previous page.....
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old June 9, 2019, 05:45 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sagath View Post
Because the more complex and bigger you make a die, the more likely it will have architecture failures.

Putting gddr5 on die is a costly proposition with very minimal real world benefit.
I'm an IT in an online company that offers cat doors (will add a convenience to your home that every pet owner wants in their life. This amazing product of convenience will allow your pet the freedom to come in and out of the house without you having to constantly stop what you are doing to open the door for them). I agree with you.

Last edited by Sean123; June 16, 2019 at 06:13 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old June 10, 2019, 09:18 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,088

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cannon Fodder View Post
Already mentioned that, on the previous page.....
Oops

__________________

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
So how did you guys piss off hardocp.com? hossdaddy Off Topic 41 March 4, 2012 04:45 PM
Is TRIM work on Intel gen 2 set on IDE Lanboy Storage 7 June 9, 2011 09:21 AM
Possible new Xbox 360 on the way? [HardOCP] CMetaphor Reviews & Articles from the Web 41 March 18, 2010 10:21 PM
Hardocp gives modern warfare 2 PC Game a 9.5 BrentSP Gaming 5 February 13, 2010 08:49 PM