Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #51 (permalink)  
Old January 22, 2019, 10:54 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 10
Default

Was previously using 8GB single stick then I upgraded to 16GB dual channel. Performance increase was quite noticeable.
Reply With Quote
  #52 (permalink)  
Old January 22, 2019, 02:15 PM
Mr. Friendly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 1,958

My System Specs

Default

well...dual channel mode still gives a performance boost...it's just not as integral as back in the Athlon XP/Pentium 4 days.
Reply With Quote
  #53 (permalink)  
Old January 22, 2019, 04:56 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: GTA, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 189

My System Specs

Default

I am saving more money for a new laptop with at least 16gb... My single channel 8gb is not cutting it no more :( . I cant upgrade it onely one slot
__________________
Gone mobile and back to Gaming to LEARN! :p
Laptop: Dell Inspirion 15 i3 5005U, 8GB, Samsung EVO 860 500GB, Microsoft Sculpt Comfort Mouse
Gaming PC: i7 2600K, 24GB, EVGA 1070 8GB, Crucial BX500 250GB playing just CS:GO and some StarCraft 2
HTPC/Server: See "My System Specs". I also use it to virtualize an instance of Windows to my mobile devices.
Reply With Quote
  #54 (permalink)  
Old January 22, 2019, 07:49 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Great White North
Posts: 13

My System Specs

Default Dare I Answer this?

Depends what PC you're referring to. I've never done a complete RAM count on all units. One of my main boards comes equipped with 128 GB of Corsair Dominator Platinum RAM. The ram serves me well, I've never had trouble with it. I even got over 70% of it working in one usage once or twice. I rarely mention this as the first response is almost always, "you don't need that much RAM". Well, baloney. There was once a time nobody "needed" a 1TB hard drive. Anyway, to each there own and there it is.
Reply With Quote
  #55 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2019, 02:07 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 3,938
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SCANNERMAN View Post
Depends what PC you're referring to. I've never done a complete RAM count on all units. One of my main boards comes equipped with 128 GB of Corsair Dominator Platinum RAM. The ram serves me well, I've never had trouble with it. I even got over 70% of it working in one usage once or twice. I rarely mention this as the first response is almost always, "you don't need that much RAM". Well, baloney. There was once a time nobody "needed" a 1TB hard drive. Anyway, to each there own and there it is.
Quote:
2GB: Only really found in budget tablet designs. Fine for them, but you’ll want more in a laptop or desktop.
4GB: Entry level memory that comes with even budget notebooks. Fine for basic Windows and Chrome OS usage.
8GB: Excellent for Windows and MacOS systems and most games. We recommend this for most people.
16GB: Ideal for professional work and more demanding games.
32GB and beyond: Enthusiasts and purpose-built workstations only.

back in the day remember Bill Gates saying all you need is 2megs what a joke today
Reply With Quote
  #56 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2019, 02:38 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 17,695

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SCANNERMAN View Post
Depends what PC you're referring to. I've never done a complete RAM count on all units. One of my main boards comes equipped with 128 GB of Corsair Dominator Platinum RAM. The ram serves me well, I've never had trouble with it. I even got over 70% of it working in one usage once or twice. I rarely mention this as the first response is almost always, "you don't need that much RAM". Well, baloney. There was once a time nobody "needed" a 1TB hard drive. Anyway, to each there own and there it is.
Heh... forget TB.... I had to upgrade to a 1GB drive when the DII expansion pack came out or I wouldn't have been able to install it.... ;)

(I also remember when upgrading to 4 MB memory + a CD reader cost me north of $500.... :) )
__________________
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WiFi AC) / i7 8700K / 2X 8G XPG Spectrix D40 (3000) / XFX XTR 750 / ASUS Strix GTX 1070ti
AZZA Titan 240 / Custom WC / Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD / Intel 760p 512GB NVMe / Seagate Barracuda 1TB / ASUS SWIFT PG279Q

Dell Optiplex 3020 / Intel Core i3 i3-4160 / 2 X 4GB DDR3 (Mixed) / Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD/ 24" Westinghouse L2410NM
Reply With Quote
  #57 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2019, 02:24 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 6,460

My System Specs

Default

ran 4*4GB 16G for years....not 2*16G 32G .......seems like the reasonable way to go with Duo Channel and 4 Slots..
__________________

Firestrike Extreme: 23.772K
https://www.3dmark.com/fs/17562471
Timespy: 18.613K
MARK 11: 40.185K
https://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/13079691



.
Reply With Quote
  #58 (permalink)  
Old January 29, 2019, 08:31 AM
Mr. Friendly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 1,958

My System Specs

Default

I've always wondered how memory speeds vs memory channels...single, dual and dual dual, affected onboard GPU performance.



I know Anandtech has a bit of a rundown on it, but they didn't really go far enough with the speeds, nor did they test memory channel configurations.
Reply With Quote
  #59 (permalink)  
Old January 30, 2019, 09:40 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 6,460

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Friendly View Post
I've always wondered how memory speeds vs memory channels...single, dual and dual dual, affected onboard GPU performance.



I know Anandtech has a bit of a rundown on it, but they didn't really go far enough with the speeds, nor did they test memory channel configurations.

Yeah good question......Ive had Dual Channel...Tri Channel and Quad Channel....the HEDT are all Quad Channel,,,,,I would think the fastest Memory possible would be best,,,as in Quad Channel....high frequency and lowest possible Timings......


I now have 32G but in all honesty I really believe 16G is still plenty for day to day stuff and gaming....64G and 128G for what I do is simply a waste of money....!
__________________

Firestrike Extreme: 23.772K
https://www.3dmark.com/fs/17562471
Timespy: 18.613K
MARK 11: 40.185K
https://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/13079691



.
Reply With Quote
  #60 (permalink)  
Old February 2, 2019, 08:40 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Oakville
Posts: 25
Default

Hmmm so I have 32GB each in 3 systems that run on the X99 platform. All Quad channel starting DDR4-3000 and DDR4 - 3200.

My use cases include Media server, Workstation for video editing and a high performance NAS. I have found that with the NAS if you have sufficient memory with the appropriate networking data rates the extra RAM comes into it's own when transferring (large) files between machines.

That's just my use case though...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes