Go Back   Hardware Canucks > NEWS & REVIEWS > Press Releases & Tech News

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 16, 2019, 09:39 AM
Mr. Friendly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 2,103

My System Specs

Default Zen 2 Incompatible With 300 Series Chipsets

https://www.guru3d.com/news-story/ry...imitation.html


that's going to make for a number of upset people me-thinks. what good is having a long life socket if future generations of CPU's on that socket can't be used, when that was the whole purpose of the long life socket!


I hope there is enough customer backlash that forces the mobo maker hands to do the work to make for compatibility.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 16, 2019, 10:04 AM
Entz's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 77

My System Specs

Default

Reading the comments and such it looks like its going to be a bit of a YMMV. A lot of ASUS boards are getting updates for example and will have no issues. Really depends on if the Motherboard manufacturer cheaped out on the amount of bios storage space available.

Edit: Looking a bit further, it may not even be a space thing. Just a MSI thing.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 16, 2019, 10:46 AM
crazyea's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Surrey, BC
Posts: 476

My System Specs

Default

amd users have have it good for a long time....no pity from an intel user. lol
__________________
Please check my feedback:
RFD
HWC
Heatware
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 16, 2019, 12:37 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 60
Default

This is one of the reasons I typically buy a higher end mother board instead of the cheapest one that will get the job done. I have been hurt a couple times even at the server level by something that should be supported but a supporting BIOS was never released.

I shoved a FX-8370 into a CH4EX without side effects. And looking up the BIOS history of the CH6 Hero it looks like they have been working on the BIOS updates already.

"Version 6808
2019/03/1510 MBytes
CROSSHAIR VI HERO BIOS 6808
Update AGESA 0070 for the upcoming processors and improve CPU compatibility.
ASUS strongly recommends installing AMD chipset driver 18.50.16 or later before updating BIOS."
__________________
2700X Heatkiller, CH7 Hero, 1080ti Heatkiller, 32GB Ram, 2x500GB WD Black NVMe, Dual 1080 rads, dual D5S pumps.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 16, 2019, 01:12 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: GTA, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 233

My System Specs

Default

I was about to get a used B350 board and a 1600 ryzen .... not sure now.
__________________
Gone mobile and back to Gaming to LEARN! :p
Laptop: Dell G5 i5-8300H, 16GB, 1050 4GB, Samsung EVO 970 500GB+EVO 860 500GB, Microsoft Sculpt Comfort Mouse
Gaming PC: i7-2600K, 32GB, EVGA 1070 8GB, Crucial BX500 250GB, WD 4TB, ASUS Xonar DX playing just CS:GO and some StarCraft 2
HTPC/Server: See "My System Specs". I also use it to virtualize an instance of Windows to my mobile devices.
Graphics Designer and Tech Journalist @ www.RealHardwareReviews.com ID: eyetrance
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 16, 2019, 01:16 PM
Mr. Friendly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 2,103

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by justmehereajax View Post
I was about to get a used B350 board and a 1600 ryzen .... not sure now.

take a gander at what the most recent updates for the mobo have provided. at worst case you can upgrade to a 2700, they're often going on sale for $225 in the US now!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 16, 2019, 02:12 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: GTA, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 233

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Friendly View Post
take a gander at what the most recent updates for the mobo have provided. at worst case you can upgrade to a 2700, they're often going on sale for $225 in the US now!
my old 2600K still can do good work. I bought a laptop dell g5 which offers similar performance as my desktop but I yearn for more power and cores. I might just get the latest because my new laptop ain't cutting it lol. I will still wait for the new ryzen stuff to grab a 500 series board now.
__________________
Gone mobile and back to Gaming to LEARN! :p
Laptop: Dell G5 i5-8300H, 16GB, 1050 4GB, Samsung EVO 970 500GB+EVO 860 500GB, Microsoft Sculpt Comfort Mouse
Gaming PC: i7-2600K, 32GB, EVGA 1070 8GB, Crucial BX500 250GB, WD 4TB, ASUS Xonar DX playing just CS:GO and some StarCraft 2
HTPC/Server: See "My System Specs". I also use it to virtualize an instance of Windows to my mobile devices.
Graphics Designer and Tech Journalist @ www.RealHardwareReviews.com ID: eyetrance
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 16, 2019, 04:19 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 7,009

My System Specs

Default

ya I will be upgrading but I was also planning on doing the board to so don't matter to me. but this is a little disappointing
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 16, 2019, 05:58 PM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 4,865

My System Specs

Default

So far I believe it is only MSI that has said this may happen...they would lose future business if that is the case.
__________________
Desktop: Arc Midi R2, Z77-D3H, 3770@4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, 4x4gb ram, EVGA GTX 1070 Ti SC, Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, MX500 500gb
Away from home: Lenovo Legion Y530, 16gb, i7 8750H, GTX1050Ti
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 17, 2019, 06:01 AM
Bartacus's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Ottawa, Canuckistan
Posts: 411

My System Specs

Default

This is why you never buy MSI motherboards. Asus FTW. Yes you pay that relatively healthy "Asus tax", but it's worth it sometimes. They're always ahead of the motherboard game.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Questions on X series chipsets BVickery CPU's and Motherboards 3 October 27, 2011 12:27 PM
Nvidia agree to unlock SLI on AMD 9-series chipsets [VR-Zone] botat29 Press Releases & Tech News 21 April 1, 2011 05:54 PM
800 Series Chipsets Support What CPUs? geokilla CPU's and Motherboards 8 May 20, 2010 03:43 PM
SLI for all MB chipsets? burebista CPU's and Motherboards 3 September 15, 2009 05:10 AM
AMD to launch 7 series chipsets in 2H07: Digitimes Babrbarossa Rumor Mill 1 June 16, 2007 12:42 PM