Go Back   Hardware Canucks > NEWS & REVIEWS > Press Releases & Tech News

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #51 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2009, 03:26 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Belleville, Ontario
Posts: 559
Default

Why doesnt AMD set up a fab with global foundries specifically for ati? Then they can at least be in control of these issues and see them coming.
__________________
Case: HAF 932
CPU: AMD Phenom II 940 3.5ghz w/ OCZ Vendetta 2 Cooler
PSU: OCZ StealthXstream 600w
Mobo: ASUS M3A79-T Deluxe
Memory: 4gb OCZ Platinum 1000mhz ddr2
Graphics: 2x Sapphire 4830s in Crossfire
Keyboard: Logitech G11
Mouse: Logitech G9
HD:WD 640gb Caviar Black + 750gb Seagate
#hardwarecanucks on irc.enterthegame.com
Reply With Quote
  #52 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2009, 03:27 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 33
Default

Sorry for a bad question, but how do yields fail o.O. How does it happen that its a 20% (or whatever percentage) chance that the chip will not crap-out? Does the machine 'accidentally' snap it in half or something?
Reply With Quote
  #53 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2009, 03:40 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fredkruge View Post
Sorry for a bad question, but how do yields fail o.O. How does it happen that its a 20% (or whatever percentage) chance that the chip will not crap-out? Does the machine 'accidentally' snap it in half or something?
Manufacturing a CPU is an incredibly complex process, and when you're dealing with transistors that are measured in billionths of metres, you're bound to get some mistakes, even when machines are doing the manufacturing.
Reply With Quote
  #54 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2009, 04:08 PM
Silvgearx's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,101
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonwall View Post
Why doesnt AMD set up a fab with global foundries specifically for ati? Then they can at least be in control of these issues and see them coming.
Those guys can only produce 45nm for now
Reply With Quote
  #55 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2009, 04:12 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,770

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 5ILVgeARX View Post
Those guys can only produce 45nm for now
That'll soon change.

AnandTech: Globalfoundries Starts on 22nm Fab & Announces First non-AMD Customer

Besides, 45nm isn't bad. The norm is 45nm right now.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #56 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2009, 04:46 PM
Sushi Warrior's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Grimsby, Ontario
Posts: 1,609

My System Specs

Default

GlobalFoundries is a LOOOONG way off. By the time they get into the market they will be making around 22/30/32nm I believe. They will still be a year or three away.
__________________
||EK Supreme LT Nickel||MCP355/EK X-TOPV2||EK150 M-O res||MCR220/White||NZXT FN120RB/FN140RB||
Project|Oroborous by NZXT and MNPC
Reply With Quote
  #57 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2009, 10:10 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,172

My System Specs

Default

The only trouble now is that even GTX series card are hard to get. All the supplier at my job, and we are talking about Eprom and other big have no stock and can't even give us ETA. one day we see ho 5 card but they are already sold to another one. These day the market really suck...
__________________
[COLOR=black][SIZE=4][B]Ask for more
Reply With Quote
  #58 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2009, 10:54 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 561
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonwall View Post
Why doesnt AMD set up a fab with global foundries specifically for ati? Then they can at least be in control of these issues and see them coming.
i don't think you realize just how much easier that is said than done.

ps, with fabs costing upwards of $2B, that should say something in itself.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NVIDIA Fermi GT300 Video Cards A Fake? FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 62 October 9, 2009 03:43 PM
NVIDIA Fermi (GT300) Pictured From NVIDIA GTC FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 22 October 2, 2009 08:04 PM
NVIDIA's "Fermi" Architecture White Paper ( Hard OCP ) gingerbee Press Releases & Tech News 0 October 1, 2009 11:20 AM
NVIDIA GT300 - Codename Fermi - Detailed FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 21 September 30, 2009 05:00 PM
2010 "Hello Kitty" Olympics - WTF? Thund3rball Off Topic 35 November 29, 2007 07:24 PM