Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2019, 09:27 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 6,475

My System Specs

Default PSU Custom Cable Kit Type 4

Hey guys..
Back out on the ship with crappy Internet......hoping you guys can post some links (Newegg....Mikes...Memory Express...etc) to a set of Custom PSU cables for my AX 1600i .(....I know the cables that come with it have the built in Line Capacitors (for ripple reduction)...not sure if the Custom ones have this as well (maybe at the PSU end instead of the Mobo / GPU end).......or if the Custom Cables are simply extensions to be used with the OEM cables......not sure as I havent purchased these before.....


Thanks in advance.......
__________________

Firestrike Extreme: 23.772K
https://www.3dmark.com/fs/17562471
Timespy: 18.613K
MARK 11: 40.185K
https://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/13079691



.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2019, 05:02 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 8,567

My System Specs

Default

Depends what you want, you can buy extensions (and thus reuse in future builds) or you can get replacement cables.

If you're looking at CableMod, it looks like the AX1600i uses the C-Series RMi / RMx cable sets (https://cablemod.com/compatibility/).

https://www.newegg.ca/Product/Produc...1W7-0049-00024
https://www.newegg.ca/Product/Produc...9SIADEH5KK3295

ModFlex = paracord, ModMesh = nylon.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2019, 09:46 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 6,475

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JD View Post
Depends what you want, you can buy extensions (and thus reuse in future builds) or you can get replacement cables.

If you're looking at CableMod, it looks like the AX1600i uses the C-Series RMi / RMx cable sets (https://cablemod.com/compatibility/).

https://www.newegg.ca/Product/Produc...1W7-0049-00024
https://www.newegg.ca/Product/Produc...9SIADEH5KK3295

ModFlex = paracord, ModMesh = nylon.

Thanks JD......appreciate it.....my OEM cables come with inline capacitors (PCI-E and 24Pin ATX).....these look like they dont...from what I understand there not absolutely necessary (the inline capacitors) ? I cant stand them...at the Mobo end...rock hard and about 2 cm long (cant bend or flex).....


EDIT Never mind just read the specs and the cable mod kits come with them in the middle...so there hidden..awesome!!!!
__________________

Firestrike Extreme: 23.772K
https://www.3dmark.com/fs/17562471
Timespy: 18.613K
MARK 11: 40.185K
https://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/13079691



.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2019, 11:05 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 8,567

My System Specs

Default

Yup the capacitors are a bit further down so it's generally out of the way and sight. If you can't fit the cables behind your motherboard tray though, you'll definitely still see the capacitors as they still stick out. I've had no issue with my set of CableMod cables on my RM850i (same ones).
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 14, 2019, 05:02 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 6,475

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JD View Post
Yup the capacitors are a bit further down so it's generally out of the way and sight. If you can't fit the cables behind your motherboard tray though, you'll definitely still see the capacitors as they still stick out. I've had no issue with my set of CableMod cables on my RM850i (same ones).

Perfect..thanks for all that....going to purchase a set...swapping out my Velocity Block and adding another NVMe Drive in a few weeks ...drain and do it all then ;)...
__________________

Firestrike Extreme: 23.772K
https://www.3dmark.com/fs/17562471
Timespy: 18.613K
MARK 11: 40.185K
https://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/13079691



.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2019, 12:38 AM
dustin1706's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Alberta
Posts: 716

My System Specs

Default

I did my own custom cables on my recent build with an Ax1600i. Did a fair bit of reading about inline capacitors as I wasn't sure if I should remove them or not. Ultimately decided that it wasn't worth keeping them. Did some basic checks on voltage ripple with an oscilloscope with the factory cables vs my cables and could find no difference in the scenarios I tested.
__________________
MSI GT72 6QE-033US - 6700HQ, GTX980M, 1080p G-Sync IPS, 16GB DDR4, 1TB Evo 850 SSD, 256GB Toshiba SSD, 2TB Barracuda, BD-Rom/DVD-RW
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2019, 04:26 AM
Lysrin's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,792

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjbarker View Post
Perfect..thanks for all that....going to purchase a set...swapping out my Velocity Block and adding another NVMe Drive in a few weeks ...drain and do it all then ;)...
You're swapping out your block again...? I'm starting to lose track!
__________________
i7 8700K @ 4.8GHz (Swiftech H220) | ASUS Maximus X Code | 32GB Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro DDR4-3200 | ASUS ROG GTX 1080 Ti Strix OC ver. | EX920 512GB, MX100 512GB, MX300 2TB | EVGA Supernova 850W G2 | Meshify C | Mayflower Electronics O2+ODAC, USB sound for mic, Sennheiser PC360 SE | Acer Predator X34, BenQ 21.5" | Windows 10 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2019, 06:47 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 6,475

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lysrin View Post
You're swapping out your block again...? I'm starting to lose track!

Yes originally went with an older EK Supremacy "all Nickel" block....really liked the look of the all Nickel but wanted to try out this new EK Velocity Acetol Block.....I now have a new EK Velocity all Nickel Block with RGB lighting....so going for one more swap out .......so yeah...think I have 3 spare EK CPU Blocks now......welcome to Water Cooling!!!!



While I have the loop drained to swap CPU Blocks....Im going to remove the 2 GPU's....so I can access the PCH heatsink ...remove it and add another Samsung 970 Pro NVMe drive ......I'll add the new PSU cables while Im at it.......but this will all have to wait until after 3rd April....
__________________

Firestrike Extreme: 23.772K
https://www.3dmark.com/fs/17562471
Timespy: 18.613K
MARK 11: 40.185K
https://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/13079691



.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
usb 3.1 type A or C? Which is it TTC Storage 13 January 23, 2017 11:59 AM
Cable, Skinny Cable and Canadian options. FreeKnight Off Topic 15 March 7, 2016 03:16 PM
[FS] Last chance to buy (sensitivity mode) custom-made, uni-sleeved 6pin PCIe cable :) Artel Buy/Sell & Trade 12 May 26, 2010 10:00 AM
[FS] Xbox 360: Halo 3 ODST, HDMI AV Cable, VGA AV Cable (All Brand New) icarus2 Buy/Sell & Trade 1 December 20, 2009 12:30 PM
Custom sleeved 6 plug Pcie power cable Alwaysrun Power Supplies 2 May 17, 2009 05:37 PM