Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 12, 2019, 05:15 PM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 4,699

My System Specs

Default Tweaking my Y530 - i7 8750H and 1050 Ti 4gb

So I didn't take long to start playing with trying to optimise my recent laptop purchase. With a bit of googling I have found myself using throttlestop and afterburner for the CPU/GPU respectively. Stock the temps where mid 80s on the cpu and mid 60s on the gpu in game. Loading just the CPU had it approaching 90.

CPU - using throttlestop I have it on -140mV (obviously I worked towards finding this value), which has stopped me from being power limited on the cpu and stopped power throttling. However, for gaming I have left the undervolt, but limited the CPU to max 3.2ghz. With these adjustments (stock fan profile), the CPU is now maxing out in game at mid 60s. I am monitoring CPU usage in game to make sure it isn't limiting me...so far it isn't even close.

GPU - again, after googling how to make the 1050 Ti more efficient on a locked down gpu I found out about modifying the voltage/frequency curve with afterburner. I am still tweaking for now, but so far I have the curve going to a peak of +172mhz over the baseline curve. This gets me 1860 mhz in game at 0.975v and not hitting the power limit (which was reducing it from reaching this max boost state). With the stock curve it wasn't reaching this frequency until 1.13v. Also, the memory is at +100 (200 effective). Still tweaking both of these, but so far it is getting me higher fps (didn't write down the differences though), by maintaining max boost freq and temps are 2-3 degrees lower (low 60s).

Anyone else played with a 1050 Ti (mobile) or 8750h, and if so what are your results? Anyone else have any advice/pointers? First time using throttlestop or this curve editor.
__________________
Desktop: Arc Midi R2, Z77-D3H, 3770@4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, 4x4gb ram, EVGA GTX 1070 Ti SC, Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, MX500 500gb
Away from home: Lenovo Legion Y530, 16gb, i7 8750H, GTX1050Ti
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 12, 2019, 05:19 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 17,638

My System Specs

Default

Heh.... Posted this and then saw your new thread.... :)

https://www.hardwarecanucks.com/foru...rocessors.html

What are the benefits to using throttlestop vrs XTU?
__________________
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WiFi AC) / i7 8700K / 2X 8G XPG Spectrix D40 (3000) / XFX XTR 750 / ASUS Strix GTX 1070ti
AZZA Titan 240 / Custom WC / Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD / Intel 760p 512GB NVMe / Seagate Barracuda 1TB / ASUS SWIFT PG279Q

Dell Optiplex 3020 / Intel Core i3 i3-4160 / 2 X 4GB DDR3 (Mixed) / Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD/ 24" Westinghouse L2410NM
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 12, 2019, 05:24 PM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 4,699

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Heh.... Posted this and then saw your new thread.... :)

https://www.hardwarecanucks.com/foru...rocessors.html

What are the benefits to using throttlestop vrs XTU?
Haven't used XTU, but from my google fu it seemed there was a few people having issues with XTU not applying things correct after restarts/sleep, and a few complaints. Also, throttlestop seems to have more control. That said, XTU looks more user friendly. Maybe someone else can chime in.
__________________
Desktop: Arc Midi R2, Z77-D3H, 3770@4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, 4x4gb ram, EVGA GTX 1070 Ti SC, Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, MX500 500gb
Away from home: Lenovo Legion Y530, 16gb, i7 8750H, GTX1050Ti
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 12, 2019, 05:28 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 17,638

My System Specs

Default

Heh... I ran XTU, set the offset to -.125, ran a few benchmarks to confirm that the offset was sticking on reboot and that the -.125 was enough to prevent the processor from throttling (although I haven't tested it with a simultaneous GPU load) and was done.

Not sure I want to play much with the GPU, but if you have luck with your curve profile I might be convinced.
__________________
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WiFi AC) / i7 8700K / 2X 8G XPG Spectrix D40 (3000) / XFX XTR 750 / ASUS Strix GTX 1070ti
AZZA Titan 240 / Custom WC / Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD / Intel 760p 512GB NVMe / Seagate Barracuda 1TB / ASUS SWIFT PG279Q

Dell Optiplex 3020 / Intel Core i3 i3-4160 / 2 X 4GB DDR3 (Mixed) / Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD/ 24" Westinghouse L2410NM
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 12, 2019, 05:33 PM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 4,699

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Heh... I ran XTU, set the offset to -.125, ran a few benchmarks to confirm that the offset was sticking on reboot and that the -.125 was enough to prevent the processor from throttling (although I haven't tested it with a simultaneous GPU load) and was done.

Not sure I want to play much with the GPU, but if you have luck with your curve profile I might be convinced.
If you want to play with the GPU, just use afterburner and hit control+f. This brings up the curve and it is just a matter of dragging the dots up slightly...each dot is a voltage/frequency point the gpu follows, so you force it to reach its max freq at a lower voltage. You basically end up with a flat line across the points towards the right of the graph.
__________________
Desktop: Arc Midi R2, Z77-D3H, 3770@4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, 4x4gb ram, EVGA GTX 1070 Ti SC, Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, MX500 500gb
Away from home: Lenovo Legion Y530, 16gb, i7 8750H, GTX1050Ti
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2019, 08:17 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 17,638

My System Specs

Default

Ended up @ -.170V on my i5-8300H which has dropped my CPU full load temps down to 73-74C. Each .010 seemed to give me between 1-2C lower temps so it was definitely worth my while to go in and play beyond the default -.125 I'd started out with.

I noticed you mentioned dropping the max freq while gaming.... how is that set up? Is it by program, or did you peg that setting to something like GPU temp? Is there an option to turn off hyperthreading as opposed to dropping freq? That made a big difference on an older i7 E6420 I played around with a while back.

Still sticking with XTU mainly for ease of use, as well as due to the fact that it works with watchdog and doesn't have to be set up to run on startup like throttlestop, but something like your setting to drop max freq would have to be done on an individual program basis as opposed to a global profile.

edit: Nope... failed pretty quickly on a 3dmark loop.... dropping it down to -.160V :)

edit2: -.160V seems to have done the trick. Looping Firestrike @ 1080p for over an hour shows peak core temp @ 79c, Peak GPU temp @ 65c, and GPU clock running @ 1721 - 1733.
__________________
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WiFi AC) / i7 8700K / 2X 8G XPG Spectrix D40 (3000) / XFX XTR 750 / ASUS Strix GTX 1070ti
AZZA Titan 240 / Custom WC / Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD / Intel 760p 512GB NVMe / Seagate Barracuda 1TB / ASUS SWIFT PG279Q

Dell Optiplex 3020 / Intel Core i3 i3-4160 / 2 X 4GB DDR3 (Mixed) / Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD/ 24" Westinghouse L2410NM

Last edited by sswilson; January 13, 2019 at 10:07 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2019, 11:30 AM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 4,699

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Ended up @ -.170V on my i5-8300H which has dropped my CPU full load temps down to 73-74C. Each .010 seemed to give me between 1-2C lower temps so it was definitely worth my while to go in and play beyond the default -.125 I'd started out with.

I noticed you mentioned dropping the max freq while gaming.... how is that set up? Is it by program, or did you peg that setting to something like GPU temp? Is there an option to turn off hyperthreading as opposed to dropping freq? That made a big difference on an older i7 E6420 I played around with a while back.

Still sticking with XTU mainly for ease of use, as well as due to the fact that it works with watchdog and doesn't have to be set up to run on startup like throttlestop, but something like your setting to drop max freq would have to be done on an individual program basis as opposed to a global profile.

edit: Nope... failed pretty quickly on a 3dmark loop.... dropping it down to -.160V :)

edit2: -.160V seems to have done the trick. Looping Firestrike @ 1080p for over an hour shows peak core temp @ 79c, Peak GPU temp @ 65c, and GPU clock running @ 1721 - 1733.
In throttlestop you can change all the max frequencies...for example by default mine was max 1-2 core 4.1ghz, 3-4 core 3.9 etc....each of those can be lowered to whatever you want in the program. You can also have up to 4 saved profiles. For now I have 3 profiles I am playing with for the sake of it...not sure if I will keep them all or not. One for battery with the lowest performance (won't get the frequency spikes and increased power draw), one for gaming (the one I mentioned earlier), and one with just the undervolt and no other changes for max CPU power. I would say 99% of the time I will use (and have as the default) my gaming setup. The app also lets you set the max TDP (either sustained, and/or short term boost). LOTS of options you can play with...I just haven't too much yet.
__________________
Desktop: Arc Midi R2, Z77-D3H, 3770@4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, 4x4gb ram, EVGA GTX 1070 Ti SC, Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, MX500 500gb
Away from home: Lenovo Legion Y530, 16gb, i7 8750H, GTX1050Ti
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2019, 07:46 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 17,638

My System Specs

Default

Ended up going with Throttlestop after re-installing the OS. For some reason, the offsets I was inputting to XTU weren't sticking this time around.

Throttlestop certainly has a lot more features and functionality, but it sure as hell isn't as easy to use.
__________________
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WiFi AC) / i7 8700K / 2X 8G XPG Spectrix D40 (3000) / XFX XTR 750 / ASUS Strix GTX 1070ti
AZZA Titan 240 / Custom WC / Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD / Intel 760p 512GB NVMe / Seagate Barracuda 1TB / ASUS SWIFT PG279Q

Dell Optiplex 3020 / Intel Core i3 i3-4160 / 2 X 4GB DDR3 (Mixed) / Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD/ 24" Westinghouse L2410NM
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2019, 07:57 PM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 4,699

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Ended up going with Throttlestop after re-installing the OS. For some reason, the offsets I was inputting to XTU weren't sticking this time around.

Throttlestop certainly has a lot more features and functionality, but it sure as hell isn't as easy to use.
Yeah I am surprised it hasnít been made more user friendly, but itís very useful. Clean install to get rid of bloat, or a new drive?
__________________
Desktop: Arc Midi R2, Z77-D3H, 3770@4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, 4x4gb ram, EVGA GTX 1070 Ti SC, Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, MX500 500gb
Away from home: Lenovo Legion Y530, 16gb, i7 8750H, GTX1050Ti
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2019, 08:28 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 17,638

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond007 View Post
Yeah I am surprised it hasnít been made more user friendly, but itís very useful. Clean install to get rid of bloat, or a new drive?
Dell's "support assistant" did some reg cleans and "network optimizations" without requesting specific permission (I did give it permission to run, but never in a thousand years thought it'd be doing things like reg cleaning.... ).

The reg cleaning was followed by 30+ ambiguous notifications about certain file associations being reverted back to windows default, and I was seeing some networking issues so I decided to just go back to a fresh install.
__________________
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WiFi AC) / i7 8700K / 2X 8G XPG Spectrix D40 (3000) / XFX XTR 750 / ASUS Strix GTX 1070ti
AZZA Titan 240 / Custom WC / Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD / Intel 760p 512GB NVMe / Seagate Barracuda 1TB / ASUS SWIFT PG279Q

Dell Optiplex 3020 / Intel Core i3 i3-4160 / 2 X 4GB DDR3 (Mixed) / Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD/ 24" Westinghouse L2410NM
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 & GTX 1050 Ti Preview Comment Thread SKYMTL Video Cards 19 January 27, 2017 04:50 PM
CES 2017: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 & GTX 1050 Ti Laptops Now Available SKYMTL Video Cards 3 January 9, 2017 04:14 PM
The NVIDIA GTX 1050 Ti & GTX 1050 Review Comment Thread SKYMTL Video Cards 25 October 29, 2016 12:28 AM