Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2019, 05:32 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Cana...Frozen Hell...
Posts: 174
Default Msi Tomahawk B350/Ryzen 5 2600

I set a nice modest overclock of 3.8 (x38 multiplier, everything else left at auto) in the bios, but when I boot into windows it's still reading 3.4...
Is this an issue with the Windows system info? When I boot into the bios it reads 3.8 throughout.
I'd rather not get into voltage tweaking and stress testing right now, just want a decent starting point for the next couple years. I see the 2600 topping out at 4.2-4.3, stock 3.4 is just leaving performance on the table imho.

Last edited by mikjames; January 4, 2019 at 06:46 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2019, 07:06 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Chilliwack...Time Is Just A Rubber Band....
Posts: 563
Default

What does CPU-Z say?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2019, 08:53 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Cana...Frozen Hell...
Posts: 174
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Valkyrie View Post
What does CPU-Z say?
Yeah it's showing 3.8 as well. Strange, when I've overclocked in the old days windows would register the change in the control panel system info, I guess that has changed.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2019, 08:48 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 62
Default

Maybe the AMD equivalent of Intel speedstep (cpu slow down when not used). You need to change this option in the bios so that the cpu stays always at the overclocked speed.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2019, 01:24 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Cana...Frozen Hell...
Posts: 174
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by djbrad View Post
Maybe the AMD equivalent of Intel speedstep (cpu slow down when not used). You need to change this option in the bios so that the cpu stays always at the overclocked speed.
Why would I want to do that? If I wanted a power hungry six core beast that requires a leaf blower to keep it cool, I'd put together an Intel 6 core from the previous gen extreme platforms. Cool, quiet, and the performance I need when I need it.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2019, 03:57 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 6,358

My System Specs

Default

What does does CPU-Z say when you run Cinebench...does your CPU ramp up to your OC value?
__________________

Firestrike Extreme: 23.772K
https://www.3dmark.com/fs/17562471
Timespy: 18.613K
MARK 11: 40.185K
https://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/13079691



.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2019, 07:48 PM
Dark Knight's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 657
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikjames View Post
Why would I want to do that? If I wanted a power hungry six core beast that requires a leaf blower to keep it cool, I'd put together an Intel 6 core from the previous gen extreme platforms. Cool, quiet, and the performance I need when I need it.
You don't even have to look to previous gen extreme platforms. You can simply look at Intel's X299 and upcoming X599 platform.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2019, 07:34 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Cana...Frozen Hell...
Posts: 174
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark Knight View Post
You don't even have to look to previous gen extreme platforms. You can simply look at Intel's X299 and upcoming X599 platform.
At least Intel seems to have learned a lesson with all this "de-lidding" nonsense. I'd still be using a 4670k at 4.2ghz if the cover hadn't dropped off from the previous owner's handiwork. I tried to rehabilitate it but I didn't really know what I was doing... I'm not happy about moving to a new platform and losing some single core clock speed, but Kingdom Come Deliverance does appear to benefit from 6 cores, and probably ddr4 as well. Reaper doesn't seem to have an issue utilizing 6 cores either, and it runs a fair amount cooler/more efficiently.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2019, 08:23 AM
Caldezar's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 2,237

My System Specs

Default

I'm confused... why would you "OC" a Ryzen 5 2600 to 3.8 when it already boosts to 3.9 at stock settings? Even OC'ing to 4GHz (which that CPU can get to without issue) yields essentially no benefit in gaming. If you don't go to 4.2, then it really isn't worth it IMO.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 12, 2019, 01:27 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Cana...Frozen Hell...
Posts: 174
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Caldezar View Post
I'm confused... why would you "OC" a Ryzen 5 2600 to 3.8 when it already boosts to 3.9 at stock settings? Even OC'ing to 4GHz (which that CPU can get to without issue) yields essentially no benefit in gaming. If you don't go to 4.2, then it really isn't worth it IMO.
On all 6 cores? I was under the impression that boost technologies only reach top speed when utilizing 1-2 of the cores, not all 6. Granted using all 6 cores is a rarity, and my knowledge of turbo boost may be outdated. The X designated cpus on the other hand do appear to have more advanced automatic overclocking.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ryzen 2000 series cpu with B350 mobo Coach CPU's and Motherboards 30 May 24, 2018 12:04 AM
Ryzen SLI build issue ASUS ROG STRIX B350-F Solace New Builds 2 January 16, 2018 04:29 PM
MSI B350 Tomahawk AM4 Motherboard Review Comment Thread SKYMTL CPU's and Motherboards 3 September 5, 2017 04:59 PM
AM4 B350 MoBo for Ryzen r5 1600 Kresh1k New Builds 10 June 11, 2017 08:23 PM