Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #401 (permalink)  
Old August 22, 2018, 07:06 PM
ipaine's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 2,828

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sagath View Post
I can get 500 at my place through Telus. They just recently (<3 months?) made the option available.

My subdivision is <5 years old.
Ahhh, one of their lovely unadvertised plans. Is that 500/500? And if you don't mind me asking what they wanted for that?
__________________
"Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong."

https://www.evga.com/associates/defa...CUV5OY6FY0U02O
Reply With Quote
  #402 (permalink)  
Old August 22, 2018, 07:35 PM
Sagath's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 3,948

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ipaine View Post
Ahhh, one of their lovely unadvertised plans. Is that 500/500? And if you don't mind me asking what they wanted for that?
Yeah, 500/500. 'Sticker' price was $125/mo on a 2 year commitment.

Quite quickly I opted to keep my 150/150 non contract price the sales rep offered at $70/mo
__________________
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #403 (permalink)  
Old August 22, 2018, 08:27 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 8,840

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sagath View Post
Yeah, 500/500. 'Sticker' price was $125/mo on a 2 year commitment.
That was Bell's price too, until they scrapped the 150, 300 and 500 plans. Now its 50 ($95), 1000 ($100), 1500 ($110) in Ontario at least.
Reply With Quote
  #404 (permalink)  
Old August 22, 2018, 09:12 PM
ipaine's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 2,828

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sagath View Post
Yeah, 500/500. 'Sticker' price was $125/mo on a 2 year commitment.

Quite quickly I opted to keep my 150/150 non contract price the sales rep offered at $70/mo
And this is why it sucks to be in an older area. While I do have great speed for dsl, it is costing more than what you are paying.

This is mine right now, technically a 100/20 plan with unlimited which is about $100/mo
__________________
"Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong."

https://www.evga.com/associates/defa...CUV5OY6FY0U02O
Reply With Quote
  #405 (permalink)  
Old August 23, 2018, 05:24 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 9,257
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JD View Post
That was Bell's price too, until they scrapped the 150, 300 and 500 plans. Now its 50 ($95), 1000 ($100), 1500 ($110) in Ontario at least.
I don't understand why Bell in Ontario sells their fiber internet for what seems significantly less then out East here through Aliant. I can't even buy 50, slowest I can buy is 100 at 95$/month (no deals or offers)
__________________
Here I am: here I remain
Reply With Quote
  #406 (permalink)  
Old October 26, 2018, 01:57 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 8,840

My System Specs

Default

Back to using the HomeHub unfortunately, though still doing PPPoE through it so it's not entirely infecting my network

With the EdgeRouter (8 Pro and 4), even though speed tests would cap at 890Mbps, actual usage (Steam as an example) would cap around 65MB/s (about 520Mbps). Not really beneficial having 1Gbps when only half is being used... Only reason I can come up with is the SFP ONT is actually 2.5Gbps/1.25Gbps, whereas the SFP on the EdgeRouter is only 1Gbps/1Gbps, so there's probably some mismatch going on.

With the HH3000, I can get 115MB/s on Steam, which is basically the limits of Gigabit Ethernet, so all is well...other than having to use this huge box as basically a media converter...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
weird internet speed _dangtx_ Off Topic 16 August 16, 2010 05:48 PM
what is your internet speed. tzetsin Off Topic 70 June 3, 2010 04:09 PM
slow internet speed under windows 7 Kyure Networking 6 March 17, 2010 01:11 PM
Speed up your internet... Squeetard Networking 14 January 13, 2009 12:31 PM
Need High Speed Cable Internet - Please Help Dashock Off Topic 29 April 7, 2008 08:15 PM