Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #311 (permalink)  
Old June 6, 2018, 07:03 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 17,566

My System Specs

Default

https://www.speedtest.net/my-result/...0-c779251dfaca

Name:  300+ internet speed.jpg
Views: 56
Size:  24.5 KB

Probably should have had this months ago when they announced the upgrade to my 150 service but it never showed up and I wasn't all that worried about the difference between 150 and 300 so I didn't bother calling in....

Called in today to see what my options are going to be once my current deal expires at the end of August (told to call back in august) and it appears that my account was "poked" from their end when they pulled it up and I'm finally seeing the higher speeds.... :)
__________________
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WiFi AC) / i7 8700K / 2X 8G XPG Spectrix D40 (3000) / XFX XTR 750 / ASUS Strix GTX 1070ti
AZZA Titan 240 / Custom WC / Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD / Intel 760p 512GB NVMe / Seagate Barracuda 1TB / ASUS SWIFT PG279Q

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 1X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / Uncased 256GB Sandisk Z400S SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 24" Westinghouse L2410NM
Reply With Quote
  #312 (permalink)  
Old June 7, 2018, 11:35 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Red Deer, AB
Posts: 140
Default

I have the Shaw 150/15 unlimited. I hope Telus gets a move on, I'd sure like the Fiber 250/250 unlimited or even the 150/150. I need more upstream bandwidth.
Reply With Quote
  #313 (permalink)  
Old June 7, 2018, 11:46 AM
Mr. Friendly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 1,665

My System Specs

Default

I'm on CityWest Infinity 50, which is 50 down and 5 up.

by end of year, they will have fiber rolled out to all of Prince Rupert and I'll get the 250 / 25.
Reply With Quote
  #314 (permalink)  
Old June 7, 2018, 12:51 PM
Sagath's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 3,740

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cypher^64 View Post
I have the Shaw 150/15 unlimited. I hope Telus gets a move on, I'd sure like the Fiber 250/250 unlimited or even the 150/150. I need more upstream bandwidth.
250/250? Jesus. I'm on the 150/150 plan. Not sure I could even utilize the 250 plan between my wife and I
__________________
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #315 (permalink)  
Old June 7, 2018, 12:57 PM
Mr. Friendly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 1,665

My System Specs

Default

having internet that fast would let you setup a small data center in your basement or spare room! :D
Reply With Quote
  #316 (permalink)  
Old June 7, 2018, 04:43 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is online now
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 8,301

My System Specs

Default

Upgraded to Fibe 500 today:



Still not super happy with Bell's Net Neutrality stuff, but month-to-month I'll save $25 going this way and it's obviously way faster than my former 150/15.
Reply With Quote
  #317 (permalink)  
Old June 7, 2018, 04:56 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 17,566

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JD View Post
Upgraded to Fibe 500 today:



Still not super happy with Bell's Net Neutrality stuff, but month-to-month I'll save $25 going this way and it's obviously way faster than my former 150/15.
Do they prioritize their own content over sources like netflix? (I've got their TV as well so Netflix comes over the IPTV).
__________________
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WiFi AC) / i7 8700K / 2X 8G XPG Spectrix D40 (3000) / XFX XTR 750 / ASUS Strix GTX 1070ti
AZZA Titan 240 / Custom WC / Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD / Intel 760p 512GB NVMe / Seagate Barracuda 1TB / ASUS SWIFT PG279Q

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 1X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / Uncased 256GB Sandisk Z400S SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 24" Westinghouse L2410NM
Reply With Quote
  #318 (permalink)  
Old June 7, 2018, 05:04 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 11,216
Default

Shaws 150/15 promo is ending for me soon so I have to decide if their service is worth $110/month or drop to 75 for $90/month :\
Reply With Quote
  #319 (permalink)  
Old June 7, 2018, 05:24 PM
Mr. Friendly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 1,665

My System Specs

Default

I've loved my Shaw 150 when I had it. :)
Reply With Quote
  #320 (permalink)  
Old June 7, 2018, 07:07 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is online now
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 8,301

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Do they prioritize their own content over sources like netflix? (I've got their TV as well so Netflix comes over the IPTV).
Their TV is prioritized over all other traffic, beyond that, I don't think they've implemented anything else yet (at least not publicly known). But they're all for the content filtering/blocking/etc and have been trying to push it through.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
weird internet speed _dangtx_ Off Topic 16 August 16, 2010 05:48 PM
what is your internet speed. tzetsin Off Topic 70 June 3, 2010 04:09 PM
slow internet speed under windows 7 Kyure Networking 6 March 17, 2010 01:11 PM
Speed up your internet... Squeetard Networking 14 January 13, 2009 12:31 PM
Need High Speed Cable Internet - Please Help Dashock Off Topic 29 April 7, 2008 08:15 PM