Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 26, 2019, 08:34 AM
Mr. Friendly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 2,483

My System Specs

Default audio/video stutter issues

dropping this issue here as I think it's software based. starting the end of last week, my audio and video would start to stutter across all browsers and app's. however, if I close my browsers and clear cache/history/cookies, they start working normally again.

I checked for audio and video updates and there was a video update for my HD630, but that hasn't cured the problem.

thoughts on what could be going on?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 26, 2019, 08:48 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 144
Default

I have had audio issues in the past bad enough to cause blue screens... if your video card has HDMI ports and your not using the audio out (ie TV) from those ports try disabling the video cards audio drivers. That immediately fixed the issues I was having, the video cards, onboard audio, and dedicated sound card were not getting along together.
__________________
2700X Heatkiller, CH7 Hero, 1080ti Heatkiller, 32GB Ram, 2x500GB WD Black NVMe, Dual 1080 rads, dual D5S pumps.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 26, 2019, 09:01 AM
Mr. Friendly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 2,483

My System Specs

Default

I'm using the Intel HD630 onboard my 7600K and DP out on my Asus H170 Gaming Pro motherboard.

Last edited by Mr. Friendly; June 26, 2019 at 10:48 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 26, 2019, 12:10 PM
Sagath's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 3,948

My System Specs

Default

I had an issue with chrome stuttering. Disable all addons, still did it.

Ended up moving to Firefox and it worked fine...I'd say check your addons and start from there
__________________
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 26, 2019, 01:19 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,069

My System Specs

Default

bandwidth problems with your Internet ? or is it the same site doing this. as suggested above if it is web browsers I would also turn off all the plugins and go from there .
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 26, 2019, 01:32 PM
Mr. Friendly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 2,483

My System Specs

Default

I literally use nothing...only plugin I have is for Webroot and the only extension I have is for Shockwave, but it's set to only operate when asked, however it was updated this month, so I've disabled it to see if that changes anything.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 26, 2019, 01:33 PM
Mr. Friendly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 2,483

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadowmeph View Post
bandwidth problems with your Internet ? or is it the same site doing this. as suggested above if it is web browsers I would also turn off all the plugins and go from there .

it's across all browsers and app's when whatever happens, happens. affects my Skype and Teams notifications, any YouTube videos, Spotify playback etc. but no lag/latency with the rest of the PC. everything responds as it should when jumping apps or cycling tabs.



won't be the internet...250Mb/s down and 20mb/s up.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 26, 2019, 01:44 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 4,209
Default

What are the chances you have the motherboard manufacturer's network optimization software installed? When I had a board with a KillerNIC, the software caused all kinds of issues. Same with Asus TurboLAN. That kind of enhancement only ever makes stuff worse...
__________________
The Vortex H20

Corsair Obsidian 500D
Asus X99-E WS/USB3.1
i7-5820K @4.4GHZ
RTX 2070
4x8GB Corsair LPX 2666MHZ
Thermaltake Toughpower 850W GOLD
960GB ADATA SX8200 NVME
HP OMEN 32 1440p 75hz

Benq W1070 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK Vector RTX2080 FC, EK Coolstream XT 220 Rad, MCR320 Rad, EK-XTOP SPC-60 Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 26, 2019, 01:46 PM
Mr. Friendly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 2,483

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cptn Vortex View Post
What are the chances you have the motherboard manufacturer's network optimization software installed? When I had a board with a KillerNIC, the software caused all kinds of issues. Same with Asus TurboLAN. That kind of enhancement only ever makes stuff worse...

doubtful, as when I clear my browser cache/history/cookies using Ccleaner, the issue disappears.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old June 26, 2019, 02:50 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 8,840

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cptn Vortex View Post
What are the chances you have the motherboard manufacturer's network optimization software installed? When I had a board with a KillerNIC, the software caused all kinds of issues. Same with Asus TurboLAN. That kind of enhancement only ever makes stuff worse...
I recently picked up a Aquantia AQN-107 since I have got a ES-16-XG switch. Their software, while a bit ugly, seems to work fine actually. Definitely better than the Killer software on my AW laptop. It does seem to limit my overall speeds to about 860/650 instead of 940/750, but things generally load quicker than the onboard Intel i211/i218 NIC.

Highly subjective and could be totally placebo, but Destiny 2 seems to play better now too when in PvP activities. My KDR seems better on average.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Win10 VIA Audio Issues atr3yu O/S's, Drivers & General Software 3 March 10, 2016 10:19 AM
Major audio issues with motherboard/video? 2NR Troubleshooting 2 July 30, 2014 10:18 PM
new case with HD audio plug. some audio & LED light issues On2wheels Audio 5 January 17, 2014 05:31 PM
Crosshair V audio issues tianfeng Troubleshooting 13 September 29, 2011 04:25 AM
audio issues! ultraman7k Troubleshooting 8 August 6, 2011 05:07 AM