Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2019, 08:47 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 115

My System Specs

Default W10 User objects have no location tab

Tried moving all my \User objects to H:\DAVE on my data drive but 3 remain and have no location tab to use the 'Move' button. 3DObjects is one. Favorites I now have a folder in each location, but the one in C:\User has no location tab. My OneDrive folder also has no tab. How can I 'move' these?

One tip says to open Explorer to see where a folder is located. A search for Favorites yields:
C:\Users\Mac20\AppData
C:\Windows\WinSxS (2 of these)
C:\Users\Default
C:\Windows.old\Users\Default User and
C:\Windows.old\Users\Default
plus 2 shortcuts.

Thought a W10 install overwrote my old XP. The Windows.old has no users, only empty folders. I should be able to delete these, right? They serve no purpose.

Well, the C:\Users\Default obviously shows where a Favorites folder exists. Why would another one appear in H:\DAVE if it hasn't been moved there? And how can I move these last three?


Appreciate any help as I'm in the weeds here...




Thank you,


Mac
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2019, 10:40 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 8,779

My System Specs

Default

3D Objects is movable, not sure why yours doesn't have the Move tab. The Favorites folder left behind in C should no longer be used either, mines remained empty, though I don't use Internet Explorer anyhow (only browser that uses that folder I believe).

OneDrive, if you use it, you can change it during the initial setup. So you'll need to unlink your account first and re-login. Near the end where it says "this is your OneDrive folder" there should be a "change location" button.

As for the Windows.old, run Disk Cleanup first, that should hopefully remove it. If not, then yes, you can try manually deleting. Sometimes it won't let you though.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2019, 10:43 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 17,880

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JD View Post
3D Objects is movable, not sure why yours doesn't have the Move tab. The Favorites folder left behind in C should no longer be used either, mines remained empty, though I don't use Internet Explorer anyhow (only browser that uses that folder I believe).

OneDrive, if you use it, you can change it during the initial setup. So you'll need to unlink your account first and re-login. Near the end where it says "this is your OneDrive folder" there should be a "change location" button.

As for the Windows.old, run Disk Cleanup first, that should hopefully remove it. If not, then yes, you can try manually deleting. Sometimes it won't let you though.
Pretty sure (but not absolutely positive) that you have to select "clean up system files" from within disk cleanup to see the option to remove old windows versions.
__________________
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WiFi AC) / i7 8700K / 2X 8G XPG Spectrix D40 (3000) / XFX XTR 750 / ASUS Strix GTX 1070ti
AZZA Titan 240 / Custom WC / Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD / Intel 760p 512GB NVMe / Seagate Barracuda 1TB / ASUS SWIFT PG279Q
Dell Optiplex 3020 / Intel Core i3 i3-4160 / EVGA GT 1030 SC / 6GB DDR3 / Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD/ Samsung 27" 1080p (Curved)
Dell G3 - i5 8300H / HP EX920 512GB NVME / 2X8GB HyperX Impact / 1TB SSHD / GTX 1050ti / N156HHE-GA1 120HZ Monitor
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2019, 11:16 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 115

My System Specs

Default

Thanks guys. Ran Cleanup & no more .old files. Ran a search and see a Favorites in C:\Uses\Default but none show in C:\Mac20 (my User). Won't worry about 3D Objects or OneDrive so I'll 'build' my Data partition finally.


Thank you profusely for the responses.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2019, 04:38 AM
Lysrin's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,993

My System Specs

Default

Good answers here as always. Any reason not to use Disk Cleanup and use the Windows Update Cleanup? No reason to keep those old updates around is there? 3.86 GB used on my system currently; not much but still.
__________________
i7 8700K @ 4.8GHz (Swiftech H220) | ASUS Maximus X Code | 32GB Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro DDR4-3200 | ASUS ROG GTX 1080 Ti Strix OC ver. | EX920 512GB, MX100 512GB, MX300 2TB | EVGA Supernova 850W G2 | Meshify C | Mayflower Electronics O2+ODAC, USB sound for mic, Sennheiser PC360 SE | Acer Predator X34, BenQ 21.5" | Windows 10 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2019, 05:59 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 17,880

My System Specs

Default

I can't remember ever having an issue using the built-in Windows disk cleanup programs. On occasion they seem to hang during a big systems file cleanup, but that's usually resolved by closing the program and re-running it.
__________________
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WiFi AC) / i7 8700K / 2X 8G XPG Spectrix D40 (3000) / XFX XTR 750 / ASUS Strix GTX 1070ti
AZZA Titan 240 / Custom WC / Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD / Intel 760p 512GB NVMe / Seagate Barracuda 1TB / ASUS SWIFT PG279Q
Dell Optiplex 3020 / Intel Core i3 i3-4160 / EVGA GT 1030 SC / 6GB DDR3 / Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD/ Samsung 27" 1080p (Curved)
Dell G3 - i5 8300H / HP EX920 512GB NVME / 2X8GB HyperX Impact / 1TB SSHD / GTX 1050ti / N156HHE-GA1 120HZ Monitor
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2019, 08:53 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 8,779

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lysrin View Post
Good answers here as always. Any reason not to use Disk Cleanup and use the Windows Update Cleanup? No reason to keep those old updates around is there? 3.86 GB used on my system currently; not much but still.
It means you can't uninstall the patches once ran, so up to you if that's a concern or not
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
windows 10

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Core X9 rad location bjohannes Water Cooling 11 April 2, 2017 09:20 AM
Looking for a Lan location in Montreal Llew Canadian LAN Parties & Events 1 April 30, 2013 04:42 PM
store location Raftus Hardware Canucks Store 4 May 25, 2011 01:39 PM
Disapear Objects from Live Video Thund3rball Off Topic 1 November 3, 2010 09:17 AM
Radiator / Pump location Fudd Rucker Water Cooling 20 December 6, 2009 04:40 PM