Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 1, 2017, 02:05 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,355
Default Win 7 to Win 10

Back when it was possible to do the upgrade for free, I did it. I used it, but approaching the deadline (in 2016 I think) to rollback, I decided to rollback.

Essentially, I did not find much advantage of using Win 10 over Win 7. On top of that, I ran into some problems regarding wifi that I did not care to fix.

Since then, I had in mind that I was just going to keep using Win 7 on my laptop.

Now, I just read that it was still possible to "uprade" until December 2017 if you say you use technology of assistance.

Should I make the switch at last or stick to Win 7 until death does us part.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 1, 2017, 02:16 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 17,795

My System Specs

Default

Couple of things.....

There's no need to use the technology assistance upgrade option. If you did the free upgrade and rolled back, your laptop is registered for automatic W10 activation. Just do a fresh install and select "I don't have an activation code" when it asks for one and it will pick up the digital license on its own.

Secondly.... MS has left a "loophole" open that allows a fresh W10 install using the auth code of a previously "unused for upgrade" auth code. Best guess is that they're still pushing for the highest possible adoption rate and are turning a blind eye to the "loophole". Once W10 is installed and activated in this manner that particular hardware will pick up the digital license for any subsequent fresh installs.
__________________
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WiFi AC) / i7 8700K / 2X 8G XPG Spectrix D40 (3000) / XFX XTR 750 / ASUS Strix GTX 1070ti
AZZA Titan 240 / Custom WC / Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD / Intel 760p 512GB NVMe / Seagate Barracuda 1TB / ASUS SWIFT PG279Q
Dell Optiplex 3020 / Intel Core i3 i3-4160 / EVGA GT 1030 SC / 6GB DDR3 / Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD/ Samsung 27" 1080p (Curved)
Dell G3 - i5 8300H / HP EX920 512GB NVME / 2X8GB HyperX Impact / 1TB SSHD / GTX 1050ti / N156HHE-GA1 120HZ Monitor
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 1, 2017, 02:31 PM
LionRed's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Dargaville, New Zealand
Posts: 491
Default

Just a week ago I installed Win10 on a system and used my Win7 key -- worked fine.
__________________
They say you can tell how rich a man's life has been, by how many dogs he has had in it.

RIP Kiwi - Oct 19th/05 - April 18th/11, you will always be our puppy!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 1, 2017, 06:39 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,355
Default

I actually had a problem when I rolled back. It said my license was no longer valid or something. Pissed the hell out of me. I had to call MS and if I recall right, after a lot of arguing about being screwed over despite having the right to revert back to Win 7 (I was in the delays), the guy finally made "an exception" and gave me another key if I recall properly.

But my question was more along the lines of is it worth it now if I will never have DX12 GPU on this laptop... And I guess the security updates in 2020 when Win 7 is no longer supported.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 1, 2017, 06:43 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 8,651

My System Specs

Default

Windows 10 at launch vs Windows 10 today is vastly different. They've worked out most of the kinks now IMO and it's a whole lot better than it was. I would say give it another shot.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 1, 2017, 06:47 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 2,928

My System Specs

Default

https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/acce...ndows10upgrade

There ya go :) anyone can still update to windows 10, for now.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 1, 2017, 07:36 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,355
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by supaflyx3 View Post
https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/acce...ndows10upgrade

There ya go :) anyone can still update to windows 10, for now.
Yes that is what I was referring to in my original post.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 1, 2017, 07:41 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 2,928

My System Specs

Default

I should learn to read
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes