Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 21, 2017, 04:38 PM
Caldezar's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Edmonton Area
Posts: 2,244

My System Specs

Default Win 10 Home to Pro... How simple?

If I want a laptop that only appears to be available with Windows 10 Home, but I need to convert it to Windows 10 Pro; how simple is it to make that conversion? I already have a Pro key I can use, so is it just a matter of changing they key in the system window? Or would I need to do a whole new install?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 21, 2017, 04:46 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 17,790

My System Specs

Default

You don't need to do a full install. I just did this with a refurb that had home on it and it worked fine. Pretty sure it's the "change product key or upgrade your edition of windows" selection.

All I did was input a pro eligible key (W7 Ultimate) and it did the rest on the existing "home" install.
__________________
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WiFi AC) / i7 8700K / 2X 8G XPG Spectrix D40 (3000) / XFX XTR 750 / ASUS Strix GTX 1070ti
AZZA Titan 240 / Custom WC / Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD / Intel 760p 512GB NVMe / Seagate Barracuda 1TB / ASUS SWIFT PG279Q
Dell Optiplex 3020 / Intel Core i3 i3-4160 / EVGA GT 1030 SC / 6GB DDR3 / Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD/ Samsung 27" 1080p (Curved)
Dell G3 - i5 8300H / HP EX920 512GB NVME / 2X8GB HyperX Impact / 1TB SSHD / GTX 1050ti / N156HHE-GA1 120HZ Monitor
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 21, 2017, 08:06 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 4,006
Default

yes then update with pro key enterd
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 22, 2017, 11:33 AM
Caldezar's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Edmonton Area
Posts: 2,244

My System Specs

Default

Sweet! I love it when a plan comes together...

Now to decide if the MSI Stealth Pro truly is the laptop for me.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 22, 2017, 04:36 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 8,648

My System Specs

Default

Yeah, and if you want to test before buying, just use the default key (a quick Google will find that for you).
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Probably simple... gimark Troubleshooting 4 March 25, 2013 03:29 PM
Simple question? BrutalGreen Cases 3 June 24, 2011 01:20 PM
Hopefully A Simple one Soultribunal Troubleshooting 4 March 27, 2009 07:35 PM
Simple Question Scutum_Deus CPU's and Motherboards 8 September 22, 2008 06:31 AM
Who is using nTunes and is there something better thats simple? Canadianguy Video Cards 4 December 3, 2007 08:14 AM