Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old February 3, 2019, 02:05 AM
LionRed's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Dargaville, New Zealand
Posts: 491
Default

Dahua (Dahua Starlight for good night time picture quality) or Hikvision. Both work easily enough with Blue Iris.


From over at ipcamtalk - "note - some of the lorex kits sold at Costco are Dahua OEM though w/o the Dahua IVS features - some are not and are from another OEM which I have not yet read which OEM they are."


BlueIris/Dahua Cam pic down at the shed --
Attached Images
 
__________________
They say you can tell how rich a man's life has been, by how many dogs he has had in it.

RIP Kiwi - Oct 19th/05 - April 18th/11, you will always be our puppy!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old February 3, 2019, 01:19 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: GTA, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 233

My System Specs

Default

https://www.ebay.ca/itm/2MP-Eyeball-...BeSN:rk:6:pf:0

I would like to try hikvision because of the comments. This looks cheap. Only wired and comes with an AC adapter.

I have a spot to put it near my HTPC looking out into the lviing room connected to the swtich near the PC servier running Blue Iris.

IS it a good deal on ebay? Or could someone sell me their unused used one?
__________________
Gone mobile and back to Gaming to LEARN! :p
Laptop: Dell G5 i5-8300H, 16GB, 1050 4GB, Samsung EVO 970 500GB+EVO 860 500GB, Microsoft Sculpt Comfort Mouse
Gaming PC: i7-2600K, 32GB, EVGA 1070 8GB, Crucial BX500 250GB, WD 4TB, ASUS Xonar DX playing just CS:GO and some StarCraft 2
HTPC/Server: See "My System Specs". I also use it to virtualize an instance of Windows to my mobile devices.
Graphics Designer and Tech Journalist @ www.RealHardwareReviews.com ID: eyetrance
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old February 4, 2019, 02:06 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: GTA, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 233

My System Specs

Default

Where does everyone buy their IP Security Cameras from when buying Hikvision? eBay.ca? or is there a better alternative?
__________________
Gone mobile and back to Gaming to LEARN! :p
Laptop: Dell G5 i5-8300H, 16GB, 1050 4GB, Samsung EVO 970 500GB+EVO 860 500GB, Microsoft Sculpt Comfort Mouse
Gaming PC: i7-2600K, 32GB, EVGA 1070 8GB, Crucial BX500 250GB, WD 4TB, ASUS Xonar DX playing just CS:GO and some StarCraft 2
HTPC/Server: See "My System Specs". I also use it to virtualize an instance of Windows to my mobile devices.
Graphics Designer and Tech Journalist @ www.RealHardwareReviews.com ID: eyetrance
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old February 4, 2019, 05:17 PM
Mr. Friendly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 2,103

My System Specs

Default

I've heard Dahua is about the same as Hikvision for quality but comes with better user support than Hikvision. as I mentioned, Hikvision won't support end user unless it's warranty. all technical assistance has to come from their reseller.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old February 25, 2019, 08:59 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: GTA, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 233

My System Specs

Default

So now I have 9 cameras ... 3x3 grid which is nice. My crappy Belkin N600 router dedicated to the cameras (also Smart plugs and google home minis) can not keep up with 4 wifi N cameras streaming to Blue Iris.

I bought an open boxed Foscam C1 lite which eats up all the bandwidth I think lol

I bought a used Trendnet camera and I am quite pleased with it (2015 model) Took a damn long time to arrive because of lazy ebay shippers.. I had to ask 2 times until they shipped it finally...

The plastics on the Trendnet is solid and looks top notch. Makes it look premium lol

Should I separate the IP cameras to its own AP? If so what should I buy for 3x480p and one 720p?
__________________
Gone mobile and back to Gaming to LEARN! :p
Laptop: Dell G5 i5-8300H, 16GB, 1050 4GB, Samsung EVO 970 500GB+EVO 860 500GB, Microsoft Sculpt Comfort Mouse
Gaming PC: i7-2600K, 32GB, EVGA 1070 8GB, Crucial BX500 250GB, WD 4TB, ASUS Xonar DX playing just CS:GO and some StarCraft 2
HTPC/Server: See "My System Specs". I also use it to virtualize an instance of Windows to my mobile devices.
Graphics Designer and Tech Journalist @ www.RealHardwareReviews.com ID: eyetrance
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2019, 03:06 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: GTA, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 233

My System Specs

Default

I finally wired up most of my IP cameras and the viewing is solid now.
Now only one HD camera and one VGA wireless.

From now on I will try to get wired cameras just or the sake of best connections.
I am ordering 2 more cameras. TrendNet VGA ones from China. I hope they are as advertised. Trendnet has been good to me and my boss.
https://www.ebay.ca/itm/TRENDnet-Wir...72.m2749.l2649
__________________
Gone mobile and back to Gaming to LEARN! :p
Laptop: Dell G5 i5-8300H, 16GB, 1050 4GB, Samsung EVO 970 500GB+EVO 860 500GB, Microsoft Sculpt Comfort Mouse
Gaming PC: i7-2600K, 32GB, EVGA 1070 8GB, Crucial BX500 250GB, WD 4TB, ASUS Xonar DX playing just CS:GO and some StarCraft 2
HTPC/Server: See "My System Specs". I also use it to virtualize an instance of Windows to my mobile devices.
Graphics Designer and Tech Journalist @ www.RealHardwareReviews.com ID: eyetrance
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2019, 06:43 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,749

My System Specs

Default

A separate AP if it's wired otherwise it's the same wireless bandwidth.

Quote:
Originally Posted by justmehereajax View Post
So now I have 9 cameras ... 3x3 grid which is nice. My crappy Belkin N600 router dedicated to the cameras (also Smart plugs and google home minis) can not keep up with 4 wifi N cameras streaming to Blue Iris.

I bought an open boxed Foscam C1 lite which eats up all the bandwidth I think lol

I bought a used Trendnet camera and I am quite pleased with it (2015 model) Took a damn long time to arrive because of lazy ebay shippers.. I had to ask 2 times until they shipped it finally...

The plastics on the Trendnet is solid and looks top notch. Makes it look premium lol

Should I separate the IP cameras to its own AP? If so what should I buy for 3x480p and one 720p?
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2019, 06:45 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,749

My System Specs

Default

Pretty sure you can only get them through an installation company. I get mine through a friend with his license. His cost is 200 so there's gonna be a mark up.

Quote:
Originally Posted by justmehereajax View Post
Where does everyone buy their IP Security Cameras from when buying Hikvision? eBay.ca? or is there a better alternative?
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VStarcam IP cameras from CC; are they any good? justmehereajax Off Topic 6 January 8, 2018 10:06 AM
Need good wireless ip cameras Shadowarez Peripherals 9 December 15, 2017 08:56 PM
What is a good reliable ssd brand to go with. Swift Assassin Storage 32 October 4, 2014 11:38 AM
Galaxy GTX 680 GC 4GB good brand? Katk89 Video Cards 20 October 18, 2012 03:58 PM
Good DVD brand Kilauea Storage 20 August 22, 2009 03:02 AM