Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old May 20, 2010, 07:45 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,691
Default

connect one pc to the modem and observe. nothing else, no router,switches,grandmothers nor beavers

test your connection properly, see whats being lost, etc. you will find soemthing.

4mb...it can load pages..10 secs? depending on the page..can be but thats slow.

your modem might have a way do diagnose if you access it. call them right away when the issue starts.

during the day me linux distros suffer on p2p a great deal..after a certain hour at night, full open..called them many times....no official explanation :)
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old June 9, 2010, 02:52 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 94
Default

Traffic shaping - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia


Quote:
Originally Posted by hohohee View Post
how to solve a slug speed every after noon?

i got cable connection. my connection goes beyond slow every 12pm to 4:30pm like when i play games online on my ps3.... in the middle of a fight and got disconnect and i got in back then disconnect in middle of fight again. same goes to pc gaming when i play mmorpgs.... i rapidly get disconnect and when i surf the web it is very slow like takes 10sec to load a page or sometimes dont load at all.

i check speedtest . net and i got 4mb! usually i supose to get 24mb or something. its like someone is controlling my connection! like ok lets make his connection goes berserk at 12 to 4:30 its like remote slow.

i thought it might be normal to be slow when theres alot of people caus cable share speed... people get off work and go to internet and kids get off school and play with internet... but then the slow happend at the time when kids and people still at work and school. 12pm. weekday. so its not normal.



question :
also theres some broadband site that has isp employee representive.... i heard we can give our mac address to them and they can check whats wrong... is it safe to give them mac address? is mac address personal? if not, how do i look for my mac address? how do i know what mac address i have?

question:
also i forgot how to go to router page setting... i have to type some url or something... i forgot... how do i get to the setting page for my router?
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old June 13, 2010, 02:53 AM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 2,971

My System Specs

Default

Call up your ISP and see if its a problem on their end or yours. If it's yours ask them to come check your lines, the should replace them and give you a new modem to try, if it still happens chances are they oversell.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Painting MX518 Logitech Mouse with "Carbon Fiber" Effect Mnpctech Guides & How-to's 18 November 11, 2009 04:11 PM
[WTB] 1/2" "T" fitting for watercooling Toronto122 Buy/Sell & Trade 5 February 26, 2009 10:38 AM
"Girly" 2.5" IDE Enclosures encorp Storage 13 July 14, 2008 09:19 AM
Transcend Introduces High-Speed 64GB 2.5" SSD MAC Press Releases & Tech News 0 June 24, 2008 01:37 PM