Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Mobile Computing

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2019, 01:06 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 17,736

My System Specs

Default Chromecast + Bell Fibe app?

Bell has announced chromecast support for their Bell Fibe app.... anybody out there with both Fibe TV and a Chromecast who can test it out to see if it works?
__________________
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WiFi AC) / i7 8700K / 2X 8G XPG Spectrix D40 (3000) / XFX XTR 750 / ASUS Strix GTX 1070ti
AZZA Titan 240 / Custom WC / Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD / Intel 760p 512GB NVMe / Seagate Barracuda 1TB / ASUS SWIFT PG279Q

Dell Optiplex 3020 / Intel Core i3 i3-4160 / EVGA GT 1030 SC (Half Height) / 2 X 4GB DDR3 (Mixed) / Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD/ 24" Westinghouse L2410NM
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2019, 01:58 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,746

My System Specs

Default

Works fine with my Telus fibre.
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2019, 02:00 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 17,736

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clshades View Post
Works fine with my Telus fibre.
Cool, so the app loads and gets you access to your tv programming the same as a set top box would?

This would be handy... my MiBox 3 is driving me nuts... there's a bug that prevents it from waking after sleep. The only downside would be the lack of a physical remote for the chromecast.
__________________
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WiFi AC) / i7 8700K / 2X 8G XPG Spectrix D40 (3000) / XFX XTR 750 / ASUS Strix GTX 1070ti
AZZA Titan 240 / Custom WC / Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD / Intel 760p 512GB NVMe / Seagate Barracuda 1TB / ASUS SWIFT PG279Q

Dell Optiplex 3020 / Intel Core i3 i3-4160 / EVGA GT 1030 SC (Half Height) / 2 X 4GB DDR3 (Mixed) / Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD/ 24" Westinghouse L2410NM
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2019, 02:26 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 9,225
Default

If you want a remote, you could get one of the Amazon FireSticks. They come with the Bell Fibre app pre-installed and as long as it's on your home network you can access everything that's on your account (aka including your PVR) from it. I know several people at work who use them vs a second Bell receiver at their home.
__________________
Here I am: here I remain
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2019, 02:32 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 17,736

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arinoth View Post
If you want a remote, you could get one of the Amazon FireSticks. They come with the Bell Fibre app pre-installed and as long as it's on your home network you can access everything that's on your account (aka including your PVR) from it. I know several people at work who use them vs a second Bell receiver at their home.
Cool!!! I wasn't aware that the firestick had the bell fibe app installed. That's exactly the functionality / pricepoint I'm looking for.

edit: Is it the basic version that they have, or do they have a 4K version? (I only need 1080p)
__________________
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WiFi AC) / i7 8700K / 2X 8G XPG Spectrix D40 (3000) / XFX XTR 750 / ASUS Strix GTX 1070ti
AZZA Titan 240 / Custom WC / Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD / Intel 760p 512GB NVMe / Seagate Barracuda 1TB / ASUS SWIFT PG279Q

Dell Optiplex 3020 / Intel Core i3 i3-4160 / EVGA GT 1030 SC (Half Height) / 2 X 4GB DDR3 (Mixed) / Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD/ 24" Westinghouse L2410NM

Last edited by sswilson; March 5, 2019 at 02:37 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2019, 03:46 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 17,736

My System Specs

Default

Well now... that seems to work fine.... :)

All I need now is a good piece of thick black electrical tape to cover alexa's microphone port.....
__________________
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WiFi AC) / i7 8700K / 2X 8G XPG Spectrix D40 (3000) / XFX XTR 750 / ASUS Strix GTX 1070ti
AZZA Titan 240 / Custom WC / Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD / Intel 760p 512GB NVMe / Seagate Barracuda 1TB / ASUS SWIFT PG279Q

Dell Optiplex 3020 / Intel Core i3 i3-4160 / EVGA GT 1030 SC (Half Height) / 2 X 4GB DDR3 (Mixed) / Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD/ 24" Westinghouse L2410NM
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 6, 2019, 07:54 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 9,225
Default

I only had experience with the 4k Version but I figured the standard 1080p should work for you too. Glad to hear it is. I'm not sure, but I think the microphone only works when you hit the button for it to listen to you.
__________________
Here I am: here I remain
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 6, 2019, 08:04 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 17,736

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arinoth View Post
I only had experience with the 4k Version but I figured the standard 1080p should work for you too. Glad to hear it is. I'm not sure, but I think the microphone only works when you hit the button for it to listen to you.
That's what they tell us.... nudge, nudge, wink, wink...... :)

Actually... it appears it only works while you have the microphone button pressed down, unlike the android TV version which appears to have a set time that it listens after you press the button.
__________________
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WiFi AC) / i7 8700K / 2X 8G XPG Spectrix D40 (3000) / XFX XTR 750 / ASUS Strix GTX 1070ti
AZZA Titan 240 / Custom WC / Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD / Intel 760p 512GB NVMe / Seagate Barracuda 1TB / ASUS SWIFT PG279Q

Dell Optiplex 3020 / Intel Core i3 i3-4160 / EVGA GT 1030 SC (Half Height) / 2 X 4GB DDR3 (Mixed) / Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD/ 24" Westinghouse L2410NM
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bell Gigabit Fibe JD Networking 2 June 26, 2015 09:03 AM
Chromecast comes to Canada? sswilson Press Releases & Tech News 7 March 20, 2014 09:52 AM
Thoughts on Chromecast? Caldezar Press Releases & Tech News 9 July 24, 2013 05:36 PM
The all new (not so new) palm pre with Bell muse108dc Off Topic 0 August 28, 2009 08:02 PM
Bell/Sympatico Fun Arinoth Networking 1 July 13, 2009 02:50 PM