Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Mobile Computing

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old November 4, 2018, 11:43 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,751

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisk View Post
LineageOS seems to be the ROM of choice these days, but it seems there are a few other ROMs on XDA that are more popular right now:

https://forum.xda-developers.com/galaxy-s7

Canada has the Exynos version by default (make sure you grab the right one).

Thanks for the tip.
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old November 5, 2018, 05:42 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 11,391
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clshades View Post
Thanks for the tip.
My S7 is is running Lineage without issues.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old November 6, 2018, 07:04 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,751

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
My S7 is is running Lineage without issues.
How's the performance and battery life?
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old November 6, 2018, 08:33 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 11,391
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clshades View Post
How's the performance and battery life?
Well considering the age of the phone.. Depending on how much I use it during the day.. Some days I need to charge every evening.. other days I can usually go a day and a bit.

My only gripe with Lineage is that when the screen dims it can change the color tone and I haven't found a way to fix that.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old November 6, 2018, 08:39 AM
Lpfan4ever's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary
Posts: 3,126

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
My only gripe with Lineage is that when the screen dims it can change the color tone and I haven't found a way to fix that.
Give this a shot - https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...vito.lux&hl=en
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by encorp
I don't know, maybe if you get a big enough compacticator you can put it in your butt and name yourself "sexbuttplug"...
Code:
<martin_metal_88> I think I am gonna sell my server
...
<firebane> i will offer pereniums mom
<firebane> slightly used
<Keltron> slightly is an understatement
<LPfan4ever> Who're you kidding...slightly?
<martin_metal_88> peri's mom, slightly used? lol...

Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old November 8, 2018, 07:05 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,751

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
Well considering the age of the phone.. Depending on how much I use it during the day.. Some days I need to charge every evening.. other days I can usually go a day and a bit.

My only gripe with Lineage is that when the screen dims it can change the color tone and I haven't found a way to fix that.

Yeh I can't even get through the day. And I'm not doing much really.
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old November 8, 2018, 08:21 AM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,614
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clshades View Post
Yeh I can't even get through the day. And I'm not doing much really.
I have one that was replaced by Samsung that bootlooped shortly after...if you are the type to take the phone apart to swap the battery I could send you the dead phone I have, just pay shipping (I would suggest after the Canada Post strike). Otherwise you could pop a new one in yourself to breathe some life in it). Send me a PM if you want it and want to try a repair.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old November 14, 2018, 05:42 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,751

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisk View Post
I have one that was replaced by Samsung that bootlooped shortly after...if you are the type to take the phone apart to swap the battery I could send you the dead phone I have, just pay shipping (I would suggest after the Canada Post strike). Otherwise you could pop a new one in yourself to breathe some life in it). Send me a PM if you want it and want to try a repair.
I just saw this. I'll get in touch with you soon. Worth a try!
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old November 14, 2018, 11:36 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,043

My System Specs

Default

I am not sure if I can upgrade my rooted Samsung SM-G386W core I tried at the Samsung firmware but it wont let me because my phone is root. there was a web site but i don't remember which one
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old November 14, 2018, 12:02 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 11,391
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadowmeph View Post
I am not sure if I can upgrade my rooted Samsung SM-G386W core I tried at the Samsung firmware but it wont let me because my phone is root. there was a web site but i don't remember which one
You can't do OTA updates.

You can go back to stock and then update to your hearts content and then root etc again.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
rooting I9100M with 4.1.2 bissa Mobile Computing 4 February 27, 2013 04:22 PM
Brand New Samsung Y Pro Duos: Rooting? Busybox? Warranty Void? shravanthirk Mobile Computing 0 June 14, 2012 01:51 AM
Android performance doubled; coming to CM9 soon [Talk Android] chrisk Mobile Computing 3 June 11, 2012 03:58 PM
Rooting Galaxy S2 help please Dx10fly Mobile Computing 0 February 27, 2012 11:14 AM
LG Optimus One Rooting Question (Bootloader) jcmaz Mobile Computing 4 August 11, 2011 09:26 AM