Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > HTPC Systems & Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2019, 12:14 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 17,790

My System Specs

Default Estimated Bell 4K receiver/PVR bandwidth?

Not really expecting a definitive answer, but maybe folks who stream content from plex servers might have an idea....

Just got my hands on a set of 1GB powerline bricks and the first (most convenient) pairing of outlets is coming back as just under 100 Mbps on speedtest. I'm going to check out other outlets, but this is an older house so that might be the best case scenario for my wiring.

Here's the question.... I want to plug my Bell 4K receiver/PVR into that ethernet connection and am wondering if I'll have enough bandwidth to support 4K streaming on that TV as well as multiple simultaneous 720p recordings (it's either max of 3 or 4) and multiple viewings of recorded content.

Any thoughts? Arinoth pointed out netflix's min 15/ideal 25 Mbps for their 4K content, but this is possibly 8 720p streams on top of that. Based on Arinoth's info I'm strongly leaning towards it not being an issue, but it never hurts to get more than one or two opinions.

edit: Found a relatively convenient outlet pairing that's giving me a pretty solid 140+ Mbps both up and down. Assuming there's nothing on the line that might interfere with the signal, I doubt very much I'd be able to saturate that no matter how many streams I try to watch.

It's also been suggested that bell fibe's recorded content now resides in the cloud as opposed to on the PVR. If that's the case then concerns about internal streaming of the recorded content would be negligible.
__________________
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WiFi AC) / i7 8700K / 2X 8G XPG Spectrix D40 (3000) / XFX XTR 750 / ASUS Strix GTX 1070ti
AZZA Titan 240 / Custom WC / Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD / Intel 760p 512GB NVMe / Seagate Barracuda 1TB / ASUS SWIFT PG279Q
Dell Optiplex 3020 / Intel Core i3 i3-4160 / EVGA GT 1030 SC / 6GB DDR3 / Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD/ Samsung 27" 1080p (Curved)
Dell G3 - i5 8300H / HP EX920 512GB NVME / 2X8GB HyperX Impact / 1TB SSHD / GTX 1050ti / N156HHE-GA1 120HZ Monitor

Last edited by sswilson; March 21, 2019 at 04:02 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 22, 2019, 09:02 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 17,790

My System Specs

Default

Heh... a few views, but no comments.... :)

I've currently got the PVR running wirelessly and it seems to be fine. I've got one of their remote wireless APs that's designed solely for connecting IPTV to (only pairs with their STBs, doesn't show up as a wireless network you can connect to) and it's giving me 5 solid bars so I suspect I'll be fine.
__________________
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WiFi AC) / i7 8700K / 2X 8G XPG Spectrix D40 (3000) / XFX XTR 750 / ASUS Strix GTX 1070ti
AZZA Titan 240 / Custom WC / Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD / Intel 760p 512GB NVMe / Seagate Barracuda 1TB / ASUS SWIFT PG279Q
Dell Optiplex 3020 / Intel Core i3 i3-4160 / EVGA GT 1030 SC / 6GB DDR3 / Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD/ Samsung 27" 1080p (Curved)
Dell G3 - i5 8300H / HP EX920 512GB NVME / 2X8GB HyperX Impact / 1TB SSHD / GTX 1050ti / N156HHE-GA1 120HZ Monitor
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 22, 2019, 12:07 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 2,927

My System Specs

Default

fwiw it's likely 720p/1080p upscaled to 4k so I'd imagine it's no more than 20mbit per "4k" stream. (afaik there are no 4K broadcasts, and very few 1080p broadcasts. It's mostly upscaled 720p)
__________________

Last edited by supaflyx3; March 22, 2019 at 12:20 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 22, 2019, 01:21 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 17,790

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by supaflyx3 View Post
fwiw it's likely 720p/1080p upscaled to 4k so I'd imagine it's no more than 20mbit per "4k" stream. (afaik there are no 4K broadcasts, and very few 1080p broadcasts. It's mostly upscaled 720p)
The great majority of Bell's HD channels are 720p, but they do have a few 4K sports channels, a netflix app that I'm assuming does 4K, and some 4K on-demand content.

My biggest concern wasn't 4K, it was the fact that it's the home PVR and as such could conceivably be recording up to 4 HD streams as well as being tasked to serve up another three streams, but now that I'm thinking of it, I believe there's an upper limit of how many recordings can be done simultaneous with viewing.

I think I'm good though... currently connected wirelessly with a very strong signal and not seeing any kind of issues.
__________________
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WiFi AC) / i7 8700K / 2X 8G XPG Spectrix D40 (3000) / XFX XTR 750 / ASUS Strix GTX 1070ti
AZZA Titan 240 / Custom WC / Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD / Intel 760p 512GB NVMe / Seagate Barracuda 1TB / ASUS SWIFT PG279Q
Dell Optiplex 3020 / Intel Core i3 i3-4160 / EVGA GT 1030 SC / 6GB DDR3 / Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD/ Samsung 27" 1080p (Curved)
Dell G3 - i5 8300H / HP EX920 512GB NVME / 2X8GB HyperX Impact / 1TB SSHD / GTX 1050ti / N156HHE-GA1 120HZ Monitor
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 22, 2019, 05:24 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,749

My System Specs

Default

It's really gonna boil down to encoding and decoding with the recorded video. I'm assuming it's probably using .264 with 4k support. If it's crunched down and the satalites playing from the PVR to other TVs really shouldn't be much of an issue. Also the audio quality is probably waaaaay less than what a BluRay will have so again.... Not an issue.

If the prv was doing all the decoding that might start to show its ugly head with simultaneous screens. HEVC will definately show your network issues depending on the hardware being used.
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 20, 2019, 06:53 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 17,790

My System Specs

Default

Just a quick re-visit of this on the off chance anybody finds this thread on a google search.....

Initially the powerline bricks didn't seem to be doing the trick in spite of reading 150+ both up and down w/ a ping of 4. It would work momentarily after being plugged into the back of the PVR box (and wireless connection indicator went out) but would then quickly become flaky with every second channel reporting connection issues (but displaying if you went up a channel and then back) and some channels freezing shortly after playing fine.

Because everything seemed to be working well well enough using the wireless connection I decided the shelve the idea and stuck with the wireless connection (being served by a proprietary bell AP), but decided to give it one last shot before wrapping everything up a couple of weeks later, and found the wired connection was behaving the same way as it had been before (dropped connections, freezing streams). To ensure I did my full due diligence before completely giving up I decided to see if a power cycle with the ethernet connected (vice the wireless) would have any effect and it appears that has done the trick.

The main benefit to having it connected via ethernet is better response time from the remote... on wireless there was a perceptible lag between pressing the channel up/down button and the resulting channel change as well as some functions (like the back button) taking significant time before registering the selection.


Bottom line: Connecting the Bell PVR via ethernet is preferable to the wireless connection, but if you're switching to ethernet from an already existing wireless connection you need to do a power cycle on the PVR to get the connection working correctly.
__________________
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WiFi AC) / i7 8700K / 2X 8G XPG Spectrix D40 (3000) / XFX XTR 750 / ASUS Strix GTX 1070ti
AZZA Titan 240 / Custom WC / Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD / Intel 760p 512GB NVMe / Seagate Barracuda 1TB / ASUS SWIFT PG279Q
Dell Optiplex 3020 / Intel Core i3 i3-4160 / EVGA GT 1030 SC / 6GB DDR3 / Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD/ Samsung 27" 1080p (Curved)
Dell G3 - i5 8300H / HP EX920 512GB NVME / 2X8GB HyperX Impact / 1TB SSHD / GTX 1050ti / N156HHE-GA1 120HZ Monitor
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Estimated price for Eurocom laptop Cypher^64 Price Check 1 July 17, 2018 12:13 PM
Estimated TPF Hooded HardwareCanucks F@H Team 4 February 10, 2013 02:34 PM
gtx 295 folding estimated PPD won't show? blueem2 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 14 November 5, 2012 02:33 PM
[VR-Zone]i7 970 estimated to be priced at $885 rip10793 Press Releases & Tech News 0 July 5, 2010 11:34 AM
Bell Sued for Throttling Bandwidth misterlarry Off Topic 14 June 18, 2008 07:39 PM