Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > HTPC Systems & Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 7, 2019, 03:14 PM
HiTi's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 245

My System Specs

Default Nas or htpc

I'm sure this is similar to a mac vs pc question, but I'm looking for something low maintenance,easy to use (wife friendly) and be able to torrent and stream content to a single tv. Maybe 2 at the absolute most
I've never had a nas so I have 0 experience with them and what they offer. 8- 12 tb would be the most storage wise
I have no problem with the htpc but no matter what I build, it never feels finished or I want to add something to it.
Synology has a few 2 or 4 bay products that look to tick all the boxes for functionality but are they really useful with the low spec hardware ?
Sorry for the alphabet soup of a post...typing this in between customers
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 7, 2019, 03:36 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 78
Default

I run an older synology but mainly for archival purposes, I never tried to stream from it. I do know a few people who stream from newer synologies even on remote connections.

One extra aside a 4 bay synology with 2 disk failover to have the storage you want isn't going to be overly cheap endeavour.

4x 4TB
1 disk failover = 12TB
2 disk failover = 8TB

4x3TB
1 disk failover = 9TB
2 disk failover = 6TB

Older ones with windows 10 are a bit more difficult to use as Samba 1? has been disabled for various reasons in windows 10 and the older ones only support that. The newer ones not such as issue. With my older one to access via windows 10 I'm resorting to FTP right now.
__________________
2700X Heatkiller, CH7 Hero, 1080ti Heatkiller, 32GB Ram, 2x500GB WD Black NVMe, Dual 1080 rads, dual D5S pumps.

Last edited by Izerous; February 7, 2019 at 03:45 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2019, 07:52 PM
MARSTG's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 4,258

My System Specs

Default

why don't you get an old corporate i5-2400 machine and run freenas on it?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2019, 07:57 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 8,715

My System Specs

Default

A bunch of QNAP's have HDMI ports on them, so you can hook it up to your TV and use Plex or Kodi. I'm sure Synology offers similar products too. But yes, they're generally pretty low spec, so if they support 4K now for example, they won't be able to run 8K.

You're likely best off getting a Chromecast or FireTV Stick to plug into the TV and running Plex either on a NAS or a PC. That's likely the most "wife-friendly" interface/setup.

The back end of downloading shows and such is a little more complex though. You'd have to look into things like Sonarr, Radarr, FlexGet, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2019, 09:37 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,043

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JD View Post
A bunch of QNAP's have HDMI ports on them, so you can hook it up to your TV and use Plex or Kodi. I'm sure Synology offers similar products too. But yes, they're generally pretty low spec, so if they support 4K now for example, they won't be able to run 8K.

You're likely best off getting a Chromecast or FireTV Stick to plug into the TV and running Plex either on a NAS or a PC. That's likely the most "wife-friendly" interface/setup.

The back end of downloading shows and such is a little more complex though. You'd have to look into things like Sonarr, Radarr, FlexGet, etc.
thats probably what I would do next time I was actually using raspi3 but I was having issues trying to run samba off of my PC to the raspi3 and the raspi3 would be pretty warm when watching hires movies
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 9, 2019, 08:43 AM
HiTi's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 245

My System Specs

Default

The more I read about nas solution, it definitely seems like a great option but at the same time it's pretty limited compared to a htpc. I think I'll use some hardware I have here and see if I can try some of the frontends or programs you guys suggested. I doubt I'll really ever use the back up features of a nas other then have multiple copies of photo back ups over multiple drives, and I doubt you can browse or do basic games on the nas. Funny how you can talk yourself out of something when you read your own posts...
Just would hate to spend $300 plus on something that I would be very disappointed with
Thank you for all the input
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Htpc Help Kallapz HTPC Systems & Software 4 May 1, 2015 10:59 AM
HTPC lcdguy HTPC Systems & Software 14 June 20, 2011 06:33 PM
2gb or 4 gb of ram for my htpc? redman HTPC Systems & Software 13 August 28, 2009 06:21 PM
GPU HSF's for an SLI HTPC. lowfat Air Cooling 1 August 29, 2008 03:54 PM
My HTPC. TopDogZero Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 1 May 14, 2008 04:53 AM