Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > HTPC Systems & Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 18, 2017, 11:35 AM
FreeKnight's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 1,742

My System Specs

Default Getting PBS on Roku in Canada

I can't take it anymore guys. I want PBS. I neeeeeed PBS. I'm going through Nova and Dateline withdrawal.

In all seriousness; I'd like to be able to stream PBS's app easily to my TV. They have a roku app that's available with the PBS Passport but only for Americans. I've tried adding Plex to my PC and the PBS channel in Plex but I seem to get 'this channel is not responding' constantly.

Am I best off looking into a VPN through my router and just using an American location? Is there an easier alternative besides constantly torrenting new shows (which I don't currently do and don't have much interest in).

If only netflix's documentary lineup didn't suck so badly
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 18, 2017, 12:02 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 9,015

My System Specs

Default

I don't use a Roku anymore but when I wanted to get the Amazon app I used a USA DNS on my router, setup a USA Roku account, installed the channels. Then I no longer needed to use the DNS (as it broke Netflix). Now I can't confirm if the PBS channel will work w/ the DNS/VPN not connected or not.

https://rokuincanada.com/canadian-ro...erican-content
__________________
The Crippled God WIP
Queen of Dreams WIP
Big Lian Li
Complete
Forever Alone Complete
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 18, 2017, 12:08 PM
FreeKnight's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 1,742

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
I don't use a Roku anymore but when I wanted to get the Amazon app I used a USA DNS on my router, setup a USA Roku account, installed the channels. Then I no longer needed to use the DNS (as it broke Netflix). Now I can't confirm if the PBS channel will work w/ the DNS/VPN not connected or not.

https://rokuincanada.com/canadian-ro...erican-content
Thanks lowfat, I'll give that a shot today or tomorrow.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2017, 06:44 AM
Trial Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 1
Default PBS in Canada

ustvnow offers a free package that works in canada. 7 free channels including PBS, and works great on the roku.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Roku + Wifi issues// alternatives? elimtl Troubleshooting 2 May 30, 2017 04:48 PM
MSI RMA in Canada Masteroderus CPU's and Motherboards 14 September 16, 2014 08:23 PM
Roku able to Cast Hulu? JD HTPC Systems & Software 0 September 4, 2014 12:27 PM
WTB: TI-83 Plus [Canada] Wankerfx Buy/Sell & Trade 3 February 2, 2008 05:16 PM
GA-P35-DS4 or P5K-E available in Canada? Hitikiro CPU's and Motherboards 7 August 22, 2007 08:52 AM