Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #241 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2008, 04:34 PM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,770

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tzetsin View Post
lol yeah, its pretty disheartening when you see the puny scores the cpus are getting

GPU1 6200
GPU2 6200
GPU3 6200
GPU4 6200
CPU1 400
For you to be getting such high CPU usage from the GPU client you must be using XP, running it on Vista it would use much less. Under Vista 64, I get about 6 to 8% cpu usage on my quad. XP users generaly need a full CPU core per GPU client...

Even using the GPU client, my quad @2.93 is getting ~2000 PPD running the SMP client...
__________________
Folding For Team 54196

Reply With Quote
  #242 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2008, 05:05 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: AB
Posts: 1,212
Default

i'm using vista 64.

is that 2000ppd 3 CPU cores all together? what kind of ppd are you getting from your GPU while also running the smp client?
__________________

vista 64 on these rigs
Q9450 @ 3.5Ghz | E8400 @ 4.2Ghz
8gb Muskin Redline. | 2gb Kingston Hyperx
________________________________|_________________ ______________
EVGA 780i FTW ----\--||___||--/---- EVGA 780i SLI
Antec TP Quatro 1000W \ :==^==: / Antec TP Quatro 850W.
Nvidia 9800 GX2 X 2 SLI \|--o--|/ Nvidia 8800 GTS X 2 SLI
1X 500GB Western Digital. \_____/ 3X 150GB WD RAPTOR RAID-0
Reply With Quote
  #243 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2008, 05:20 PM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,770

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tzetsin View Post
i'm using vista 64.

is that 2000ppd 3 CPU cores all together? what kind of ppd are you getting from your GPU while also running the smp client?
Thats 2000 PPD running one SMP client at 98% usage across all cores. I get 5840- 6200 PPD with the GPU client depending on WU...

Your high CPU usage must be caused by your multi core GPU's. Strange still seems high. I'm no expert tho, just started Folding the end of june...
__________________
Folding For Team 54196

Reply With Quote
  #244 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2008, 05:25 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bedford QC
Posts: 9,973

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yycraven View Post
I noticed with my shaders OCed that I get better PPD. almost got 6000PPD. hit 5800PPD. going to overclock shader even higher to 1850. will see what that does.
I just dropped both my GTX280s back to stock, except the shaders are oc'ed to 1566 on both cards. The ppd hasn't changed in the last 2 hours, still ~15960.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #245 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2008, 05:32 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 11,440
Default

my 8800gt o/c is getting between 4100-5100ppd
Reply With Quote
  #246 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2008, 05:35 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bedford QC
Posts: 9,973

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
my 8800gt o/c is getting between 4100-5100ppd
1000 ppd swing? That's a lot. ATM my ppd is between 15960 and 16180, depending on the WUs.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #247 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2008, 05:38 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 11,440
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
1000 ppd swing? That's a lot. ATM my ppd is between 15960 and 16180, depending on the WUs.
Seems to depend on the WU I think not 100 sure.

Code:
Last 7 Days Production
Day 	Points 	WUs
09.03.08 	3,840 	8
09.02.08 	4,541 	44
09.01.08 	3,360 	7
08.31.08 	1,440 	3
08.30.08 	0 	0
08.29.08 	0 	0
08.28.08 	0 	0
08.27.08 	0 	0
Code:
Last 24 Hours Production
Time 	Points 	WUs
09.03, 6pm 	480 	1
09.03, 3pm 	480 	1
09.03, 12pm 	960 	2
09.03, 9am 	480 	1
09.03, 6am 	960 	2
09.03, 3am 	480 	1
09.03, 12am 	480 	1
09.02, 9pm 	480 	1
Reply With Quote
  #248 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2008, 07:34 PM
Dashock's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,955
Default

well im glad i started this whole overclock only shader cause i think we can save a bunch on electricity as there no need to overclock memory or core as i dont think it promotes a higher ppd.


BTW less than 50000 points remaining to hit 10 million.
__________________
Intel Xeon E3110 @ 3.0ghz-Then
Core 2 Quad Q9650 @ 3.8ghz-Now
PNY GTX 1050Ti (Coming)
Asus P5Q-E
Mushkin Ascent Redline 8000 8gb DDR2 @ 1066 5-5-5-15 2.05v
Corsair Cx600M
Samsung 850 Evo 250gb SSD
Noctua NfP-12's on Swiftech 320 rad
Logitech Z-625 setup
Sony X800E 43" 4K HDTV



Coolermaster Cosmos S/
Swiftech Mcp655/ MCR-320-QP/ 6X Noctua NF-P12'S/ Swiftech Apogee GT/ Swiftech Mcw-60/ Swiftech Micro-Res.


Last edited by Dashock; September 3, 2008 at 08:26 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #249 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2008, 09:29 PM
yycraven's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: SK
Posts: 1,052

My System Specs

Default

With my 8800 GT I get from 5100 PPD to 6000 PPD
my shaders are set to 1895.
but I do not know if that really makes a big difference
Reply With Quote
  #250 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2008, 09:55 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,398

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dashock View Post
well im glad i started this whole overclock only shader cause i think we can save a bunch on electricity as there no need to overclock memory or core as i dont think it promotes a higher ppd.


BTW less than 50000 points remaining to hit 10 million.
Under 7 days and we break the 200 barrier!
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes