Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #361 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2009, 03:51 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,691
Default

well its on average for whatever its done


List of straps and where they fall in:

Green= Requested speed
Red= Actual speed

Most 8800, 9600, 9800, & GTX 2xx 65nm
1216-1269=1242
1270-1323=1296
1324-1377=1350
1378-1431=1404
1432-1485=1458
1486-1539=1512
1540-1593=1566
1594-1647=1620
1648-1701=1674
1702-1755=1728
1756-1809=1782
1810-1863=1836
1864-1917=1890
1918-1971=1944
1972-2025=1998
2026-2079=2052

GTX 2xx 55nm
1242-1271=1242
1272-1315=1296
1316-1342=1332
1343-1364=1350
1365-1385=1368
1386-1423=1404
1424-1451=1440
1452-1467=1458
1468-1494=1476
1495-1532=1512
1533-1559=1548
1560-1576=1566
1577-1603=1584
1604-1641=1620
1642-1668=1656
1669-1685=1674
1686-1712=1692
1713-1750=1728
1751-1772=1764
1773-1791=1782
1792-1817=1800
1818-1854=1836
1855-1880=1872
1881-1899=1890
1900-1925=1908
1926-????=1944




this might help. have them set at 1804 now. wich means tehyre at 1800 lol
Reply With Quote
  #362 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2009, 04:34 PM
bwm bwm is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 799

My System Specs

Default

That's what EVGA's overclocking util shows for the shaders?
If yes then I don't see anything really unusual, all three of my 260/216 SE's behave like that.
On one of the top-end 1571 jobs the numbers get VERY wild LOL
I gave up looking and happily take the 2200 PPD it gives back at the end.
I mean I don't have any hair left to pull out ya know
Reply With Quote
  #363 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2009, 04:38 PM
bwm bwm is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 799

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
this might help. have them set at 1804 now. wich means tehyre at 1800 lol
Yes, the disagreement between slidebar selected and manually punched in reading is a little unnerving to me too. But it's gotta the software. Video cards are just like mobos in that all of the clocking except CMOS is PLL controlled.
Reply With Quote
  #364 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2009, 04:49 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,691
Default

its not the slidebar. its the shader dividers or whatever one calls them. you can set one speed, and it runs at another. so when you jump 5mhz or even one its not stable anymore because probably it wants to run 50-100 mhz more lol
Reply With Quote
  #365 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2009, 05:02 PM
bwm bwm is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 799

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
its not the slidebar. its the shader dividers or whatever one calls them. you can set one speed, and it runs at another. so when you jump 5mhz or even one its not stable anymore because probably it wants to run 50-100 mhz more lol
I think the loop in yours is a little looped LOL. Sorry, coundn't resist! Thre is period of time between speed changes that often accounts for it. That is canned "settling time", but it does strike me as a bit long on these things. But don't forget the influences and biases I have working on or against me - tolerances. This consumer stuff is so incredibly sloppy compared to what I'm used to that my comments about this card or that card my not be appropriate at all. Only other thing that comes to mind is the drivers. Try some different ones. Mine are 182.6 version. Older for sure but they work and haven't given me any trouble so I ain't gonna update em.
Reply With Quote
  #366 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2009, 05:32 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,691
Default

i have latest drivers altough someone indicated to only use cuda driver when folding
Reply With Quote
  #367 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2009, 08:17 PM
bwm bwm is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 799

My System Specs

Default

I remember reading that somewhere myself but I can't remember where. The ones I'm using also support their physx thing but I haven't really had a chance to read enough about those two things to see what roles they might have in folding. Have you made sure those are enabled in the nvidia control panels? I think all the stock settings were right on mine except screen resolution of course. I hate it when ONE stupid missed setting can screw up so many things, but that's the way things are going, even in the stuff I do.
Reply With Quote
  #368 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2009, 10:22 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,691
Default

Reply With Quote
  #369 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2009, 10:34 PM
bwm bwm is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 799

My System Specs

Default

What PPD are you getting from those p2665's?

I only get about 1850 PPP on average for those at 3.5 Ghz. Often less.
Reply With Quote
  #370 (permalink)  
Old December 8, 2009, 12:42 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,691
Default

at 3.2 i get roughly 1700 but im not too convinced lol....got to isolate the cpu eater
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anime And Asian Movies Thread _dangtx_ Off Topic 1154 March 21, 2016 11:38 AM
Folding At Home / Screen Name mismatch thread sswilson HardwareCanucks F@H Team 38 August 10, 2010 11:22 PM
Folding @ Home F.A.Q. Supergrover HardwareCanucks F@H Team 229 May 15, 2010 08:24 PM
[WTB] _dangtx_ WTB/FS THREAD _dangtx_ Buy/Sell & Trade 86 February 22, 2010 04:15 PM
MarcusFoX's FS Thread. Updated Daily. MarcusFoX Buy/Sell & Trade 5 June 3, 2008 12:29 PM