Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old August 24, 2007, 12:41 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 17,948

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pscout View Post
Is the firewall on vista enabled? Maybe it is interfering?

There was also a hung server at stanford today which appears fixed now ( server .64) but that should not be why you have queued wu's on your smp rig. In fact, they may be expired now since smp wu's have short 3-4 day final deadlines (after final deadline no points are credited).

Were all these queued wu's crunched under vista? or did they get moved from w2k?
Heh.... my main rig gacked yesterday and I kept trying to reload / refresh but was getting that server every time..... :(

Everything appears to be fine now.
__________________
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WiFi AC) / i7 8700K / 2X 8G XPG Spectrix D40 (3000) / XFX XTR 750 / ASUS Strix GTX 1070ti
Lian-Li PC-011 Air (RGB) / Custom WC / Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD / Intel 760p 512GB NVMe / ASUS SWIFT PG279Q
Dell Optiplex 3020 / Intel Core i3 i3-4160 / EVGA GT 1030 SC / 6GB DDR3 / Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD/ Samsung 27" 1080p (Curved)
Dell G3 - i5 8300H / HP EX920 512GB NVME / 2X8GB HyperX Impact / 1TB SSHD / GTX 1050ti / N156HHE-GA1 120HZ Screen
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old August 24, 2007, 03:28 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bedford QC
Posts: 9,973

My System Specs

Default

Yup, all 3 WUs are sent - it was a server problem. But I did change the firewall settings, just to be on the safe side.

Did you know that Vista has 2 firewalls?

"Windows Vista includes two firewalls?" from the Ask Dave Taylor! Tech Support Blog

I didn't.

And I did loose the points of 2 WUs, both 2653s.

Last edited by 3.0charlie; August 24, 2007 at 07:23 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old August 24, 2007, 06:50 PM
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: folding in GTA
Posts: 375
Default

Wow, I guess 1 firewall isn't enuf

I guess the problem with such 'great' security is than most people will turn it all off after a bit of frustration, especially if you can't remember how to find it next time you need to touch settings.

Sorry to hear about the lost wu's
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old August 24, 2007, 07:27 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bedford QC
Posts: 9,973

My System Specs

Default

Actually, it's quite easy to find it: just type "firewall" in the search box of the Start icon and that's it. It's one aspect of Vista that is a nice evolution from XP.

As for the WUs, I guess I lost the points, but the fact remains that Stanford did receive the crunched units. And that what's counts.

John
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can I connect my 360 to my pc? Balfrat Audio 6 January 15, 2008 04:45 PM
New system, first OC results Spblue Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 10 January 5, 2008 01:43 PM
Cannot Connect To Internet SCW Networking 0 October 26, 2007 07:25 PM
oc results so far Jim CPU's and Motherboards 7 July 25, 2007 12:52 PM