Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2009, 10:52 PM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,770

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The MAX View Post
Also if I exit out of F@H GPU and shut down my pc, will it pic up where it left off when I reinitialize it?
Or is pausing the only way to do that and therefore you have to leave your PC on all the time.
If you are using the systray client choose 'quit' instead of 'pause', it's then safe to shut down the pc. The client will pick-up where it left off when you restart.

You will get a much higher PPD leaving it running 24/7 ...
__________________
Folding For Team 54196

Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2009, 11:31 PM
The MAX's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 153
Default

Yeah I prefer turning my comp off during the night, fans too noisy, and when I'm not home.
I have an older comp set up for my girlfriend that is at my place that only gets used right now when she wants to play a game on the weekends. I may set it up in the living room to fold 24/7. It has an 8600 GTS and only an AMD 3000+ with stock heating. Will only be doing GPU F@H...lol.
But right now I'm just going to fold when ever I'm using the PC but not gaming, which is quite a bit.

So far so good. But systray CPU F@H is giving error 503. Console worked fine but then I installed systray app and it didn't work.
__________________
- Antec 900 (modded) - Asus P5Q-Pro - 4GB Corsair Dominator DDR2-1066 -
- Palit GTX 260 SONIC 216SP - Core 2 Duo E8400 with Xigmatek HDT-S1283 cooler - 850watt Antec True Power Quattro -
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2009, 11:48 PM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,770

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The MAX View Post
Yeah I prefer turning my comp off during the night, fans too noisy, and when I'm not home.
I have an older comp set up for my girlfriend that is at my place that only gets used right now when she wants to play a game on the weekends. I may set it up in the living room to fold 24/7. It has an 8600 GTS and only an AMD 3000+ with stock heating. Will only be doing GPU F@H...lol.
But right now I'm just going to fold when ever I'm using the PC but not gaming, which is quite a bit.

So far so good. But systray CPU F@H is giving error 503. Console worked fine but then I installed systray app and it didn't work.
Error 503 usually means server problems at the Folding@Home end, is it stating that it cannot connect to server ?. Some of their servers were down this morning and there might be a backlog. If you could reprint some of the log it would be easier to diagnose.
When you switched from the console client to the systray did uninstall the console one first , there might be a conflict if you didn't.
__________________
Folding For Team 54196

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Absolute best Folding GPU for Folding CasheKicker HardwareCanucks F@H Team 21 February 14, 2012 10:54 AM
Folding a la GTX 285 SKYMTL HardwareCanucks F@H Team 23 February 24, 2009 12:43 AM
Can someone help me set up folding on my SLI? zlojack HardwareCanucks F@H Team 27 February 16, 2009 05:25 AM
Folding on the PS3? wpurcell HardwareCanucks F@H Team 4 January 1, 2009 02:45 PM
GTX 280 Now Folding for HCF SKYMTL HardwareCanucks F@H Team 26 June 17, 2008 01:23 PM