Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > HardwareCanucks F@H Team

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #3281 (permalink)  
Old September 20, 2010, 02:00 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,691
Default

not bad at all for a duallie with that many threads running,gpu,etc.
Reply With Quote
  #3282 (permalink)  
Old September 20, 2010, 02:10 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 17,540

My System Specs

Default

Heh.... well, with a couple of "normal" GPU3 WUs done, tried out the -advmethods switch and pulled a 925 credit unit. Holy Cwap!!!!!!!!!!!!!!






Does the -advmethods GPU3 switch work with 200 series cards?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ilya View Post
I was liking the PPD a lot at first too, but then I noticed the GPU3 client alone puts my Q6600 at 20% usage. I'm guessing newer high end procs should take a noticeable hit as well.
Was that total use, or just on one core? I'm seeing between 25 - 45% of a single core with my 1090t.
__________________
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WiFi AC) / i7 8700K / 2X 8G XPG Spectrix D40 (3000) / XFX XTR 750 / ASUS Strix GTX 1070ti
AZZA Titan 240 / Custom WC / Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD / Intel 760p 512GB NVMe / Seagate Barracuda 1TB / ASUS SWIFT PG279Q

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 1X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / Uncased 256GB Sandisk Z400S SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 24" Westinghouse L2410NM
Reply With Quote
  #3283 (permalink)  
Old September 20, 2010, 02:40 PM
Sagath's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 3,717

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Heh.... well, with a couple of "normal" GPU3 WUs done, tried out the -advmethods switch and pulled a 925 credit unit. Holy Cwap!!!!!!!!!!!!!!



Does the -advmethods GPU3 switch work with 200 series cards?



Was that total use, or just on one core? I'm seeing between 25 - 45% of a single core with my 1090t.
I'm boggled by that advmethods on a 450. Thats insane and more ppd then my 460 running adv methods. . I may sell my two and get two 450's .

as far as I know the GPU2 for 200 series does not work, but it cant hurt to try it and see what happens.

I'm seeing about a 8% single core (~30% with HT on '2' cores) useage on my i7 for 2xGPU3 clients. It eats my PPD alot. Dropped my TPF's from around 30 min to 42 min...nearly a 50% increase in TPF I'm either going to can my 460 folding and just SMP, or vice versa. I like the GPU folding a lot better because I can pause the clients without affecting my PPD unlike the SMP client and bonus plan.
__________________
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #3284 (permalink)  
Old September 20, 2010, 02:45 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,588
Default

Advmethods works on GPU2 no problem. You might get different projects on a 2xx series vs a 4xx series though.

@sswilson: 15K on a GTS 450 is what the kids today would call 'sick'.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #3285 (permalink)  
Old September 20, 2010, 02:56 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 17,540

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sagath View Post
I'm boggled by that advmethods on a 450. Thats insane and more ppd then my 460 running adv methods. . I may sell my two and get two 450's .

as far as I know the GPU2 for 200 series does not work, but it cant hurt to try it and see what happens.

I'm seeing about a 8% single core (~30% with HT on '2' cores) useage on my i7 for 2xGPU3 clients. It eats my PPD alot. Dropped my TPF's from around 30 min to 42 min...nearly a 50% increase in TPF I'm either going to can my 460 folding and just SMP, or vice versa. I like the GPU folding a lot better because I can pause the clients without affecting my PPD unlike the SMP client and bonus plan.
Quote:
Originally Posted by chriskwarren View Post
Advmethods works on GPU2 no problem. You might get different projects on a 2xx series vs a 4xx series though.

@sswilson: 15K on a GTS 450 is what the kids today would call 'sick'.
I was gobsmacked myself when I saw it, and I've continued monitoring it to ensure that it's not just a speedy start to a WU that's going to slow down 50% through, but it's currently at 57% and still holding 52 second TPF. I'm not convinced this is the whole story though.... I'm not currently running the SMP2 on that rig while I test out the GPU folding, could very well be that once the CPU load is 100% across all cores that it'll drop significantly.

As far as the -advmethod for GPU is concerned, I think my question was misunderstood... I've been running the GPU2 client for my 200 series cards because the GPU3 client was giving me around 10 - 15% less PPD than the GPU2.... what I'm wondering is if anybody has tried running the GPU3 client with a 200 series card, but then including the -advmethods switch.



edit: I'm also running the beta drivers, wonder if that's making any difference?
__________________
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WiFi AC) / i7 8700K / 2X 8G XPG Spectrix D40 (3000) / XFX XTR 750 / ASUS Strix GTX 1070ti
AZZA Titan 240 / Custom WC / Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD / Intel 760p 512GB NVMe / Seagate Barracuda 1TB / ASUS SWIFT PG279Q

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 1X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / Uncased 256GB Sandisk Z400S SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 24" Westinghouse L2410NM

Last edited by sswilson; September 20, 2010 at 03:02 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3286 (permalink)  
Old September 20, 2010, 03:01 PM
Sagath's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 3,717

My System Specs

Default

Depends how you set the client. I had my SMP full blown folding getting 14k ppd out of my 460's. When my SMP finishes I still get 14k. Obviously if I let the SMP take over, it'll get more PPD, but my GPU clients suffer big time being starved for data. Its almost not worth it with the advmethods flag, either you run SMP or you run GPU. I may deflag and run without advmethods again, it would probably net me more PPD due to the lost cycles off the SMP.

As to your GPU3 Client running -advmethods on a 2xx series, I couldnt answer that for the heart of me. I doubt many other people could too. Give it a try and let us know? ;)
__________________
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #3287 (permalink)  
Old September 20, 2010, 03:06 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 17,540

My System Specs

Default

If it comes to that I'll use the -5 Flag for the SMP2, and start using an affinity program again.

And yeah... once I'm done playing with the 450 on my main rig, I'll drop the 275 back in under GPU3 to see if the -advmethods flag helps.
__________________
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WiFi AC) / i7 8700K / 2X 8G XPG Spectrix D40 (3000) / XFX XTR 750 / ASUS Strix GTX 1070ti
AZZA Titan 240 / Custom WC / Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD / Intel 760p 512GB NVMe / Seagate Barracuda 1TB / ASUS SWIFT PG279Q

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 1X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / Uncased 256GB Sandisk Z400S SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 24" Westinghouse L2410NM
Reply With Quote
  #3288 (permalink)  
Old September 20, 2010, 03:11 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,588
Default

GPU3 def works on a 2xx series card, but it used to come at a performance penalty. I leave the -advmethods flag on all my clients, so while the client will work, I can't recall if it got any advmethods WUs.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #3289 (permalink)  
Old September 20, 2010, 03:21 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,691
Default

guys, how many gpus do you run to see negative effects on thine cpu folding numbers? with 2 i see a modest decrease, any more and it takes a bigger hit.
Reply With Quote
  #3290 (permalink)  
Old September 20, 2010, 03:26 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 17,540

My System Specs

Default

It depends on the processor, and the client that you're running.

I saw around 1K PPD (out of 15K average) drop running a single GPU2 client on my 1090t. The jury's still out on what the damage will be with the GPU3 -advmethods, but I'll report back once I've got those numbers.
__________________
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WiFi AC) / i7 8700K / 2X 8G XPG Spectrix D40 (3000) / XFX XTR 750 / ASUS Strix GTX 1070ti
AZZA Titan 240 / Custom WC / Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD / Intel 760p 512GB NVMe / Seagate Barracuda 1TB / ASUS SWIFT PG279Q

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 1X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / Uncased 256GB Sandisk Z400S SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 24" Westinghouse L2410NM
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes