Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Display Units

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 30, 2018, 05:13 PM
Mr. Friendly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 2,421

My System Specs

Default DisplayPort to HDMI Cable Question...

I've got a Lenovo M82 or 83 and using a DP to HDMI cable to plug into my Dell U3515w.



issues is, when I jump to that connector in the OSD, it says no signal detected. the PC is on and I've tried both DP out connectors on the back and no-go.



could there be a resolution limitation and it can't go above 1080p or something?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 30, 2018, 08:01 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: GTA, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 264

My System Specs

Default

active adapter?
__________________
Laptop: Dell 15 5005U, 8GB, EVO860 500GB+QVO860 1TB, Microsoft Sculpt Comfort Mouse BT
HTPC/Server: See "My System Specs". I also use it to virtualize instances of Windows 7/10 to my mobile devices. Fast access to all my Chrome tabs :lol:
Graphics Designer and Tech Journalist @ www.RealHardwareReviews.com ID: eyetrance/Dave
Personal Website @ www.EYEtrance.ca
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 30, 2018, 08:13 PM
Mr. Friendly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 2,421

My System Specs

Default

isn't that needed for old tech...and that's only for HDMI/DVI to DisplayPort I think...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 30, 2018, 09:01 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: GTA, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 264

My System Specs

Default

From what I understand, intel early boards with HDMI2.0 used the DP connection and actively converted it to HDMI 2.0 (some kind of chip).
__________________
Laptop: Dell 15 5005U, 8GB, EVO860 500GB+QVO860 1TB, Microsoft Sculpt Comfort Mouse BT
HTPC/Server: See "My System Specs". I also use it to virtualize instances of Windows 7/10 to my mobile devices. Fast access to all my Chrome tabs :lol:
Graphics Designer and Tech Journalist @ www.RealHardwareReviews.com ID: eyetrance/Dave
Personal Website @ www.EYEtrance.ca
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 1, 2018, 12:54 AM
The Great Gazoo's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: BC Lower Mainland
Posts: 136

My System Specs

Default

I have so many issues trying to get Lenovo tiny's to display on Viewsonic monitors at my office for several years. It may or may not connect or it will flash on and off constantly. It has been driving me absolutely crazy. I have resorted to using DP to VGA or DP to DVI adapters to the monitors from London Drugs and Staples. My I.T. guys can't explain it but it works for my employees and now I keep a few of these adapters around just in case.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 1, 2018, 12:57 PM
Mr. Friendly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 2,421

My System Specs

Default

well, dunno what the issue was but I gave in and pulled my old 24" Samsung out, dusted it off and it's working perfectly...though I'm using a DP to DP cable now, so no HDMI converting. :P
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] 6Ft DisplayPort Cable Arinoth Buy/Sell & Trade 7 December 5, 2012 12:33 PM
HDMI vs DisplayPort Skippman Display Units 13 October 19, 2012 06:24 PM
DVI-HDMI cable question on HD 4890 Darthzin Video Cards 8 January 11, 2012 01:42 PM
[WTB] HDMI/Displayport Add-on card? Crownregent Buy/Sell & Trade 2 May 6, 2009 04:12 AM
HDMI Cable Question Supergrover HTPC Systems & Software 11 June 30, 2008 07:53 PM