Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 8, 2008, 08:47 PM
Killswitch's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Sault Ste Marie, Ontario
Posts: 830

My System Specs

Default Athlon 64 X2 6500 Black Edition

NCIX.com - Buy AMD Athlon 64 X2 6500 Black Edition Dual Core Processor Socket AM2 2.3GHZ 3MB Retail Box - AD6500WCGHBOX In Canada.

Does anybody know if this CPU is a good performer/OC'er? I've been toying with my 5000+ BE and I can't get it past 3.2 giggity-giggities stable. It's holding back my video cards quite a bit. I want more gaming power for this fall but naturally, if I don't have too spend much I'd rather not. An AM3 quad would be nice (whenever they come out) but this CPU might be the way to go.

I haven't been able to find any real data for it yet. I'm kind of hoping someone else might have. What I have read though, is that the 6500 which chugs along normally at 2.3GHz should perform about the same as a 6000+ @ 3GHz. When OC'ed I bet it should really whip some bums, but how far can it go?

BTW..... if a person could get at least 3.5GHz from one of these, I would have to say Intel C2D's may FINALLY have some good competition!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 8, 2008, 08:58 PM
Cheator's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,093
Default

Its a K10 athlon so it should be interesting. HAven't seen a review though.
__________________
My Heatware![/SIZE][/FONT] | Got RMA? Tell us your experience! | VOIP Help? PM ME!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 8, 2008, 10:34 PM
yycraven's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: SK
Posts: 1,052

My System Specs

Default

Have you read this athlon x2 6500 vs athlon x2 6000
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 9, 2008, 03:00 PM
Killswitch's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Sault Ste Marie, Ontario
Posts: 830

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yycraven View Post
Yeah I saw that. It doesn't show or tell us much but it's about the best information I could find. lol
I was hoping I missed something better someplace.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 11, 2008, 12:57 AM
Eagle Eye's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kleinburg, ON
Posts: 2,067

My System Specs

Default

Sounds like the dual cores aren't dead just yet, causing quite a little stir over at NCIX in the forums. I believe this was made mention of back in Dec of 2007 its part of AMD phase out of the 90nm products. If it performs well I'll buy it, it will be nice to have a little phenom flavour and maybe the overclocking we saw from the 5000+ BE.

Quote:
Its 95W as well.
edit: some more info
Stepping B3
Herstellerlink.de : AMD
Anschlüsse
CPU-Sockel : Sockel AM2+
Leistung
Verlustleistung (TDP) : 95 Watt
Prozessor
Prozessorkern : Dualcore
Taktfrequenz pro Kern : 2300MHz
Front Side Bus (FSB) / Hyper Transport Spec : 3600MHz
Der Chip
Code Name : Kuma
Fertigungsprozess : 0.065 µm
L1-Cache (insgesamt) : 256KByte
L2-Cache (insgesamt) : 1024KByte
shared L2-Cache (bei Multicore CPUs) : Nein
L3-Cache (insgesamt) : 2MB
Ausstattung
Kühler liegt bei (Boxed) : Ja
Multiprozessorfähig : Nein
DualChannel : ja
Prozessor Erweiterungen : MMX(+) / 3DNow(+) / SSE / SSE2 / SSE3 / SSE4a / OPM / SMP / 64Bit (EMT64/X86-64) / Virenschutz (NX-Bit/XD-Bit) / Virtualisierungstechnik (Intel-VT/AMD-V) / Sicherheitsfunktionen (Presidio/TXT)
Spannungsebene : 1.1 bis 1.25 Volt
Herstellergarantie : 3 Jahre
Herstellerproduktlink : nicht vorhanden (Produktlink melden)
Quote:
Dual-Core "Kuma" • TDP: 95W • Fertigung: 65nm • Hypertransport: kA • Memory Controller: kA • Stepping: B3 • MMX, SSE, SSE2, SSE3, SSE4a, Enhanced 3DNow!, NX bit, AMD64, Cool'n'Quiet • Multiplikator offen!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2008, 04:17 PM
sa seba's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 303

My System Specs

Default

I wonder if this is just the beginning and we are going to see higher clocked K10 dual cores at 45nm.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 22, 2008, 02:35 PM
Killswitch's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Sault Ste Marie, Ontario
Posts: 830

My System Specs

Default

I found a review! Hopefully it's legit. It's been translated and it's difficult to read, but numbers mean the same thing in every language.

Translation result for http://www.expreview.com/review/2008-09-19/1221797775d10042.html

This review shows that they hit 3.3 - 3.4 Ghz but they don't show any benchies at those speeds. Just shown @ 2.3 GHz vs. the 5000+ BE at 2.6 and 2.3. Looks promising! If more reviews start surfacing displaying similar results I'm definiately getting one.

BTW: Pg 4 shows the overclocking and Pg 6 shows the benchmarks.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes