Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2008, 09:09 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 223
Default

I'm a bit curious 3oh6 when you removed the HS did you just leave the SB thermal pad or did you remove it and apply a TIM? I have it pulled apart at the moment and from your review article I note;

"The south bridge and PWM heat sinks use thermal pads to interface with the components and they seem to work just fine."
http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...-review-5.html

So from this comment I am going to just clean and apply AS5 to the NB but will do the SB later if you advise to.

I have to say the HS set-up is definitely all cooper due to the weight I put it on our "top of the range" bathroom scales and it comes in at 0.5Kg or ~1Lb and these are not scales that are designed for that fine a measurement but it certainly ain't painted Aluminium (would estimate 0.1-0.2Kg at most if Aluminium).
__________________
Q6600@3.15Ghz|CNPS9500|GA-EP45T Extreme|GSkill 2GB 1333MHz|Sapphire 4850|OZC GameXtreme 700|XP64

Last edited by Boldeagle; October 16, 2008 at 11:28 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2008, 10:58 PM
3oh6's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 1,053
Default

the thermal pad is just fine, no need to mess with anything else.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2008, 12:24 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 223
Default

Thank you very much and as I have read in several threads that the P45 and ICH10 chipsets run "very cool" already so I won't over complicate things . Can't wait to see what this sucker will do just finished the nLite of the OS, will be getting the RAM tomorrow and take it for a spin, I like the CPU Power has the 2 x 4 pin because my OCZGX700 has the 4 x 12v Rails (2 for CPU) but my P5WDH only used the 1 x 4 pin connector (therefore only a single rail?!?) and I think the Q6600 was drawing a lot from a single rail. I'm interested to see if the 2 x 4 pins helps to deliver a more solid and cleaner power delivery (therefore allowing a better nudge on the OC). It's all just guess work but I will find out.
__________________
Q6600@3.15Ghz|CNPS9500|GA-EP45T Extreme|GSkill 2GB 1333MHz|Sapphire 4850|OZC GameXtreme 700|XP64
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2008, 01:40 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 223
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by belgolas View Post
I love copper all over the board even though it is mostly a waste. It just looks cool.
You would love this pic then, will be adding a CNPS9500 to it as well but gotta give it a soak firstly. Just seemed to really catch all the "bling-bling".
Attached Images
 
__________________
Q6600@3.15Ghz|CNPS9500|GA-EP45T Extreme|GSkill 2GB 1333MHz|Sapphire 4850|OZC GameXtreme 700|XP64
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old October 20, 2008, 05:44 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 223
Default

Well it's up and running and 3oh6 your write up is arguably the most honest review I have found on this mobo today and I'm very glad I found it .

I have been testing a budget RAM kit in it to see what the memory will do but to also help me find my way around. I'm loving EasyTune6 and it is better than SetFSB, ClockGen, etc on this motherboard allowing the tweaking of volt and clocks on the fly (another plus for your review):

GSkill (2x1G) DDR3 1333 PC10600 (F3-10600CL9D-2GBNQ) Budget RAM OC run

Just trying to resolve the different voltages now and what they mean, eg. what equates to FSB, etc.
__________________
Q6600@3.15Ghz|CNPS9500|GA-EP45T Extreme|GSkill 2GB 1333MHz|Sapphire 4850|OZC GameXtreme 700|XP64
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old October 21, 2008, 05:48 AM
matsta31's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,204
Default

For all the copper lover out there,this is a magnificent Mobo. I am not one for all this bling-bling but I can understand the beauty of it. In a flat type of case with a window, like the Mountain mods and some kind of cold cathode it could be nice.
__________________

Sold hardware again.....
Currently using WHS hardware....
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old October 21, 2008, 06:23 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 13,641
Default

Now take a moment and think what it would have looked like with a BLACK PCB. *drool*
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old October 21, 2008, 06:11 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 223
Default

True it would look very nice. Initial test runs are looking good. With the latest economy fluctuations RAM prices have gone a bit crazy in Australia and I had drama's finding any semi-decent kits at reasonable pricing so I bought a budget kit to get it up and running and gave that a bit of a push to see what it could do as can be seen in above link. Latest results give vCore1.5, vDIMM1.66 to FSB400 with RAM@800Mhz, that's a 20% OC for suicide runs on a $99 budget kit (probably about $50 kit for you guys).
__________________
Q6600@3.15Ghz|CNPS9500|GA-EP45T Extreme|GSkill 2GB 1333MHz|Sapphire 4850|OZC GameXtreme 700|XP64
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old October 22, 2008, 02:58 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Terrace, BC
Posts: 558
Default

yea LoL. Its a matter of taste. I dont really look at my mobo in my case. I USE my pc. Once its built, its on the floor, crucnhing, surfing, running games, doing word docs. If I really wanted to play with parts after the fact, Ill get really cheap hardware,like I keep hearing around here. Nuff said? First off all, guys supercharge Chevys cause their cheap and common, Not Benzes LoL
__________________
Acer 5920G ( Stock Air ) no OC:P
At least its DX10!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes