Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2008, 10:04 AM
kruzn4evr's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ajax, Ontario
Posts: 1,806
Default Help! Burnt section on mobo

I'm not having a good week so far..lol...I was preping to install my 780i for wc when I noticed a small burnt section at the botton left corner close to the SPDIF connector, I guess what I want to know is would affect the rest of how the board works? To top it off I had just installed the back plate for the water block and can't remove it cleanly in order to use it again so now I'll have to order a new sticky pad.
Attached Images
 
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2008, 10:31 AM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 4,208
Default

Clean it up best you can and boot. It should be ok, hopefully!
__________________
The Vortex H20

Corsair Obsidian 500D
Asus X99-E WS/USB3.1
i7-5820K @4.4GHZ
RTX 2070
4x8GB Corsair LPX 2666MHZ
Thermaltake Toughpower 850W GOLD
960GB ADATA SX8200 NVME
HP OMEN 32 1440p 75hz

Benq W1070 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK Vector RTX2080 FC, EK Coolstream XT 220 Rad, MCR320 Rad, EK-XTOP SPC-60 Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2008, 10:35 AM
kruzn4evr's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ajax, Ontario
Posts: 1,806
Default

I managed to save the back plate so I'm going to clean it up and use the stock hsk and hook it up to test it as best I can to see what happens.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2008, 11:30 AM
Mibs's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: St. John's, NL
Posts: 311
Default

Have you been using it all along with this burnt section there? Although having a burnt mobo is not nice, if it was working before it should work now!
__________________
Intel C2D E6750 @ 3.52 GHz // EVGA 680i SLI Rev. A1 (P31) // 4 GB OCZ Platinum 800 MHz 4-4-4-15 // PC P&C Silencer 750 Quad // Antec P180 // EVGA 8800 GTS 512 // Samsung Syncmaster 226bw 22" LCD

WC Loop: D-Tek Fuzion V2 // Danger Den Maze 5 // Swiftech MCP655 // Swiftech MicroRes // Thermochill PA 120.2 + 4 x Noctua NF-P12
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2008, 11:57 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 13,641
Default

Looks like a resistor blew up...
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2008, 12:43 PM
ebdoradz's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rouyn-Noranda, QC
Posts: 758
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
Looks like a resistor blew up...
sound like it, sky is the man
__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA790XT-UD4P / AMD Phenom II x3 720BE @ x4/ Crucial Ballistic DDR3 / Sapphire 4830 512mb / Corsair 620W PSU / 2*80GB Seagate

DFI LP nF4 Ultra-D / AMD Opteron 165 @ 2.7Ghz/ 2*1GB OCZ Gold GX XTC / Sapphire X1950XT / Fortron 450W PSU / 2*Maxtor 80Gb


Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2008, 03:57 PM
kruzn4evr's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ajax, Ontario
Posts: 1,806
Default

After some testing and a conversation with an evga tech looks like the board is headed for rma land, so I figured another 4-6 weeks I might have a replacement, oh well, what can ya do.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2008, 04:13 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,221

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kruzn4evr View Post
After some testing and a conversation with an evga tech looks like the board is headed for rma land, so I figured another 4-6 weeks I might have a replacement, oh well, what can ya do.
You're doing the right thing.

you're not the first person I hear with an eVGA motherboard issue involving burnt chips / resistors. I honestly would steer clear from eVGA motherboards, that's me.......
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes