Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #41 (permalink)  
Old July 11, 2019, 04:48 AM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 4,979

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deathsupport View Post
I'm pretty set on a 3600. I wanted a 3700X initially but after seeing reviews and benchmarks the 3600 will more than take care of my audio processing and light gaming needs.
However I'm really put off by the current crop of X570 motherboards. The huge chipset power draw, along with those ridiculous fans, have halted my entire purchase. I'm considering a X470 mobo although I hate buying older tech. Maybe I'll find a used one for cheap and see what happens with X570 in the future.
IMO the 3600 pairs better with lower cost boards...and given the B550 (or whatever they are going to call them) hasn't been released, I would personally pair it with a B450, UNLESS you need anything additional provided by higher end chipsets.
__________________
Desktop: Arc Midi R2, Z77-D3H, 3770@4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, 4x4gb ram, EVGA GTX 1070 Ti SC, Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, MX500 500gb
Away from home: Lenovo Legion Y530, 16gb, i7 8750H, GTX1050Ti
Reply With Quote
  #42 (permalink)  
Old July 11, 2019, 05:52 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 134
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond007 View Post
IMO the 3600 pairs better with lower cost boards...and given the B550 (or whatever they are going to call them) hasn't been released, I would personally pair it with a B450, UNLESS you need anything additional provided by higher end chipsets.
Good to know, that'll help me save a bit of money considering I was unable to find any used X470 mobos on Kijiji/CL. I'll be fine with slightly lower PCIe speeds, not doing anything too taxing with my system anyways.
Just have to make sure I buy something that's ready for Ryzen 3000 since I have no 2000-series CPU to use in case it needs a BIOS update.
__________________
i5-4670K, EVGA GTX 960 FTW 2 GB, MSI Z87M-G43 mATX, 2x4 GB Patriot Viper 1866 MHz CL9, Corsair RM750, CM Hyper 212 EVO, Fractal Design R5
Reply With Quote
  #43 (permalink)  
Old July 11, 2019, 06:17 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: GTA, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 304

My System Specs

Default

If I am getting the new 3000 series I will opt for the 500 series mobo just because of PCIe4 so I can get better IO from ssds.
I want to see how fast it feels lol.
__________________
Laptop: Dell 15 Ryzen 2500U, 12GB, EVO970 500GB+QVO860 1TB, Microsoft Sculpt Comfort Mouse BT
HTPC/Server: See "My System Specs". I also use it to virtualize instances of Windows 7/10 to my mobile devices. Fast access to all my Chrome tabs :lol:
Graphics Designer and Tech Journalist @ www.RealHardwareReviews.com ID: eyetrance/Dave
Personal Website @ www.EYEtrance.ca
Reply With Quote
  #44 (permalink)  
Old July 11, 2019, 06:27 AM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 4,979

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deathsupport View Post
Good to know, that'll help me save a bit of money considering I was unable to find any used X470 mobos on Kijiji/CL. I'll be fine with slightly lower PCIe speeds, not doing anything too taxing with my system anyways.
Just have to make sure I buy something that's ready for Ryzen 3000 since I have no 2000-series CPU to use in case it needs a BIOS update.
None of the boards currently on shelves will likely have ready for Ryzen 3000 bios, however, some motherboards allow bios update without a CPU...check out the boards you are considering.
__________________
Desktop: Arc Midi R2, Z77-D3H, 3770@4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, 4x4gb ram, EVGA GTX 1070 Ti SC, Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, MX500 500gb
Away from home: Lenovo Legion Y530, 16gb, i7 8750H, GTX1050Ti
Reply With Quote
  #45 (permalink)  
Old July 11, 2019, 07:57 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 144
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond007 View Post
None of the boards currently on shelves will likely have ready for Ryzen 3000 bios, however, some motherboards allow bios update without a CPU...check out the boards you are considering.
This is a really good point because i have been bitten by this in the past. Had to find an older CPU to update a BIOS to run a newer CPU.
__________________
2700X Heatkiller, CH7 Hero, 1080ti Heatkiller, 32GB Ram, 2x500GB WD Black NVMe, Dual 1080 rads, dual D5S pumps.
Reply With Quote
  #46 (permalink)  
Old July 11, 2019, 11:21 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 134
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond007 View Post
None of the boards currently on shelves will likely have ready for Ryzen 3000 bios, however, some motherboards allow bios update without a CPU...check out the boards you are considering.
Not sure about that, there's this article on Tom's that says MSI will ship modified B450 boards called "MAX" that will be 3000-series ready.
Otherwise... there's really no upgrade path unless I can find someone locally willing to help. That's a major setback.
https://www.tomshardware.com/news/ms...000,39836.html
__________________
i5-4670K, EVGA GTX 960 FTW 2 GB, MSI Z87M-G43 mATX, 2x4 GB Patriot Viper 1866 MHz CL9, Corsair RM750, CM Hyper 212 EVO, Fractal Design R5
Reply With Quote
  #47 (permalink)  
Old July 11, 2019, 11:24 AM
Sagath's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 3,948

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deathsupport View Post
Not sure about that, there's this article on Tom's that says MSI will ship modified B450 boards called "MAX" that will be 3000-series ready.
Otherwise... there's really no upgrade path unless I can find someone locally willing to help. That's a major setback.
https://www.tomshardware.com/news/ms...000,39836.html

He mentions 'on the shelf', as in today. Moving forward you can expect NEW stock to have updated BIOS's that will support Zen 2.

That being said, wasnt there a program around that mad itpossible to get AMD to ship an old chip series (Athalon?) that fits the socket to update?

Edit: Yeppp. https://www.pcworld.com/article/3256...yzen-apus.html
and
https://www.pcgamer.com/amd-will-len...t-a-ryzen-apu/
both talk about how to initiate the 'warranty claim' to get a dual core to update.
__________________
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #48 (permalink)  
Old July 11, 2019, 12:33 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 134
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sagath View Post
He mentions 'on the shelf', as in today. Moving forward you can expect NEW stock to have updated BIOS's that will support Zen 2.

That being said, wasnt there a program around that mad itpossible to get AMD to ship an old chip series (Athalon?) that fits the socket to update?

Edit: Yeppp. https://www.pcworld.com/article/3256...yzen-apus.html
and
https://www.pcgamer.com/amd-will-len...t-a-ryzen-apu/
both talk about how to initiate the 'warranty claim' to get a dual core to update.
That's awesome! Thanks for the link. Now I can get a cheap-o B450 from CC... there's a few on sale and with rebates.
__________________
i5-4670K, EVGA GTX 960 FTW 2 GB, MSI Z87M-G43 mATX, 2x4 GB Patriot Viper 1866 MHz CL9, Corsair RM750, CM Hyper 212 EVO, Fractal Design R5
Reply With Quote
  #49 (permalink)  
Old July 11, 2019, 07:58 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 8,840

My System Specs

Default

There's quite a few B450 boards that support USB flashback too, that's what most people were picking up prior to the launch since they were all on sale. Seems they've returned to normal pricing now though.
Reply With Quote
  #50 (permalink)  
Old July 12, 2019, 03:45 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Georgetown, ON
Posts: 115

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JD View Post
There's quite a few B450 boards that support USB flashback too, that's what most people were picking up prior to the launch since they were all on sale. Seems they've returned to normal pricing now though.

I ordered a msi b450 tomahawk for this very reason. Parts are en route, but not likely to arrive for the weekend .
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ryzen 5 3600 Bencharks Spotted Mr. Friendly Rumor Mill 4 June 21, 2019 02:01 PM
Kindle Fire finally hitting canada? sswilson Mobile Computing 7 May 25, 2013 06:28 PM
Experiment: Hitting my P67 with heavy I/O frontier204 Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 12 February 7, 2011 07:25 PM
Kingston 64GB V Gen 2 SSD not hitting good r/w numbers can you help CoolHandL Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 11 May 13, 2010 11:42 AM
EVGA GTX260 hitting 85-90C temps? bushwickbill Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 8 March 14, 2010 12:42 PM