Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 24, 2008, 07:23 AM
Skyllz's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 796

My System Specs

Default Performance VS motherboards...

I've always built my systems for the last couple years, never really bothering other thne getting a decent CPU, ram and video card. The Mobo was usually the cheapest part of all.

I'm currently running a P5K SE and overlocking a Q6600 @ 3.09ghz. Would I see an increase of performance in games by using a better mobo?

What makes a good mobo VS not a good mobo for the average gamer/user like me?

I tried reading some faqs of the net and it's way over my head.

Reason i'm asking is that the wife's computer is running a M2N-E with a 3800X2 and I want to upgrade that eventually. So maybe a New intel cpu to drop in my P5K SE for her and a new Mobo for me?
__________________
Is smoke supposed to come out of there?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 24, 2008, 07:49 AM
Skyllz's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 796

My System Specs

Default

Seems like the M2N-e supports the newer X4 processors with the bios updates... hmmm...

That could be a good upgrade for the wife i guess?
__________________
Is smoke supposed to come out of there?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 24, 2008, 08:06 AM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,143
Default

These days, you often see performance differences of less than 1% between motherboards. Differences larger than that are usually the result of old vs new technology, or vastly different price points. What sets them apart is their other features, such as plugs and jacks, chipsets, cooling, stability, overclocking abilities, looks, etc.

In your case, a different motherboard really isn't going to make much difference to bottom-line performance. It may give you the option to use other equipment configurations, or clock your processor higher, but that's about the extent of it.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 24, 2008, 09:04 AM
Skyllz's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 796

My System Specs

Default

k... then I guess just a CPU upgrade for the wife is the cheapest way to go and will last a while then.

More money to spend somewhere else for once
__________________
Is smoke supposed to come out of there?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 24, 2008, 09:41 AM
Oversized Rooster's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 610

My System Specs

Default

The only reason to shell out more money for a higher-end mobo is if you're going to do some heavier overclocking, or you want 2 or 3 video cards. Higher-end mobos will also have good chipset cooling, 8-phase power design or higher for the CPU, etc. However, all these things are for OCing.

Other than this, chipset features are often exactly the same on the lower-end mobos so you're not getting any less value for your money as long as you're not OCing. At stock, or near-stock settings, a $100 mobo will perform 97% or higher, just as well as a $300 mobo.
__________________
Machine: Intel 6800K | Asus X99-E | 32GB Corsair DDR4-2666 | 500GB Samsung 960 EVO NVMe | 6TB WD Black | 2 x 4TB Hitachi 7K4000 | Corsair 750D | Seasonic XP-860 Platinum | 4GB GTX 970 G1 Windforce | 2 x 27" Samsung S27D390HS PLS | Win10 Pro 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 24, 2008, 11:48 AM
Skyllz's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 796

My System Specs

Default

Thanks, that sums up what I had managed to figure out.

So for some slight OC'ing I should'nt bother then... The only reason I OC is to get that little extra ounce of performance without getting too much into it and sacrificing reliability/noise like I did with my Q6600.
__________________
Is smoke supposed to come out of there?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 24, 2008, 07:14 PM
Dizz's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 38
Smile

Hi SkyIIz, you are already OC your Q6600 to 3GHz & I think most people would agree that a VCore of 1.45v is the practical 24/7 Full Load limit to which you can OC a Q6600 on Air. In my experience this VCore voltage can in practice support 3.6GHz (450x8 or 400x9) with a Q6600.



Therefore, if you get a “better” Motherboard that will do either 450x8 or 400x9 (I’m assuming that your current Motherboard cannot) the limiting factor may become your HSF. What will your Temps be with an “Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro” @ 3.6GHz?

http://images.anandtech.com/reviews/...o/load_lrg.png

Assuming that your temp will be OK you could consider the Motherboard in my signature.


If you do; you should note that I was a little uncomfortable with the results of a temperature “Touch Test” on the NB & MOSFET’s, so I also upgraded the standard Motherboard heat-sinks. The MOSFET’s & NB are now fitted with Thermalright’s HR-09 & HR-05 SLI/IFX respectively. By the way the HR-05 SLI/IFX required some gentle modification.



On the subject of modification, I have also read that the “Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro” requires a little bit of modification in order to fit on this Motherboard.


Anyway, I hope it helps! Best of luck, Dizz
__________________
________________
MoBo:
Asus P5Q-Pro
OS: WinXP Pro_SP3

CPU: Q6600 - 3.6GHz 8x450 - 24/7 Stable
VCore: 1.45v - BIOS Setting
HSF: Ultra 120 with NF-P12 Fan x 2
Temp: TCase 41c Hotest Tj 62c

GPU: HIS IceQ3 Turbo HD3870
Temp: Celcius 29-36 Degrees - Idle
Disp: Dual 19" Standard 1280x1024


Last edited by Dizz; September 24, 2008 at 08:58 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes