Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 23, 2008, 04:50 PM
Iamcanadian7's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 251
Default Overclocking my new Q9550

Hey all, just picked up a new Q9550 after my buddy offered to buy my E8400. Since I have a WC setup coming on Thursday, I thought, what the hell time to upgrade.

Intel Q9550
VID - 1.20v
C1 Stepping (couldn't find an E0)

As of now im at a whopping 3017 MHz!!!!!!!!!!

Stock cooling makes my cry...



Will update after I get this puppy on water. I'm shooting for 4Ghz +. Think I can do it? Hope so

Anyone know what the average overclock on these chips on water are? All I could really find was high 3's on air.

Will post a worklog as well for the water setup
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 23, 2008, 05:12 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,143
Default

Looking forwards to seeing results!

Once your get that thing on water, your overclock is going to largely depend on how high you can get your FSB. Unfortunately, 470FSB is probably going to be tough on that board. My own Maximus turns into a complete bastard by 440. Still, you've got a newer revision chip than mine (C0), so you might have better luck.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 23, 2008, 05:20 PM
Oversized Rooster's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 610

My System Specs

Default

I am at 3.8GHz with my Q9450 on air cooling at 1.33V.

I can do 4.0GHz as well, but then I need 1.4V. So with your better chip you should certainly exceed my results.

For cooling I use a Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme cooler and a 120mm 1600rpm Scythe S-Flex fan. It's all built inside an Antec 1200 case with many, many fans.
Attached Images
 
__________________
Machine: Intel 6800K | Asus X99-E | 32GB Corsair DDR4-2666 | 500GB Samsung 960 EVO NVMe | 6TB WD Black | 2 x 4TB Hitachi 7K4000 | Corsair 750D | Seasonic XP-860 Platinum | 4GB GTX 970 G1 Windforce | 2 x 27" Samsung S27D390HS PLS | Win10 Pro 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 23, 2008, 07:52 PM
Iamcanadian7's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 251
Default

Alright, 4 is looking like a good possibility.

Mpg, I have had my E8400 stable at I believe 480ish FSB (whatever 4.35 Ghz translates to). It was stable but required way more voltage than I was comfortable with for 24/7 use. So i backed it off to 4 Ghz for daily use.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 24, 2008, 01:12 AM
1Tanker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,170
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Iamcanadian7 View Post
Alright, 4 is looking like a good possibility.

Mpg, I have had my E8400 stable at I believe 480ish FSB (whatever 4.35 Ghz translates to). It was stable but required way more voltage than I was comfortable with for 24/7 use. So i backed it off to 4 Ghz for daily use.
He's not saying your mobo won't run 470FSB...it's the chip. The 8.5 multi necessitates a 470FSB...and quads don't like high FSB's(Wolfdale's do ). Generally, you're doing good getting over 450FSB on a quad....though the Yorkies can do better FSB than Kenstsfields. You will definitely need GTLref adjustments to get 470FSB on a quad. GL
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 24, 2008, 01:33 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,143
Default

Yup, what he said. Not sure how my own board does with dual-cores, never actually tried. But there's a reason you see so many overclockers stopping in the high 3's. 8.5multi x 450fsb gives you 3.825Ghz, and it can get tricky past that. Still, anecdotal evidence suggests that the newer steppings are a little more forgiving, so here's hoping.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 24, 2008, 03:27 PM
Iamcanadian7's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 251
Default

Ah, that makes more sense. Hopefully I'll be able to come close to 470, hmmm.....

Might trade up to a 9650 if the FSB wall is that noticable.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 29, 2008, 04:55 PM
Iamcanadian7's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 251
Default

OK, so I finally got my water cooling all setup and running. No leaks after 48 hours and boy, what a difference from air.

I'm using a Feser dual 120 rad, a swiftech GTZ and an MCP655.

Now for the chip. I can't say I'm overly impressed with this chip. Looks like I may have got a lower end one. FSB wall is around 450+, I'm currently stable at 440x8.5 or 3740 mhz. I was really hoping for 3.8-4.0 as a final stable oc but its looking like I will have to settle for 3.75. It will boot into windows up to about 455 but locks up as soon as I start Prime95. Anything above 460 is a no post. I've tried cranking the voltages up to 1.45 and my nb as high as 1.7 as well as fiddleing around with just about everything in the bios and it refuses to post. Soemthing strange I noticed that has never happened to me before, the looser I let out my ram, the more unstable my oc was. Stock is 5-5-5-15 and loosening it into the 6's or 7's would cause blue screens rather regularly.

As I said before, I noticed a huge decrease in my temps after this addition of water. At 3.75 my idle is 30C and my load is about 48C. The part that really dissapoints me is all the headroom I have temp wise but am unable to go any higher on this chip.



One thing someone suggested is the GTL ref. This is my first time overclocking a quad and have never thouched this before but from some posts and threads I've read this can help stabilize an oc sometimes. How exactly do I go about adjusting this? Is there a "too high" or "too low" that could damage any hardware?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 29, 2008, 05:16 PM
FrankyG's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Shediac,NB
Posts: 166
Default

I got mine @ 3.8 on air right now but watercooling parts are on the way !!
__________________
Intel i7-5820K, MSI X99 SLI Plus, 16GB DDR4, Geforce GTX980
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old September 29, 2008, 05:47 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 11,414
Default

a cpu will have a wall it cannot simply go past.

Mine is 4.7ghz otherwise I get BSODs and i have a 8600
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes