Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2015, 05:03 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 149
Default Plex media server

Started work on an mITX server to be used to run Plex (transcode plus DNLA), file server, backup server, AD domain, IIS, DHCP, DNS, etc.

Current system is a SFF Dell Optiplex GX520 with a single 1TB drive. CPU is a P4 630 and 2GB of DDR2 RAM. After delving into the dark dark world of plex I found the current system couldn't transcode very well (DOH ) hence the upgrade.

So started with a mITX build. Will use an SSD for OS and have a 3-4 TB drive for storage. For my needs I need a cpu with a passmark of 2000 for each stream I need to simultaneously transcode, be power sipping as its going to be running 24/4 - decided on the following parts (assuming I get nothing in the BST section).

Raijintek Aluminum Series Metis Mini-ITX Black
Thermaltake TR2 430W

ASRock H97M-ITX/ac
Pentium G3258

OR

A8-7600
GIGABYTE GA-F2A88XN-WIFI FM2+

No GPU needed, onboard only. And I already have an SSD lying around I will use for the OS. Storage wise, I'll move the existing 1TB drive to the new server and get a 3-4 TB drive when I see a good deal. (Any suggestions? Remember this will be running 24/7) No RAID; I run a robocopy script that pulls everything important off to USB storage once a week or so.


Current build status: see pictures. Comment if you have any suggestions or questions about the build.
Attached Images
           

Last edited by Daedalus2002; January 10, 2015 at 05:19 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2015, 05:03 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 149
Default

Parts and Discussion:

CASE: Raijintek Aluminum Series Metis Mini-ITX Case Window 1X3.5 2X2.5 *No PS* USB3.0 - Black - 0R200006
PS: Thermaltake TR2 430W Power Supply 20/24PIN ATX12V With 120mm Fan - W0070RUC-04
Memory:
Motherboard:
RAM:
Cooling: N/A, whatever is included with the CPU.

Working off another build log I found on HardForum. Raijintek Metis ITX [Build Log] - [H]ard|Forum
The case does have some limitations, I'll explore these as I proceed with the build. I haven't decided which Mobo/CPU combo I'll use. I expect this to last 3-5 years with the current usage, so not too worried about upgrades at this point (except for storage disks).

The AMD route gives me a higher passmark score and more physical cores which is useful given how much this server will actually be doing. Upgradibility on the FM2+ socket is almost non-existent though.

The Intel route allows me to do drop in upgrades as needed (Do I really need this?). I will try OCing the CPU depending on how much heat exactly this case can handle.

Last edited by Daedalus2002; January 10, 2015 at 05:27 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2015, 05:03 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 149
Default

Reserved2
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2015, 05:40 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 48

My System Specs

Default

I was thinking of building a PC in that same case. At $40 it looks nice when paired with a SFX PSU for longer GPU support.

I would stick with Intel for CPU upgrades for what you will be doing.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2015, 07:01 AM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 4,571

My System Specs

Default

That seems like a nice case for the $ and purpose.

You hit the nail on the head for the CPU discussion, and its really your choice what you would rather have. The intel route gives you the ability to upgrade easily if you ever need it. Whereas the AMD route may very well be a dead end for CPU upgrade, but it gives you extra cores and a more capable integrated GPU with better driver support (and a debatable point of better video quality). Either will definitely do the job. Your call.
__________________
Desktop: Arc Midi R2, Z77-D3H, 3770@4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, 4x4gb ram, EVGA GTX 1070 Ti SC, Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2015, 10:14 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,669

My System Specs

Default

Stay away from the thermal take PSU. That brand owes me a few hdd's
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2015, 05:07 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Vancouver (Port Moody)
Posts: 418

My System Specs

Default

I have a NAS built in a Silverstone Grandia case with a AMD A4 APU and 5 HDD and one SSD for cache using Unraid OS and it works very well as a Plex media server, I get buffering sometimes but I have not been able to determine if that is my Powerline network or the APU itself.
__________________
Did you try turning it off and on again?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 12, 2015, 07:03 AM
SpaceSquad's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 102

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wedge22 View Post
I have a NAS built in a Silverstone Grandia case with a AMD A4 APU and 5 HDD and one SSD for cache using Unraid OS and it works very well as a Plex media server, I get buffering sometimes but I have not been able to determine if that is my Powerline network or the APU itself.
I run freenas on an AMD E350, 8GB, and 3x3TB drives (6TB Usable). I get buffering sometimes on Plex on the roku in the bedroom on second floor (Wifi, AP is in basement), no problems in rest of house.
__________________
-Space
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 12, 2015, 05:17 PM
Varroa's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: National Capital Region, Canada
Posts: 793

My System Specs

Default

Did I miss what OS you are running this on? I have plex on a WHS and I would go with at least a I3 is you are running more than just plex or windows. Linux might get away with a pentium dual core but if you are streaming/transcoding to more than 1 client at a time then the dual core might have issues.
__________________
GAMER: Win10 Pro x64, I7 8086K (corsair H110i), Asrock Z370 Taichi, EVGA GTX 1080 FTW, Gskill 4 x 8 GB DDR4 3200Mhz, Samsung 970 EVO 500GB M.2. NVME SSD, Western Digital Blue 1 TB M..2. SSD. Crucial M4 256GB, Mushkin 480 GB ECO SSD, HX750W, Sound blaster Z, & Phanteks Enthoo Pro M

Lenovo Ideapad Y510p: i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz (undervolted by 80mV), 16GB DDR3L-1866MHz, Intel GMA 4600HD / SLI'ed Nvidia Geforce GT 755M 2GB GDDR5, 240 GB Crucial SSD, 128GB M.2 SSD, 15.6" HD+ Glossy LED
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 12, 2015, 05:39 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 149
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dtnat View Post
I would stick with Intel for CPU upgrades for what you will be doing.
Got an Intel mITX combo from b1lk1 in the BST section. Will post details when I get them.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Media server HDD'S The Quicken Storage 9 September 12, 2012 10:09 AM
Home Media Server Help PeterSmyth New Builds 6 February 12, 2012 04:37 PM
Folding box and media server MARSTG New Builds 0 January 13, 2012 06:07 PM
htpc media server 99tjadams New Builds 4 November 5, 2009 07:55 PM
media server build? cruisx New Builds 11 April 15, 2009 05:04 PM