Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > Buy/Sell & Trade

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 9, 2019, 06:32 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 9,121

My System Specs

Default Haswell compatible ITX board

Look for a H81, B85, Q85, Q87, H87, Z87, or Z97 ITX motherboard. The cheaper the better.
__________________
The Crippled God WIP
Queen of Dreams WIP
Big Lian Li
Complete
Forever Alone Complete
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 9, 2019, 08:30 AM
MVP
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: GTA, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 260

My System Specs

Default

Did you not buy one already from aliexpress? Any issues?
__________________
Laptop: Dell 15 5005U, 8GB, EVO860 500GB+QVO860 1TB, Microsoft Sculpt Comfort Mouse BT
Gaming PC: i7-2600K, ASUS Z68 Pro, 32GB, EVGA 1070 8GB, BX500 250GB, WD 4TB, ASUS Xonar DX playing just CS:GO and some StarCraft 2
HTPC/Server: See "My System Specs". I also use it to virtualize instances of Windows 7/10 to my mobile devices. Fast access to all my Chrome tabs :lol:
Graphics Designer and Tech Journalist @ www.RealHardwareReviews.com ID: eyetrance/Dave
Personal Website @ www.EYEtrance.ca
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 9, 2019, 08:39 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 9,121

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by justmehereajax View Post
Did you not buy one already from aliexpress? Any issues?
It hasn't shipped yet and I'm starting to think it won't before the order gets automatically cancelled.
__________________
The Crippled God WIP
Queen of Dreams WIP
Big Lian Li
Complete
Forever Alone Complete
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 9, 2019, 10:20 AM
MVP
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: GTA, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 260

My System Specs

Default

Funny story, I used to volunteer at a local computer store. I had a NEW h97 ITX board from FitBrit in a Silverstone Gaming ITX case Raven 2. I built an i5, 8gb ram system with the parts in the store to sell it to potential customers. My SFX PSU, my HD, my case. Mix match.

The store manager now uses it to do transfer data backups lol. They want to sell off lease Lenovo desktops with warranty to customers instead. Lol. I donít care they helped me a lot during my time there. One day it will sell and I get some money.

I so technically I have the ITX board but it is being ďusedĒ by the store.... Lol. I think this is funny. Their main data backup PC is having problems.
__________________
Laptop: Dell 15 5005U, 8GB, EVO860 500GB+QVO860 1TB, Microsoft Sculpt Comfort Mouse BT
Gaming PC: i7-2600K, ASUS Z68 Pro, 32GB, EVGA 1070 8GB, BX500 250GB, WD 4TB, ASUS Xonar DX playing just CS:GO and some StarCraft 2
HTPC/Server: See "My System Specs". I also use it to virtualize instances of Windows 7/10 to my mobile devices. Fast access to all my Chrome tabs :lol:
Graphics Designer and Tech Journalist @ www.RealHardwareReviews.com ID: eyetrance/Dave
Personal Website @ www.EYEtrance.ca

Last edited by justmehereajax; June 9, 2019 at 10:36 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 9, 2019, 10:45 AM
MARSTG's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 4,276

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by justmehereajax View Post
Their main data backup PC is having problems.
what is their config for that?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 9, 2019, 10:58 AM
MVP
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: GTA, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 260

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MARSTG View Post
what is their config for that?
The store has been in business for over 22 years so they know what they are doing in terms of what they need to spend money on.... according to them...

The main data backup transfer PC is a Intel Core 2 Duo E8400, 4GB using a old chipset,,,, I forgot which chipset. It is a ASrock board that can only run dual core core 2 duo by OC. I upgraded it from a slower dual core and 3 gb of ram. It has USB 3.0 PCIe add on card too.

According to the boss....t hat is all they need for data transfers which I agree. The main hard drive is failing so it is having all sorts of errors but still works. Hard to explain the problem but after installing a new wd blue drive windows 7 ultimate wont update. I read somewhere MS is stopping updates to fresh installs of windows so we donít bother and keep using the old broken HD. It has so much software for fixing installed that we donít bother now. So they use my ITX pc for data backups now. H97 has native USB 3.0 and good cable connections for portable USB HD so they do everything on my pc now lololololol
__________________
Laptop: Dell 15 5005U, 8GB, EVO860 500GB+QVO860 1TB, Microsoft Sculpt Comfort Mouse BT
Gaming PC: i7-2600K, ASUS Z68 Pro, 32GB, EVGA 1070 8GB, BX500 250GB, WD 4TB, ASUS Xonar DX playing just CS:GO and some StarCraft 2
HTPC/Server: See "My System Specs". I also use it to virtualize instances of Windows 7/10 to my mobile devices. Fast access to all my Chrome tabs :lol:
Graphics Designer and Tech Journalist @ www.RealHardwareReviews.com ID: eyetrance/Dave
Personal Website @ www.EYEtrance.ca
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 9, 2019, 11:15 AM
MVP
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: GTA, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 260

My System Specs

Default

I also heard there is a patch or script to allow Windows 7 to update properly but I have not been into the store for a while now ....lol. I need a break from volunteering PC fixing and building. I spend my time drawing lol
__________________
Laptop: Dell 15 5005U, 8GB, EVO860 500GB+QVO860 1TB, Microsoft Sculpt Comfort Mouse BT
Gaming PC: i7-2600K, ASUS Z68 Pro, 32GB, EVGA 1070 8GB, BX500 250GB, WD 4TB, ASUS Xonar DX playing just CS:GO and some StarCraft 2
HTPC/Server: See "My System Specs". I also use it to virtualize instances of Windows 7/10 to my mobile devices. Fast access to all my Chrome tabs :lol:
Graphics Designer and Tech Journalist @ www.RealHardwareReviews.com ID: eyetrance/Dave
Personal Website @ www.EYEtrance.ca
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help flashing Z87 board for Haswell refresh CPUs trowakage Troubleshooting 7 June 26, 2015 10:58 AM
Also need help flashing a Z87 board for haswell odis172 Troubleshooting 1 June 23, 2015 03:20 PM
[WTB] LF: 1155 Board for I5 2500 - any board will do! n-sanity Buy/Sell & Trade 0 February 26, 2015 09:52 AM
E-ATX Board and Compatible Case rjbarker Cases 9 May 29, 2013 10:37 AM