Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Audio

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2019, 08:47 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 6,500

My System Specs

Default Line Speaker Connectors vs Audio Optic Cable

Hi guys
Just curious...does connecting my Surround Speaker System to my Mobo via the SPDF Digital Audio Optic cable (to my Mobo) still result in 5.1 Ch Surround?

Im pretty sure the answer is yes.....Ive never had a Mobo with Optic out so always had to connect the color coded cables to the correct ports...this time I went with the Optic Digital Audio......it sounds good....just now sure if I can tell if its 5.1 Ch.....
__________________

Firestrike Extreme: 23.772K
https://www.3dmark.com/fs/17562471
Timespy: 18.613K
MARK 11: 40.185K
https://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/13079691



.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2019, 10:53 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: GTA, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 239

My System Specs

Default

Find a youtub video that outputs 5.1 sound/ Windows 7 had a nice speaker test. But any video with 5.1 sound would do
__________________
Gone mobile and back to Gaming to LEARN! :p
Laptop: Dell G5 i5-8300H, 16GB, 1050 4GB, Samsung EVO 970 500GB+EVO 860 500GB, Microsoft Sculpt Comfort Mouse
Gaming PC: i7-2600K, 32GB, EVGA 1070 8GB, Crucial BX500 250GB, WD 4TB, ASUS Xonar DX playing just CS:GO and some StarCraft 2
HTPC/Server: See "My System Specs". I also use it to virtualize an instance of Windows to my mobile devices.
Graphics Designer and Tech Journalist @ www.RealHardwareReviews.com ID: eyetrance
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2019, 11:47 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 8,726

My System Specs

Default

Depends... usually the 3 speaker wires will let the sound card upmix most of the time, with optical it'll output whatever the original format is and it's up to your speakers to upmix or not. However, if your sound card supports Dolby Digital Live or DTS Connect, then it can upmix and send DD/DTS to the speakers instead.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 14, 2019, 03:58 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 4,011
Default

what OS RJ
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 14, 2019, 10:15 AM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 6,500

My System Specs

Default

^^^^ Windows 10 ver 1809......
so tested last night with SPDF Optical and no 5.1 Ch that I could tell.....hooked up with the Speaker Input Jacks and 5.1Ch....
Its the Maximus XI Extreme Mobo ....w Realtek HD Audio software....no biggie..but I thought the SPDF Optical out was the way to go...!!
__________________

Firestrike Extreme: 23.772K
https://www.3dmark.com/fs/17562471
Timespy: 18.613K
MARK 11: 40.185K
https://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/13079691



.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 14, 2019, 05:05 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 8,726

My System Specs

Default

SPDIF/Optical would only give you 5.1 if the content was encoded in DD/DTS, and in the PC world, that's pretty rare outside of movies.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 14, 2019, 05:16 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 9,104

My System Specs

Default

If it is something like Logitech speakers, then stick w/ analog connections. Your onboard DAC would be leaps and bounds better than what Logitech uses. But most high-end board will encode 5.1 to DD or DTS on the fly if enabled.
__________________
The Crippled God WIP
Queen of Dreams WIP
Big Lian Li
Complete
Forever Alone Complete
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 14, 2019, 06:10 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 4,011
Default

earlier version of w10 had speakers setting also mite check sound chip control panel for 5.1 / 7.1

also set to 96Mhz in optical option of win10 of sound play
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 14, 2019, 07:41 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 6,500

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
If it is something like Logitech speakers, then stick w/ analog connections. Your onboard DAC would be leaps and bounds better than what Logitech uses. But most high-end board will encode 5.1 to DD or DTS on the fly if enabled.

Thanks lowfat.....yes they re Logitech Z906 Speakers....analog connection now defintely indicating 5.1 Ch .......I'll stick to this....thanks folks!
__________________

Firestrike Extreme: 23.772K
https://www.3dmark.com/fs/17562471
Timespy: 18.613K
MARK 11: 40.185K
https://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/13079691



.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 15, 2019, 06:04 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,653

My System Specs

Default

Techpowerup forum has modded Realtek drivers to unlock DD/DTS if your board doesn’t support it out of the box. I’m Running this to get DD5.1 through optical on-board.
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Razer Introduces Nommo Speaker Line MAC CES 1 January 10, 2018 08:42 AM
HDMI Audio and Speaker Audio elimtl Troubleshooting 4 March 8, 2011 10:52 AM
Audio cards with a reference line out sswilson Audio 8 October 26, 2008 11:13 AM
4 molex connectors on one cable Brian Power Supplies 2 October 8, 2008 07:27 AM