Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old August 16, 2008, 02:35 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H

My System Specs

Default Sorry if this a repeat question(s)

I've finally had a chance to work on my own rig and now I have a couple of questions I just know you guys can answer. I'm ditching my Swiftech H2O-220 kit and Antec 900 case in favour of a Thermaltake Kandalf LSC case (I posted earlier about not being able to install my ToughPower 1200w, stilling feeling stupid over that one!..lol...it fits just fine!...silly me didn't see that tiny lil screw I needed to remove...never mind!).

Anyhow, I got one of ViperJohn's 780i NB WB's (pretty plain looking but the reviews and people I've chatted with that have it say it works GREAT!) My first question is, do I run the loop in to the NB out to CPU or vice versa, which would give me better cooling results? My (somewhat) common sense tells me CPU to NB but I'm still a novice with WC so I don't want to second guess.

Second question, I'm going to be switching to WC'd tri-sli gtx 280's, I'm trying to decide whether to use 1 loop for everything or 2 loops with separate pump and rad for the gpu's. The Kandalf has a triple rad with a pump equal to the MCP 355 in front and I was thinking of using the Switftech 220 rad and MCP355 for the CPU and NB....or??...would I be better to go with 1 loop using the MCP 655 and just the triple case rad.

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated

Old August 16, 2008, 02:58 PM
"Quote This..."
F@H

I'm too jealous to answer.
Old August 16, 2008, 03:28 PM
Hall Of Fame

You won't see much of a difference either way, but having the coolant flow into the CPU block first will be slightly better. Once you have it on water, an extra degree or two on the NB doesn't really make much difference. Given the choice, I'd rather have the CPU a degree cooler.