Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2008, 09:20 AM
ebdoradz's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rouyn-Noranda, QC
Posts: 754
Default best setting ofr a MCP655

i have finish my watercooling project,

the pump is currently put on setting 4 and its the loudest part of my system, does lowering it to setting 3 will give me enough cooling power?

i have fuzion v2, fuzion gfx v2, pa120.3 rad, mcp655
__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA790XT-UD4P / AMD Phenom II x3 720BE @ x4/ Crucial Ballistic DDR3 / Sapphire 4830 512mb / Corsair 620W PSU / 2*80GB Seagate

DFI LP nF4 Ultra-D / AMD Opteron 165 @ 2.7Ghz/ 2*1GB OCZ Gold GX XTC / Sapphire X1950XT / Fortron 450W PSU / 2*Maxtor 80Gb


Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2008, 09:26 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

Shouldn't be that loud on 4- maybe after a bit of break-in, it will quiet dwon. I have heard of the odd mcp655 being particularly noisy though.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2008, 09:32 AM
ebdoradz's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rouyn-Noranda, QC
Posts: 754
Default

ok,

i have raise my fan speed a bit, so now both fan and pump are doing the same noise, ....
__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA790XT-UD4P / AMD Phenom II x3 720BE @ x4/ Crucial Ballistic DDR3 / Sapphire 4830 512mb / Corsair 620W PSU / 2*80GB Seagate

DFI LP nF4 Ultra-D / AMD Opteron 165 @ 2.7Ghz/ 2*1GB OCZ Gold GX XTC / Sapphire X1950XT / Fortron 450W PSU / 2*Maxtor 80Gb


Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2008, 09:34 AM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,248

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Babrbarossa View Post
Shouldn't be that loud on 4- maybe after a bit of break-in, it will quiet dwon. I have heard of the odd mcp655 being particularly noisy though.
Yeah I run mine at full and cant hear it over the case fans.
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2008, 09:40 AM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

There are more than a few cases of setting 1 offering the same cooling performance at setting 5, especially on low-restriction setups. The reason is that many modern waterblocks exhibit virtually zero improvement once the flow increases beyond the 1-1.5gpm mark, and the heat dump is noticeably lower.

I'd suggest you set the pump to 5, load the hell out of your computer (Prime, OCCT, Furmark, whatever), and wait for temperatures to stabilize. Then change the speed on your pump, and see how things change.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2008, 11:13 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 144
Default Reply

Perhaps there are some air bubbles in your loop near your pump. That's just a thought though...Or maybe your pump is causing vibrations to the case, therefore causing noise.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2008, 11:32 AM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,248

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by freakgeek1337 View Post
Perhaps there are some air bubbles in your loop near your pump. That's just a thought though...Or maybe your pump is causing vibrations to the case, therefore causing noise.
I belive he's running a res so doubt it's air in the system
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2008, 07:12 PM
ebdoradz's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rouyn-Noranda, QC
Posts: 754
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Supergrover View Post
I belive he's running a res so doubt it's air in the system
change my mind and went with a t-line,

but there no bubble in my system.
__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA790XT-UD4P / AMD Phenom II x3 720BE @ x4/ Crucial Ballistic DDR3 / Sapphire 4830 512mb / Corsair 620W PSU / 2*80GB Seagate

DFI LP nF4 Ultra-D / AMD Opteron 165 @ 2.7Ghz/ 2*1GB OCZ Gold GX XTC / Sapphire X1950XT / Fortron 450W PSU / 2*Maxtor 80Gb


Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 12, 2008, 01:28 PM
Apollo4g's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 876
Default

best thing is to leave your system on idle for a while. And test your temps on each pump setting.
My guess is with a d-tek setting 5 will give you your best temps, try the settings on load as well.
__________________
800D | i7 920 | EVGA Classified LE | 5970 EK Waterblock | 12GB - 1600 Dominators DDR3 | Silverstone Decathlon 1200W | Vertex 120GB |
ASUS Xonar HDAV1.3 | Heatkiller 3.0 | Thermochill PA.120.3 | Freezone Elite | 2x655's with EK Dual D5 Top | T-Virus Res |



Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 18, 2008, 12:22 PM
Dashock's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,938
Default

Em Ebdoradz i had the same problem as you in the begining i could heard the Pump but i was using a Dual rad with intergrated res and after 2 days of all the bubbles getting out it went silent and after i redid the loop again, this time with a triple swiftech rad and this time with a res it was silent after just a few hours i cannot hear it and i have the model without the adjustment to speed so id run it on full why not.

Also make sure you properly secure the pump i used the sticky pad as a silencer so the case would not vibrate too much.
__________________
Intel Xeon E3110 @ 3.0ghz
XFX 8800 GT Alpha Dog Edition
Asus P5Q-E
Mushkin Ascent Redline 8000 4gb DDR2 @ 1066 5-5-5-15 2.05v
OCZ 600W GameXstream
Seagate 7200.11 500gb
Seagate 7200.10 320gb
Antec Spot Cool
Logitech X-230
Samsung 32" 720P HDTV



Coolermaster Cosmos S/
Swiftech Mcp655/ MCR-320-QP/ 6X Noctua NF-P12'S/ Swiftech Apogee GT/ Swiftech Mcw-60/ Swiftech Micro-Res.

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes