Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 12, 2008, 07:36 PM
WolfBane's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: new bruinswick
Posts: 880
Default drain????

If you want to change the water color in your system ,How do you guys drain it ?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 12, 2008, 07:52 PM
Infiniti's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,388

My System Specs

Default

When I still had my watercooling around, I use to drain it by disconnecting taking the tubing off the pump, but make sure you have a large bowl under it to do it. But if your pump is not at the very bottom of your system (It should be) then you disconnect whatever is at the very bottom.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 12, 2008, 07:57 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,684

My System Specs

Default

I always build my loops with enough tubing to remove the res from the case, lowering it to the lowest point possible, opening the fill cap and flipping the res over. Works like a charm.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 12, 2008, 08:08 PM
WolfBane's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: new bruinswick
Posts: 880
Default

Ok that sounds good but why not add a line with a valve of some type at the lowest point in the loop and use that if you ever needed to drain a system? just wundering?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 12, 2008, 08:09 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,684

My System Specs

Default

More leak possibilities.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 12, 2008, 08:37 PM
WolfBane's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: new bruinswick
Posts: 880
Default

Very true the less componets the less headaches lol
Ok let me ask this how often does one need to redo the water in a wcing system?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 12, 2008, 08:52 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,684

My System Specs

Default

The loop? I've stopped counting how many times a long time ago...
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 12, 2008, 08:53 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,755
Default

If you do it right, and dont change parts around, you should be able to leave it for ever.... Just as a rule of thumb you need to top your fluids up every few months or so.
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 12, 2008, 09:10 PM
WolfBane's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: new bruinswick
Posts: 880
Default

lol john you change colors alot do you ? lol and paul you say when you ship my system that it is a sealed system?
if so then how do i add ro (distilled) water to the system due to evaporation ?
Also these rezs you guys talk about they arnt sealed huh ? they have a lid i assume?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 12, 2008, 09:15 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,684

My System Specs

Default

Change colors? Nah. Change parts? Yes...

A loop is a closed system, sealed in the sense that there are no leaks possible if the hoses are properly connected. Your reservoir: http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...cture=Swiftech with a top filler point.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes